We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Plaza Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Upgraded Premium Suites
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Maryville, United States
1 review
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Very nice hotel. Would definitely recomend. The location is convenient to New York and it was freat to drive to the park to take the Jersey side shuttle to see Lady Liberty. Also nice restraunt very close, within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thanks for your recent patronage and the feedback, both are greatly appreciate. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    214
    88
    47
    19
See reviews for
267
100
11
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My son and I wanted to have a special place to go for the winter holiday near home that had an indoor pool. We got everything we wanted for our Christmas "Stay-cation" We were able to get there by NJTransit bus from Manhattan for only a few $ (dropped us a short walk from the hotel) There were several reaturants in the area that were open on Christmas day as well as a movie theater, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus for your holiday staycation. We are very pleased you enjoyed our hotel and the area. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

we had a 4-day trip between Xmas and NY with our extended family and used the hotel as our base for visit to NYC. Very convenient buses to NYC. Hotel is clean, comfortable beds,rooms spacious, needs a bit of updating in rooms. Breakfast is ample though slow wait for omelets. Lots of typical chain restaurants within walking distance (Starbucks, Chili's, Outback, etc)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your recent patronage to the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus. We are happy you stayed with us and enjoyed our hotel offerings. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this hotel for our vacation to New York City because the room rates are 1/3 of what they are in Manhattan! We are a family of 4. One reason we like the Embassy Suites chain is because you get the breakfast in the morning. That is one less meal to pay for! You also get the Manager's Reception from 5:30-7:30-snacks and free drinks. If you have kids, there is a pool and spa at most Embassy Suites as well as an exercise room. This particular Embassy Suites is located right across the Hudson River located near all the shopping and restaurants close by, such as Chili's, Outback Steakhouse, McDonalds, Starbucks, Red Robin, Red Lobster and Walmart, which comes in handy for a family after a long day in New York City. Also there is a bus stop across the street that takes you straight to Manhattan. We took it every day and got there in 20 minutes each time. We end up at 42nd street Bus Depot and we are in the middle of everything. From there we had planned where we would go and flagged a cab to take us there. The average fare for us was $10.00 to go anywhere in the city! You don't have to waste time with trying to figure out bus routes and the subway system! Plus with a family of 4, you have to pay for 4 fares for other transportation and the taxi system is 1 fare for the car and they get you to your destination in 15 minutes or less and drop you right in front of the destination! It saves a lot of time! We had a stress free vacation at one of the busiest weeks of the year! Also the Embassy Suites in Secaucus, we request a view and we had a Manhattan Skyline view of the Lit up Empire State building at night as well as the World Trade Center Tower! We rented a car and used the free parking structure there. We used the car to go check out some local pizza places in New Jersey and also it was a life saver because at the end of the trip, our flight was cancelled from Newark so United rescheduled us to an American flight at JFK, so I was thankful, I had rented the car, so we can go to the other airport. We also used the car to go to Long Island one day to the tip where the Montauk Lighthouse is located and drove through "the Hamptons" to get there. Nice drive! I thought driving through Manhatten would be stressful, but I took the Lincoln Tunnel and went right on 34th street to cut through the center of the city to get to the Queens midtown Tunnel and on to Long Island with relative ease. If you rent a car, get a toll pass from the rental car agency! Very nice accommodations (2 room Suites) in Secaucus! If your family is on a budget and needs room to spread out, this is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of New York!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus during your recent trip to NYC. We are very happy you enjoyed our hotel and all it's offerings. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

As a Hilton Honors Diamond member I stay in lots of Hilton's around the world. I love the brands and the fact that you know what you are getting in each one. I also like Hilton as they look after their Customers and recognize that they have a choice......................not so Embassy Suites, Secaucus. With apologies for a bit of a moan - check out my other reviews, I rarely complain but deep breath and here goes.

I should qualify my comments by singling out just one individual, a lady called Carmen at the front desk who clearly believes that it is our privilege to be staying at the Embassy Suites and that anything that is not to our satisfaction is not her problem. We had a family of 5 using a room with 2 doubles and a sofa bed so knew that we would need the sofa bed. On checking into the room, I noticed that we had no bedding for the sofa bed (blankets and pillows). I let the front desk know immediately (5.30PM) and we then used the facilities (nice pool/hot tub) and complementary drink at the bar. We headed out for a meal at one of the numerous nearby restaurants and returned at around 9.30.............still no bedding. I notified Carmen who was at the front desk and she said that she would get some sent up (although not a hint of an apology in this not having been done in the previous 4 hours which I did inform her). An hour later, with kids getting very tired after a long day travelling up from Washington DC, still no bedding at which point my wife decided to pay Carmen another visit. Having waited nearly 5 hours for something that was stored in a room immediately behind the front desk, we at least expected Carmen to show a little bit of grace in recognizing that this was not acceptable. But no, she just excused herself by saying that it was busy (5 hours of busy to just get some bedding out of a closet!!!!??). At this point my wife lost patience with Carmen and pointed out that she was showing no respect to her Customers...................her response, and I quote, "we needed to show her a bit of respect"! Congratulations Carmen - you win my first prize for 'Worst Customer Service Award - 2013'.

Moan over - she took the 5 paces that it took to get the bedding from the closet and we went to bed. Can't say I slept much though. I slept on the sofa bed - it's seen better days as has the hotel as a whole I think.

Without the appalling Customer Service, this hotel would score higher. Breakfast is busy (long lines and limited tables available but not sure what they can do other than warn you that if you get to breakfast late, expect long lines (which they do).The lady doing the omelets and pancakes is a star though - without her amazing speed of work, the lines would be ridiculous. The food is tasty and hot.

The main benefit of this hotel is location as most people highlight. Bus stop outside for a short trip into NYC. Very convenient. There are other choices of hotel nearby. This is my second time at Embassy Suites, there won't be a third.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We've addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area, you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of customer service. Please contact me personally. Thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

TVs that didn't work. Heating/cooling system didn't work properly. Living Room very hot while bedroom was very cold. Evening reception which is a hotel selling point was left empty for long periods and the quality of the snacks was poor. Why bother if the offerings are marginally edible? Embassy is supposed to be a high quality brand.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues in your room and we’re working with our maintenance team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity to show improvement.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed for 1 night while touring NYC. Chose hotel based on other reviews on Trip Advisor. Have stayed at several other Embassy Suites and have always had great experience. This hotel was different, There were dirty pool towels in our room when we checked in. They were behind the door of the bedroom. The rugs in the room seemed dirty. Also, did not appreciate they only serve breakfast till 9am. That works well for business travelers but, when you are on vacation you want to be able to sleep a bit. They literally removed all the breakfast items including coffee and drinks at exactly 9am. Staff was very helpful so that was the only positive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinalfrank, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. While I am glad you enjoyed our friendly staff, I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure cleanliness and comfort are our first priority. I understand the condition of your guestroom was of concern. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as we look towards refresh options. Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Best Regards,

Pinal Frank
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands

Address: 455 Plaza Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
#6 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.