We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but a little tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Secaucus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Secaucus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Secaucus Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special New York Savings!
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Convenient but a little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed there for several weeks this year. The hotel is reasonable comfortable..rooms with kitchen appliances, resonable cable channels.

Beds were comfortable. rooms decent size, clean. Free wifi, free coffee 24 hours.

All in all, the hotel was clean but a little tired around the edges. The only major negative is that, there are not many decent places for food nearby and, since the hotel doesn't have a restaurant, this is problematic is you are staying for any length of time.

Room Tip: Bring your own food
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear MBAX01,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible.

We thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
25
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We chose Secaucus as our NYC-tour accomodation because we use a big car and a mobility scooter. The candlewood suites proved to be a good choice: we parked the car at Secaucus Junction station and used the NJTransit to hop tp midtown Mannhatten. But besides this, we found the jotel itself very good. The rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is nice and helpful and the cupboard is alwsys full. We heartly recommand thid hotel for visiting New York.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Expensive for location, compared toHampton 2 miles away. Staff seemed to be less than accommodating compared to othe candle wood suites, and status was ignored and place in a room contrary to my settings. Pillows and bed uncomfortable and could not wait to leave.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Drober3737,

I was disappointed to read your review following your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced. It is certainly disappointing our hotel did not live up to your expectations. As our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the feedback we receive are taken seriously. I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our team to ensure the points you've raised in this review are addressed.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This Hotel is a hidden gem! Everything is updated, clean, well appointed, and the staff is first class! Especially notable are the young gentleman and lady working the front desk. Very accommodating and courteous. They were delightful!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I love this hotel. My family and I stayed there for two nights and we loved the staff and loved the amentities. The parking was great both in front and in the back of the hotel. They also have a grill out front that you can use for free. The have non-smoking rooms for the whole family to enjoy. The have DVD's that you can rent and they have free washer and dryer. The best thing that I really enjoyed was the FF (free fast) internet service. That's what put the hotel over the top for me! The room was kinda same for a family of 5 but the kitchen area was awesome. I would stay there again! Oh yeah...The beds were comfortable too. Not to far from Walmart, Target and a bunch of other shops. A+++++

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for five nights and found it to be a very good place.
The train from Penn station to Secaucus Junction station takes 10 minutes and costs $4, this is very frequent and can be checked on njtransit.com. It is a 20 minute walk to the hotel, if you don't feel like walking you can get the hotel shuttle in either direction. If you need to get there outside of the shuttle operating times a cab will cost you $8, provided you go with Secaucus taxi service, on arrival I was charged $14 by a different cab company from the station.
The hotel itself was very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The suite was well equipped with cooking utensils etc, microwave fridge/freezer, even if the fridge was a bit noisy. There is a guest laundry free of charge and well equipped. If you want to go shopping in Secaucus the hotel shuttle will drop you off, there is an outlet centre close by and a walmart. Overall if you are looking for a budget alternative to cramped New York hotels this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was transferred here after I was walked by the Candlewood Suites Jersey City. I arrived after 1AM and Homero at the front desk was so kind! He said he was sorry for what happened and he did everything he could to get me into my room as fast as possible. The room was very nice and clean. The next morning, Homero remembered me and asked how I was feeling. I definitely would stay here again and this is a place that knows how to treat a guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Address: 279 Secaucus Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Secaucus 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Secaucus Jersey City New York City Area. The Candlewood Suites Secaucus - Jersey City hotel is a member of Priority Club and the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites hotels. Specialized in extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is perfect for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary and corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located near NJ TNPK exit 15X, I-95 & Route 3. Our location offers near access to Newark, Jersey City and New York City. The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel is minutes from Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place, Newport Financial Center, Harmon Meadows Outlet Shopping, Panasonic, Meadowlands Xanadu, Izod Center, MLB Networks, UPS, Javits Center, Newark EWR Airport (15 miles) and Secaucus Train Station (5 minutes).The Candlewood Suites offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio and one bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work area, 32' LCD TVs with DVD player and free Internet. Other features include meeting room, 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills and our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Secaucus Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Secaucus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.