We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, well maintained” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   875 Route 3 East Service Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Pittsford, New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Convenient location, well maintained”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

As you approach New York City via the Lincoln Tunnel entrance and either Highway 3 or the Turnpike, this Hilton Garden Inn is conveniently situated amidst the retail commercial development of Secaucus, NJ. I would estimate this property to be around 5-6 years old. We stayed 3 nights in 412, with a Northeast window orientation overlooking Rte 3 and the Turnpike. Odd # rooms, a bit lower in number might be somewhat quieter being oriented away from major highways. The pool is typical of new non resort type hotels, modest 10 yard pool and small adjoining hot tub. You come to expect from Garden Inn the kinds of amenties their websites advertise. One caution the hotel is directly approachable from the east bound lane of NJ Highway 3 only; so if you're coming from another direction (or going another direction) check out hotel website for the most accurate info.

We enjoyed our stay; it is only 10 minutes drive from Hoboken Terminal with great access to NJ Transit, PATH to Manhattan, and the new Bergen Light Rail line in Northern NJ.

Overall a fine value with convenient location.

  • Liked — Clean, convenient
  • Disliked — Hard to get to from some of the local highways
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    182
    49
    25
    8
See reviews for
152
113
23
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

We recently stayed here while on spring break in New York. The rooms were large and clean and the service was great. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really good with made to order omelettes and waffles. The small, but clean, pool and hottub were great after a long day in the city. Nearby bus stops made it really easy to get to the city quickly. The only thing is the roads around it are confusing and it is hard to get to without very accurate directions or a gps.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — The surrounding roads were confusing.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

My sister-in-law, 10 y/o daughter, and I stayed here one night after reading many reviews. Our stay here was for the purpose of a less expencive alternative to staying in Manhattan. We were relying strictly on public transportation. The Metro Card DOES NOT COVER THE COST OF BUSES GOING TO NJ. We caught a city bus from the Port Authority to the hotel. The hotel was nice, clean, the staff was a split between friendly and indifferent. The reviews we read suggested that the travel to and from the city wasn't that bad.
It was HORRIBLE. There is a bus stop down in front of the hotel, DO NOT get the idea (like I did) that the bus stop is directly in front of the hotel! It isn't. It is actually a little walk to the bench to catch the bus, but to get the bus back to the hotel is a completely different story. #1 you have to alert the bus driver of where you need to be dropped off. #2 our overall experience with the bus drivers was not a positive one. #3 There is no stop on the way back to the hotel as the hotel is off of the main highway. You are dropped off a very long walk from the hotel and it is exhausting after a long day of walking in the city. We were there in March when the weather was cold & rainy. It is a horrible walk with luggage and a child. You are forced to cross a major highway. There is no room service provided by the hotel they use a small restaurant that is in front of the hotel. We were told that a cab into the city would be around $60! Or they would call us a car to take us to the NJ train station for $18 one way. We waited in line wearing all of our winter gear in the bus terminal for atleast a 1/2 hour to catch the bus back to the hotel from the Port Authority. It was hot and miserable and we still had the long walk to the hotel. There is NOTHING nice to look at from the hotel. Other than the small restaurant in front of the hotel there are no close restaurants to eat. The hotel has a small snack area to purchase a few snacks, frozen items, drinks and beers. The front desk provided us with a limited selection of places that made evening deliveries, we ordered dinner from one on the one night we stayed there. We got a pasta dish, hot sandwich, and chef salad with bread. The food was excellent but the hotel charged us $3 to call the place that they provided the menu for. I had to make another call back to the place because they didn't take off the coupon that was offered and also put in a delivery charge without telling us, the menu stated FREE DELIVERY in large letters with a small star that said to limited areas. The place corrected the price but the hotel charged us another $3 for the call. (We would have just used our cell phones). The hotel had a nice batch of fresh cookies for guest when we got back from the city that evening. They did not charge us for changing our reservations for the remaining three nights as we decided to stay in the city. They did not charge us for the phone calls as we complained that they provided us with the phone number and didn't tell us there would be a $3 charge per call. We opted to have breakfast included in our stay. It was nice and there were many items to choose from and all you could eat. They have a nice buisness center with computers and a printer for guest use free of charge, unlike our hotel in the city that charge 7.95 per 15 minutes for use of a computer.

  • Liked — the breakfast as long as you paid for it with the room otherwise it was overpriced.
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

I booked this place two years ago as well for the same show, and it's still a nice place. Oddly, the same girl was working at the front desk that was there two years ago, and she's good at what she does.
This property is clean, is a good value, compared to others near the Expo Center, and is very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesapeake
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

We have been staying here and taking the bus into NYC for Broadway shows since 2004. With the pool, the hot tub, the marvelous staff, and the great rates, this beats Manhattan hotels.

