We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlands River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Meadowlands River Inn to your Saves list
Meadowlands River Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Toronto
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great location, Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The good is definitely the location to NYC and of course price. Although the hotel itself is a little dated our room was clean and the staff was really nice. And I mean everyone greeted us and that does score points with me.

With 4 small kids our King with a pullout was perfect. Location can't be beat with easy access to the Lincoln tunnel. Many family food options near by and parking is free. For budget minded people we stayed here for a couple of nights and then splurged in Manhattan for another.

On the downside their free breakfast was just okay. It is sufficient since it's free but was definitely anemic compared to other Hampton Inn's we've stayed at.

I would definitely come back for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    143
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
166
89
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is a great place to stay whether going to a football game or touring NYC. The bus stop is very close and a round trip to NYC is only $7.80. The trip to the city only takes about 15 minutes and then you are at times square. The hotel has a preferred vendor that they use as taxi service and a trip to the Meadowlands stadium is only $20.00. Although the hotel seemed to be of an older vintage it is kept clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, well staffed, free breakfast and affordable hotel minutes from NYC, the Hampton Inn Secaucus is for you and your family. Take the bus into Manhattan - no parking, no rental car, near Newark Airport - no driving necessary - public transportation is excellent

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Staff were excellent and friendly. Maintenance was quick for the problem I had. Room carpet beginning to look worn and was a little sticky. Corporate got excellent rate for the area. Complimentary breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel was pretty much perfect for my trip. I only have 2 complainents. The fox station did not work in my room and 1 day my bed and room was not cleaned at all. The area and the hotel itself is great. I love the free breakfast. The 320 is tight across the street to take you to New York. I will definitely come back and stay again. The employees were super nice. I will recommend this hotel to anybody going to New York.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. We walked across the street to a wonderful place called Cheeseburger in Paradise. The food was wonderful! This hotel was close to the bus stop that took us right into Manhattan. Didn't have to drive there! They also have a nice continental breakfast with a good variety. We would have preferred queen-size beds (they have double beds) since we had four adults staying in the room, but other than that the room was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and son stayed here while visiting college campuses in NYC. They took the NJ Transit bus #320 back and forth daily from the bus stop right across the street from the hotel to the Port Authority terminal in NYC. You purchase tickets (recommend buy a roundtrip ticket for about $8 for adults) from a machine in the bus shelter. It worked out very well and was a very convenient, timely and reasonably priced way to get access to NYC. The hotel was nice and let them keep their car parked there on the day of check-in prior to official check-in and also the day after they checked out so they could go into NYC on both those days as well and enjoy the free parking. The hotel is located a convenient 2 miles from Giant Stadium (site of the next SuperBowl). It was nice, after a tiring day in NYC, to be able to walk a very short distance from the bus stop to restaurants (Carrabas, etc) for a nice dinner.Husband and son had no complaints on cleanliness, maid service, etc. My husband stated that the hotel had the best selection for the free breakfast of any hotel he had stayed at and that their was ample seating in the breakfast area. Will definitely consider staying here again if need to visit NYC again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowlands River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands River Inn

Address: 250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#2 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
#2 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands River Inn hotel is conveniently located across the street from the MeadowlandsExpositionCenter, near the New Jersey Turnpike and a few miles from the Meadowlands Sports Complex where you can catch your favorite professional sports teams. When you’re ready to explore the northeast region, our hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being near major corporations, shopping destinations, world class dining and Big Apple attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Meadowlands River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Secaucus-Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlands River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.