We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but kind of disappointed in this Embassy Suites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Plaza Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Breakfast & Cocktail
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Secaucus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Okay but kind of disappointed in this Embassy Suites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stay in Embassy Suites all the time and this one just didn't measure up to Columbia, SC or Tyson's Corner, VA, and others. We arrived at 1:30, I realize check-in time is at 3:00 but we've never had a problem checking in at almost any hotel an hour and a half early. They said they didn't have any rooms and it would be an hour and a half before they did. I'm thinking that's just a better way to say "CHECK IN TIME IS AT 3:00." We left our bags in the car and jumped on the bus to NYC. The bus was very nice which surprised us but it did take a while with traffic, it beats driving in on a Saturday afternoon! It was $7.90 each round trip tickets. We got back to the hotel around 6:30, our room was ready, we did notice there were 3 housekeeping carts outside rooms so they were still cleaning rooms! The room was your normal Embassy Suite room, nothing special and nothing bad about it. We received a ticket for two complimentary drinks, one each since NJ has a law about having Happy Hours, you get one each. I didn't have a problem with one drink but when we got to the bar there was a limited "list" on the bar from which you could order. The other Embassy Suites do not have this list, not at all! My husband got a draft beer in a very small thin glass and I got a vodka & cranberry juice which was in a tiny little glass loaded with ice. It was about 4 little sips and done! 4 ounce glass filled with ice! I thought when I saw it my drink was going to be too strong and that I would have to go ask for more juice but no that wasn't a problem, not strong at all, could not have been a full shot. If you can only give out one drink, could it be a little bigger please? All the other Embassy Suite hotels pour like crazy, some will give you two at a time because of the lines. There were chips & salsa, that was it!
The breakfast was horrible compared to the other Hilton hotels, again we were given tickets that no one ever asked for. It was soooo limited, there was bread, white or wheat, no bagels, no rolls, just bread. You can see NYC from Secaucus and yet no BAGELS? Really? The fruit consisted of orange melon or green melon. There were made to order omelets which were okay. The home fries were awful and they ran out of croissants, we were done by the time they brought out 4 more halves with about 200 people at breakfast! This hotel was a disappointment after staying at all the other Embassy Suites we expected better. Will look for other options when we go back next month.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    251
    115
    61
    26
See reviews for
313
118
12
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

A group of us stayed at the hotel from 10-8 to 10-12 while in town for a football game at new Meadowlands stadium. We thought the hotel was great. You can't beat the hot breakfast in the AM and the cocktail hour in the evening. The hotel is about 2 miles from the stadium and unfortunately you can't walk as the road crosses a highway. We had a ride to and from but I was told by the hotel that getting there by cab is easy.. just a little tricky getting a cab back to the hotel after a game. Our rooms were spacious and clean. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We found the bus to Manhattan easy to navigate. It drops you at the Port Authority in the middle of Times Square and from there we were able to walk many attractions in that area. You can also catch the subway right in the Port Authority. We thought the subway was a little overwhelming at first but pretty easy once we got the hang of it. The Port Authority bus runs very often and even late into the evening (at least until midnight/1am).

There is a cute sports bar around the corner from the hotel and several restaurants in the area. Also a huge Walmart and Sam's club (with liquor store) within walking distance so we were able to stock up on all of our tailgating supplies.

Overall, we were happy with our choice to stay in Secaucus and close to the stadium. Very nice area around the hotel and we still got to see what we wanted in the New York area. Also, for anyone that is actually able to work-out while on vacation they have a top notch work-out room at the hotel. Top of the line Precor equipment... very impressive.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

A lot has already been written about this hotel and I agree that it is good value for money in the Manhattan area. Good, fresh breakfast, real cutlery and crockery (not plastic) for breakfast along with ceramic mugs and glass glasses.

The room was spacious (we had a 1-bedroom suite) for the four of us. They are a bit dated but are clean.

When I was researching a place to stay I couldn't find the following information so I thought I would put it together for you:

1. The bus to Manhattan (number 320) leaves from just across the street from the hotel
2. Adult one way fare $ 3.95 and the round trip is $7.90. It is easier to buy the round trip (from the bus driver) but is also possible to get it at a vending machine at PABT. These are the prices in October 2010 and can change.
3. Kids are defined as being under 11. As mine are older I don't know what the fare for kids is (sorry)
4. Busses leave every 5 - 20 minutes (depending on the time of the day). You can get a schedule at the hotel reception.
5. The bus trip CAN take 15 minutes (depending on the time of day and direction) but can also go up to 50 minutes so plan accordingly. DO NOT go by the timings that have been set on the schedule.
6. The trip into Manhattan during the morning rush hour is very good as there are bus lanes all the way from Secaucus INTO the PATB - excellent stuff! Time 35 minutes!!!!!
7. Busses depart from PABT to come back to the hotel from gate 231 and from gate 320 after 10 p.m.
8. There are tons of good restaurants and shopping in the area so if you get sick of the hussle and bussle of NYC, just relax in Secaucus.
9. If you need to get to Newark, ask at the reception. There is a cab company that works with the hotel and for a flat rate of $54 (including toll) you can get there without any worries.

Well that's it! Hope that this information helps you. All in all it is really good value for money and a fantastic location for a trip to the Big Apple.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Although busy, every staff member we met was courteous and helpful. The 'happy hour' included with our stay was a nice perk, and the breakfast was excellent. The rooms were nicely appointed. The only thing that marred a perfect 5/5 on cleanliness was that room service dishes were piled up in the hallway as we were checking in. Other than that (and in all fairness, that is not that big of a deal), it was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was our first trip to the NY/NJ area. We arrived by car and found the hotel was easy to find and in a great location near other hotels and restaurants within walking distance. Hotel rates were great compared to staying in NYC. A bus stop was located just outside the Embassy Suites which took you into NYC within 15 minutes. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Very friendly staff. And very accommodating

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

embassy suites is a classy hotel! luv it when I traveled there in Sept. The hotel is just a 20 min bus ride and the bus stop is right outside. Although the rooms are suites, they are no Palazzo. But for the rate....they were fantastic! the fact that they had a free breakfast daily was also amazing! eggs, bacon, home fries, even french toast! the staff were all friendly. they were helpful in coordinating my travels back to jfk airport....by subway! the hotel is next to an outback steakhouse, walmart, and a few other restaurants. its in a convention center area so there are a lot of things to do around the area. it is also an extremely safe area. the only bad think i would say is that because of the design of the fact that there is an atrium at the bottom, it gets kind of loud in the mornings as people get their dishes for breakfast. ...but at the same time..its a wake up call!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands

Address: 455 Plaza Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.