We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel! Great atmosphere!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands to your Saves list
Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 Plaza Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NYC Area Hotel Savings
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Secaucus
Lagos, Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel! Great atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This was my second stay in this hotel and I was not disappointed at all. My family of five were on vacation from Nigeria/UK. The manager at the front desk gave us a warm welcome and check-in was quick.
We occupied 2 suites with city view on the 9th floor (HHonours guests) and the friendly manager gave us complimentary internet access because we were spending 14 nights.
The rooms were large and clean, beds very comfortable but the sofa mattress was not comfortable, you could feel the springs when you lay in it.
Throughout our stay there were different families gathered for reunion and I just loved seeing the excited family members of different ages at breakfast. Great atmosphere! The free breakfast was good and my husband and sons loved the made-to-order omelettes. We checked in on a Saurday and went late for breakfast on Monday as we didn't realise breakfast ended at 9am on Monday (weekday) as against 10:30am on Sunday (weekend). One of the kitchen staff was kind enough to get us all we needed which we really appreciated. There were computers at the reception area with free internet access for guests use as well as free printing.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. We went to NYC almost daily as it was a quick bus ride to Ports Authority ($7.90 return) but nobody told us about the traffic at peak period and we missed 30minutes of a Broadway show. I advise anyone going to NYC for evening event to take taxi to Sacaucus Junction station (about $7) and take a train to Penn Station ($4) which is less than 10 minutes journey.
I loved the Dresigner Outlets in Secaucus, great bargains at Gucci, Calvin Klein, Tommy Hillfinger, Jones New York, Burlington Coat etc. Most are located along Enterprise Ave, and Hartz st. and taxi fare is less than $10 from hotel. If well timed, the hotel shuttle can take you there.
We felt safe walking at any time to the fine restaurants close to the hotel, our favourites were Red Lobster and Chillis. Walt Mart is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There is also a movie theatre close to the hotel.
We had a memorable family holiday and will definitely stay in thie hotel again. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the right side give you city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    267
    135
    69
    30
See reviews for
353
124
14
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Family of 5 travelling to New York City and Hoboken, NJ and decided to stay in NJ. We drove in and parking at the hotel was FREE! The bus stop is directly outside the hotel for a quick bus ride to NY City ($7.90 return). We had a suite on the 4th floor. It was very large, had a nice living room, bedroom, bathroom and even a microwave and fridge. Everything was clean and tidy and well priced considering the fact that it is only a short 15 minute bus ride to NY. The FREE breakfast was excellent and included made to order omelettes and pancakes as well as a regular buffet. Everything was hot, well stocked and tasty. As for previous reviews, I didn't see anything wrong with the sofa in the room and didn't think it looked dated at all. The layout of the hotel was excellent. The pool was small but it was not crowded at all while we were there. The workout room was also small but had a good selection of treadmills and weights. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to NY City.

Room Tip: I would have like a room on a higher floor but none were available for our dates. We were mid-way o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here during a Christmas trip with our two kids. It had some great points, but a few negatives.

There is a bus stop right outside the door that takes you into the city (320). They have information posted in the lobby about fare prices. You need to have exact change but the staff is reluctant to give you change. Beware! There is an atm in the lobby, however. I advise of course going in to the city early (before 7am) or late (after rush hour - 10). We were also looking for hotel with free parking. This one offered that and we felt comfortable leaving our car in the garage.

They also have free breakfast. It was made to order or buffet. However, the lines were LONG and they ran out of food very fast. You need to get there early if the hotel is crowded. Maybe this is not a problem during seasons when it is not as busy. Also, there is really nowhere to sit. There is no real restaurant seating, so we had difficulty finding somewhere to eat. They also have a cocktail hour. This is nice, but we rarely made it in time considering that we spent most days in the city and got back late.

The staff was for the most part nice. Our room was rather large and clean. We got extra towels as needed. The room service was good.

It is a very beautiful hotel. I would stay there again. I prefer to stay in the city if I go without kids, but this is a great, cheaper option with less chaos when children are involved!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff were really friendly. It was in walking distance to my office and the bus stop right outside took you into New York City. Rooms were cleaned everyday, and they had a wide range to choose from for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed with grandchildren on a $200 per night budget. The location is realy pretty good, close to the City and all. Easy access, free parking and public transportation were all strong positives. Dealing with the BronyCon (look it up) headquarted hotels was a major turn off. Plus it took two days, a room night credit and proffered Hilton points to provide sufficient linen for the 4 of us and bedding for the pull out sofa, which was VERY dismal.

Breakfast and staff attitude in dining was top flight! The facility is very nicely maintained.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've stayed with the embassy brand hotel a few times before and this was below all previous stays.

Room/bathroom/ livingroom: not all rooms are suites. We were on business for the NY Amp show and stayed 3 nights. We arrived with 2 other family members. My husband and I booked a suite with the show, but other members of my family booked a standard room and requested 2 queen beds but Received one queen bed due to the hotel being booked solid. Their room was small and ackwardly shaped. the bathroom was oversized and appeared to be updated.

Our suite was large with separate living area, small frig, microwave and sink. The bathroom was extremely small and did not accommodate more than 1 person at a time. The separate bedroom was large and comfy.

The Good: speedy friendly check in, comfy bed and pillows, quality linens, breakfast was included, made to order omelette and pancakes but also had cereal, toast, oatmeal, various fruits, etc. The free evening reception included chips, a few veggies, mixed nuts.... And 1 free beverage. Free/ good parking. Nice flat screen tv with 1 premium channel. Very nice lobby, good beverages. Walking distance to shops, food, banks ( chase and bank of America) and across the bridge from new York city... Less than 10 minutes

The bad: room update and deep cleaning needed, fee for Internet service, extremely dirty/stained carpet, dusty/ dated furniture... Everything was dusty including the vents and curtains.

We did express our concerns to staff. The next morning, housekeeping gave the room a little extra attention. Thanks, but the please deep clean the carpet, repaint the walls, wash the curtains, deep clean the furniture or buy new.

If you don't have dirty/stained carpet issues and don't mind a little dusty furniture, it's not tooooo bad.

I expect carpet to be somewhat dirty but I shouldn't be afraid to walk on it with socks and do not expect to see excessive stains and dirt.

I still like the embassy brand but will be more mindful of the location when booking.


  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is my second time staying at this hotel, and it gets better every time. The front desk staff are very polite. Mr. Wellington is very professional and will take care any problem you have if he can. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Secaucus hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 16 in Secaucus
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Secaucus Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands

Address: 455 Plaza Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#5 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands Hotel is located just 4 miles from New York City with easy transportation access outside the hotel. This Secaucs, NJ all-suite hotel is the perfect location for your business or leisure travel. It is centrally located in the Harmon Meadow Plaza in Secaucus, NJ, with easy access to the Meadowlands, the Izod Center, East Rutherford, NJ, Teterboro Airport and Newark Airport(EWR.Book your room stay online direct with the hotel and get our best rate guranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Meadowlands
Embassy Suites Secaucus
Secaucus Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites by Hilton Secaucus - Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.