We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two star hotel but close and convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus to your Saves list
Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Wood Avenue, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Quebec
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“two star hotel but close and convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Meadowlands Plaza Hotel is not a luxury hotel but offers much for the traveler and at a good price. No need to pay over 200$ for a night in Manhattan when you can pay half of it and you're able to reach the Big Apple by bus within 20 minutes. The hotel's employees are very helpful and the shuttle service convenient (24 hrs). The complementary breakfast is pretty good.
The hotel is also pretty close to the MetLife Stadium. Rooms can be noisy because facing highway. In brief, nice and convenient hotel when visiting NY for 2 or 3 nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    77
    39
    17
    13
See reviews for
58
41
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Mattresses uncomfortable, water stains on ceiling, outdated. Not much nearby. Soda machines broken or sold out. Noisy road nearby. Pilot, I've seen worse but only stay here if you have to. Everything else sold out so I had no choice. Free breakfast, wifi, and shuttle...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel was wonderful! I went to see a concert at the MetLife Stadium and stayed overnight at the Meadowlands Plaza in Secaucus, New Jersey. The check in was smooth and easy. The room was spacious, the bed was comfy, and I loved the amenites! The shampoo and conditioner smell gerat! There is a COMPLIMENTARY full breakfast full of eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, cereals, danishes, coffee, and tea. I looooved it!!!! I will stay again next year when I go back to the Summer Jam Concert. I recommend the hotel. They eevn had a shuttle to the arena, though I rented a car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayedin this hotel many times and always found it to be outstanding. Amenities include a free hot breakfast (not just continental, but with sausage, bacon, hash browns, etc.). Also, a free shuttle to places in town and the Secaucus train station (Amtrak, New Jersey Transit).

Room Tip: They have a limited number of rooms with microwaves so if you need that, ask for it on check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Please be aware that the beds in this hotel are extremely uncomfortable so unless you don't mind sleeping on a very hard bed with light blankets and cheap pillows, you won't be satisfied. I stayed at this hotel for two nights and found the experience anything but cozy. Besides poor beds, rooms have old air conditioner/heater units that are quite noisy. It was not a very good experience for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

One night stay with more than one room reviewed. I slept fine but others in party did not. thought beds were too hard. One room smelled of smoke. My room did not. Staff pleasant, and helpful location good with several places to eat right nearby. Breakfast was included- which was a surprise. Only thing is not allowed to take any food out of the restaurant, so we were stopped for walking out with one piece of fruit. Wireless included. Hotel looked clean overall. Had a small workout room. Not sure if I would stay here again given mixed reviews from my party.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus

Address: 40 Wood Avenue, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus Hotel Secaucus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlands Plaza Hotel-Secaucus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.