We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Trip to NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlands River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Meadowlands River Inn to your Saves list
Meadowlands River Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“First Trip to NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located outside NYC. Across the street are several large chain restaurants (Outback, Carabas, Red Lobster, Starbucks, etc.). The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. I can't say enough about my stay here. I look coward to coming back numerous times in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your "Five Star" review of our property, and to say so many kind words about the staff and their service and what we offer. Please stop by my office next time you are around so we can meet. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    155
    43
    12
    8
See reviews for
183
96
12
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff. A simple breakfast, always included to price. Close to shopping and restaurants, also delivery to hotel from some of them. I had a rental car, so that I don't know anything about public transportation but I was told that there is a bus stop accross the hotel goes to Manhattan, takes 20 minutes. Old looking but definetely clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed the trip and the hotel. Our staff naturally is always warm friendly and helpful. The bus stop is actually across the street, makes it a very easy ride to Times Square New York City. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Clean and comfortable a great value. Love the smell of the room when you first walk in. the bed is clean and fresh and the staff is friendly and accommodating. keep a room for me I will be back. 10 minutes by bus to the heart of New York city. Lots of restaurants and shops across the street and a multiplex movie theater 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Many thanks for your above "5 Star" review about our hotel. We are always humbled by our guest's taking time to write these great things, it also makes us proud of what we do here. Its not too far from Toronto, so we'll see you soon.Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I spent 8 months there last year (2012) for work. It is a great hotel, in great location, and is very clean! Their customer service is unparrall to any other hotel! I spend msny months at a time in many parts of the world and I can honestly say they are the best. Arnie, Uriel, Celeste, Natalia, Cleeve, and everybody else are amazing, customer focused, and truely care you are there. They are always pleasant and prepared even during difficult times such as Hurricane Sandy.

This group of people are truely my family away from home and I am excited to see them soon on future trips!!!

Jason

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so very much for your review. It was our absolute pleasure having you here with us, and like you, we also felt that you are one of our most gracious guests. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hotel is very convenient to NYC via Lincoln Tunnel. Lots of shopping and restaurants across the street. Complimentary breakfast has more items than usual. Coffee bar kept going 24x7. Very friendly staff. A couple blocks off 95, so very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our first trip to New York City as a family so we wanted it to be perfect... on our way to the hotel our GPS system broke and our back up (printed out directions) were incorrect. We contacted the hotel who tried to assist us but we continued to get lost... (our fault)... during our fourth call we had the luck of speaking with Cleeve who insisted on staying on the phone with us until we literally drove into the hotel parking lot. Upon our arrival at the front desk we were less than pleased with our now 5 hour trip (should have been 3.5 hours)... BUT there was Cleeve with the biggest hello and smile... our negative attitude changed instantly... he got us our room quickly and was so patient with all of our questions. We had reserved a king with a sofabed... the room exceeded our expectations... it was immaculate and we had plenty of room (two adults and one very big 12 year old)... later that evening we noticed several tours busses and were concerned about being able to get breakfast and seating the next morning... We were pleasantly surpised... the staff was able to keep everything organized and well stocked... the most impressive thing was the that the managers were there helping out all of the staff prepare and stock the breakfast area (alot of great choices)... everyone was "laid back", friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs... I cannot praise the weekend staff enough for their hard work... we left for the day to go to New York City and as mentioned in other reviews the bus top is across the street $7.90 roundtrip... easy access to the city and the buses were clean and the drivers were professional... our room upon our return was immaculate (once again) beyond what most hotels at this price would do...
My only constructive criticism is that the weekday staff could take some pointers from the weekend staff... pleasant but certaintly not as friendly... which was somewhat surprising given the events (in my hometown Boston) that day and the day that followed...(not sure what they should have said or done anyway) and the room (all the extras) that the previous housekeeper did were not done... but none of this would prevent me from highly recommending this hotel... and we will be returning soon... and I have also recommended this hotel to families that would rather not pay the high prices for a hotel in New York City...
Again we would like to thank Cleeve for truly changing what started out negative and being able to change that with a smile... the little things do matter...

Room Tip: Room in the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Cleeve is one of our star team members and we appreciate his attitude and abilities as much as you did. We have taken note of all your comments and suggestions and look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2013. We were travelling into the city for some sightseeing. The bus across the street is wonderful. It takes you straight into the Port Authority a block from Times Square. It only takes about 15 minutes and the bus runs about every 15 minutes. The staff at the front desk have schedules. The room was clean and was plenty big enough for my husband and I. My father was also with us as well as our infant daughter. What really surprised me was we had a peekaboo view of the skyline. We could very clearly see the Freedom Tower. The breakfast was tasty. It was not any spectacular though. There is an Outback, Carrabas, Chipotle and Starbucks right across the street. There is also a lot of shopping nearby. I felt very safe in the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. This really was a great place for the price. I highly recommend it. We will probably be staying here again when we come back to visit.
The only issue we had with our stay was the day we were leaving was housekeeping banged on our door at 8a. As I said we were travelling with our infant daughter, she was woken up and had to be soothed back to sleep. It was not a huge deal, but annoying none the less.

Room Tip: Higher floors with an odd room number will have a view of the NYC skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uriel B, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review of our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to having you and your family stay with us again in furture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meadowlands River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands River Inn

Address: 250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#3 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#3 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands River Inn hotel is conveniently located across the street from the MeadowlandsExpositionCenter, near the New Jersey Turnpike and a few miles from the Meadowlands Sports Complex where you can catch your favorite professional sports teams. When you’re ready to explore the northeast region, our hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being near major corporations, shopping destinations, world class dining and Big Apple attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Meadowlands River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Secaucus-Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlands River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.