We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possible improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 Route 3 East Service Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Possible improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Due to the location of the hotel and the distance to Manhattan and the airports, I think it would benefit the hotel to have regular shuttle service to all of these places. This would definitely benefit the guests and they would be more likely to visit again. Talking from experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGISecaucus, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Frioleifur K:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel after your stay with us. We have looked at the possibility of shuttle to Newark Airport and New York City. Due to traffic and distance it would be almost impossible to keep a shuttle on any type of schedule. A number of our guests use the New Jersey Transit bus system to go to and from New York City by using the bus stop that is two buildings away, about a 4 or 5 minute walk. The fare for the bus is $6.40 per person round trip at this time.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will see you again the next time you travel to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    192
    54
    25
    8
See reviews for
162
121
26
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sachse, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This place is a nice and recently remodeled Hotel, the Staff, The Management and the Housekeeping teams are great and very professional. The rooms are adequately sized each with a refrigerator and microwave which is great. The bad and biggest deterrent for this Hotel is the number one reason we stay at Hotels and that is to get a great nights rest while away from home. The Mattresses in this Hotel are HORRIBLE. they are air filled mattresses that has a knob on the side of the bed where you can supposedly adjust the firmness, NOT this is just there for looks I have stayed here many times and never found one that did anything, i have seen maintenance remove the air filled bags that are attached to no motor or apparatus that will inflate or deflate the bags at any given point. You lay in these Mattresses and there is a huge indentation that forms, in the middle of the night this indentation wakes you when you turn in bed and you realize you have to climb the indentation your body made while sleeping. If this Hotel changes its mattresses it would be the best one in the area simply because of the staff, otherwise don’t expect a good night’s rest with these HORRIBLE Mattresses. I hope they do change them as I would love to return as a consistent guest.

Room Tip: Stay away from any room with these air filled Mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGISecaucus, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear PlatinumMember:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I hope you will accept my apologies for any issues that you have encountered with the Hilton Garden Inn Sleep System beds. The adjustment knobs adjust over a period of a few minutes with no one on the bed while it does so. The next time you visit us please let me know and we will do our best to make sure the mattress work properly and is comfortable for you.

On behalf of every one here in Secaucus I would like to thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My sister, a friend and I stayed over the first weekend in November and were amazed with our stay. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, from check in to check out. Dorothea was at the desk each night and took an interest in our stay. In the morning we were given directions for a bus into New York and, though none of us had navigated a bus system before, we got through without any snags. The room was spacious and comfortable. The restaurant in front of the hotel was convenient and the food was great. Overall a wonderful stay and we will definitely consider staying again should we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGISecaucus, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Caitlin E:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hilton Garden Inn here in Secaucus. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff so they can see how their efforts help our guests enjoy their stay.

I hope we will get to see you again the next time you travel to the New York City area. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I love staying at this hotel when I visit NYC. There is a NJ Transit bus stop right near it which goes to and from Port Authority so there's no need for a car. It's close to the city yet cheaper than staying in the city. Only a 20 minute ride to Port Authority. Also a beautiful, clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGISecaucus, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Noora C:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill in a review of our Hilton Garden Inn after your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with our team so they can see how their efforts help our guests enjoy their stay.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we get to see you again the next time you come to the New York City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel is located right under the tunnel from NYC. It is a short bus trip into the city. The hotel is clean, quiet, and much less expensive than staying in the city. I stayed for 4 days. The lobby is clean, there is fresh water available, and free coffee in the morning. The beds were comfortable and the room cleaned daily.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGISecaucus, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Karen M:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel after your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share you comments with our team so they can see how their efforts help our guests enjoy their stay.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will see you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice and big, very clean.

Location was good if you are driving, near to Newark airport and the Lincoln tunnel for access to NYC.

I would not recommend this hotel if you are not driving, as public transport is non existant and its location on a busy freeway makes walking to nearby Secaucus impossible.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGISecaucus, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear fewborg:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel after your recent stay wtih us. I hope you will accept my apologies if our staff did not direct you to the New Jersey Transit Bus System. They have a bus stop that is located two buildings away next to Home Depot and those buses will take riders direct to the Port Authority Bus Terminal in New York City.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will see you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel and staff are excellent, they also were able to give great directions to the business that I needed to go to. Gave me maps and wrote out directions for me. Also I got excellent recommendations to restaurants that were close by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGISecaucus, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Diane H:

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hilton Garden Inn after your recent stay with us. I am glad that our staff was able to help you have an enjoyable stay and I will share your comments with everyone.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we will get to see you again the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands

Address: 875 Route 3 East Service Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#1 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
#3 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from New York City..."without the cost." At the Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus/Meadowlands hotel, busy executives as well as leisure travelers will be pleased to find everything they need to make their trip to the Northern New Jersey/Secaucus shopping district and New York City both relaxing and enjoyable: Complimentary Self Parking garage, Complimentary 24-hour business center, Complimentary workout facility, The Garden Sleep System™ Bed - in all of our guest rooms - So comfortable you won't want to leave, Wireless Internet service in lobby and restaurant, Great American Grill® - open for breakfast in our lobby dining area, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart, Indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi®, New York City tours available with pick up from our hotel. Secaucus/Meadowlands & New York City Attractions: Are you ready to shop or visit the largest city in the world? The Hilton Garden Inn's Secaucus, NJ hotel provides easy access to all of the attractions in the area: 3 miles to New York City via the Lincoln Tunnel, NJ Transit bus stop to New York City less than 1/4 mile away (5 minute walk), Buses operate 24 hours a day, 5 miles to World Trade Center area, 4 miles to Empire State Building, 3 miles to the Meadowlands Sports Complex for horse racing, sporting events and concerts (MetLife Stadium, Izod Center), 3 miles to the Meadowlands Sports and Entertainment Center (future opening) for shopping and sporting events, Easy access to the Secaucus Outlets shopping area, Access to all major highways including the NJ Turnpike, I-80, I-95, I-78, Rt 1&9 and the Garden State Parkway, 10 miles to Liberty State Park and Statue of Liberty. Our guestrooms are warm and inviting, yet elegant and functional with the option of one or two beds. Features also include: The Garden Sleep System Bed, Oversized work desk with ergonomic Mirra® chair by Herman Miller, Two phones featuring voice mail, speaker phone capability and data ports, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet service, 37-inch LCD flat screen televisions in all guest rooms, Secure in-room printing to the business center, Microwave, Coffee maker, Refrigerator, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, USA Today® delivered each weekday morning, Clock radio with MP3 connection, Complimentary Safe Deposit Boxes available at the front desk. Secaucus Hotel Meeting & Event Services: Whether you are planning a corporate meeting, a family reunion or just want to have a place to meet, know that by choosing the Hilton Garden Inn's hotel in Secaucus, NJ will make YOU look good with: Our Meadowlands Meeting room with 1275 square feet of space can accommodate up to 100 guests theater style. This room can be divided in two for smaller breakout rooms. The Liberty Meeting room with 950 square feet of space can accommodate up to 65 guests banquet style. Executive Boardroom for up to 10 guests for that very important meeting or get together. Dedicated sales professional to focus on the details. On-site catering for breakfast with varied menus to compliment your budget. You can choose lunch from our on-site catering menu or from an outside caterer who can also provide dinner options for your gathering. A choice of menus is available for your breaks to keep everyone refreshed. eEvents Booking - Ideal for booking fewer than 25 guest rooms or for booking space for an all-day business meeting. On Site A/V available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Hilton Garden Inn Meadowlands
Hilton Secaucus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.