Stay in Manhattan if you want, but hope to see you at the bus stop on Route 3, and compare Broadway show reviews and stories.

helios5356

  • Liked — great staff
  • Disliked — the bus ride back from NYC
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

We enjoyed our clean, very comfortable, large room (we had a jr. suite), and the staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful with maps, directions and questions. There is free parking in a covered garage. This Garden Inn is a nice, modern, attractive hotel, but be prepared for a lot of traffic noise on the front side, esp. during the morning rush hour. We switched the HVAC fan from auto to on, which helped muffle the outside sounds. Hotel offers convenient, direct access to Lincoln tunnel (5-10 minutes to tunnel), NJ Turnpike (2 min.), and public transportation (bus stop to NYC at front door). Otherwise, this part of Secaucus can be extremely confusing to navigate, with right-turn-only out of hotel, streets divided by barriers, criss-crossing freeways, few left turns, and intermittent U-turn lanes on the right side. Lots of restaurants and shopping (including outlet stores) in the immediate area, but getting a car to the locations can be a challenge even with a map. Ask the hotel staff for directions before starting out, even if you have GPS. Our favorite discovery was Legends on County Road (less than 10 min. from hotel, off Patterson Plank or Secaucus Rd.)--a 24-hour Silver Diner-like independent restaurant. Their dinners are good, with huge portion sizes, but their breakfasts really shine--inexpensive, good selection, lots of food, with coffee and juice included in the price of the specials. With such a hearty breakfast, we skipped lunches and thrived on two meals a day for our entire 5-day stay.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

Just returned from this hotel - we stayed there one night before going into NYC for one night. We decided that the price of the hotels in the city were too much to spend two nights.

We arrived at the hotel after driving from Massachusetts for 4 hours. Front desk manager on duty was very friendly and helpful. Gave us a menu for pizza takeout (which was very good). Room was clean and spacious and beds were comfy.

We had the free breakfast, which was good, with the exception of a few hairs in our food (not sure what that was all about). Between the four of us we had eggs, pancakes, french toast, bacon, fruit, toast, coffee and tea. Waitstaff taking orders and helping out in the breakfast area were great.

Indoor pool was smaller than expected (as usual), but we didn't have time to use it anyways. They also had a small exercise room.

We checked out around 9:30am and headed into NYC (through the Lincoln Tunnel). Traffic was pretty bad and it still only took us about 20 mintues to arrive at our next location (48th and 8th avenue).

Overall experience was good - would definately stay here again before, after or instead of staying in Manhatten.

  • Liked — Price, Location
  • Disliked — Hairs in breakfast.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands

Address: 875 Route 3 East Service Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
#3 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#3 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes from New York City..."without the cost." At the Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus/Meadowlands hotel, busy executives as well as leisure travelers will be pleased to find everything they need to make their trip to the Northern New Jersey/Secaucus shopping district and New York City both relaxing and enjoyable: Complimentary Self Parking garage, Complimentary 24-hour business center, Complimentary workout facility, The Garden Sleep System™ Bed - in all of our guest rooms - So comfortable you won't want to leave, Wireless Internet service in lobby and restaurant, Great American Grill® - open for breakfast in our lobby dining area, 24-hour Pavilion Pantry convenience mart, Indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi®, New York City tours available with pick up from our hotel. Secaucus/Meadowlands & New York City Attractions: Are you ready to shop or visit the largest city in the world? The Hilton Garden Inn's Secaucus, NJ hotel provides easy access to all of the attractions in the area: 3 miles to New York City via the Lincoln Tunnel, NJ Transit bus stop to New York City less than 1/4 mile away (5 minute walk), Buses operate 24 hours a day, 5 miles to World Trade Center area, 4 miles to Empire State Building, 3 miles to the Meadowlands Sports Complex for horse racing, sporting events and concerts (MetLife Stadium, Izod Center), 3 miles to the Meadowlands Sports and Entertainment Center (future opening) for shopping and sporting events, Easy access to the Secaucus Outlets shopping area, Access to all major highways including the NJ Turnpike, I-80, I-95, I-78, Rt 1&9 and the Garden State Parkway, 10 miles to Liberty State Park and Statue of Liberty. Our guestrooms are warm and inviting, yet elegant and functional with the option of one or two beds. Features also include: The Garden Sleep System Bed, Oversized work desk with ergonomic Mirra® chair by Herman Miller, Two phones featuring voice mail, speaker phone capability and data ports, Complimentary wired and wireless Internet service, 37-inch LCD flat screen televisions in all guest rooms, Secure in-room printing to the business center, Microwave, Coffee maker, Refrigerator, Iron and Ironing Board, Hairdryer, USA Today® delivered each weekday morning, Clock radio with MP3 connection, Complimentary Safe Deposit Boxes available at the front desk. Secaucus Hotel Meeting & Event Services: Whether you are planning a corporate meeting, a family reunion or just want to have a place to meet, know that by choosing the Hilton Garden Inn's hotel in Secaucus, NJ will make YOU look good with: Our Meadowlands Meeting room with 1275 square feet of space can accommodate up to 100 guests theater style. This room can be divided in two for smaller breakout rooms. The Liberty Meeting room with 950 square feet of space can accommodate up to 65 guests banquet style. Executive Boardroom for up to 10 guests for that very important meeting or get together. Dedicated sales professional to focus on the details. On-site catering for breakfast with varied menus to compliment your budget. You can choose lunch from our on-site catering menu or from an outside caterer who can also provide dinner options for your gathering. A choice of menus is available for your breaks to keep everyone refreshed. eEvents Booking - Ideal for booking fewer than 25 guest rooms or for booking space for an all-day business meeting. On Site A/V available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Hilton Garden Inn Meadowlands
Hilton Secaucus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.