We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alternative to New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Secaucus to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Secaucus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Secaucus Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Alternative to New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for five nights and found it to be a very good place.
The train from Penn station to Secaucus Junction station takes 10 minutes and costs $4, this is very frequent and can be checked on njtransit.com. It is a 20 minute walk to the hotel, if you don't feel like walking you can get the hotel shuttle in either direction. If you need to get there outside of the shuttle operating times a cab will cost you $8, provided you go with Secaucus taxi service, on arrival I was charged $14 by a different cab company from the station.
The hotel itself was very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. The suite was well equipped with cooking utensils etc, microwave fridge/freezer, even if the fridge was a bit noisy. There is a guest laundry free of charge and well equipped. If you want to go shopping in Secaucus the hotel shuttle will drop you off, there is an outlet centre close by and a walmart. Overall if you are looking for a budget alternative to cramped New York hotels this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
25
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, MI
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
158 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was transferred here after I was walked by the Candlewood Suites Jersey City. I arrived after 1AM and Homero at the front desk was so kind! He said he was sorry for what happened and he did everything he could to get me into my room as fast as possible. The room was very nice and clean. The next morning, Homero remembered me and asked how I was feeling. I definitely would stay here again and this is a place that knows how to treat a guest.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for 5 weeks and it was very quiet. The staff was friendly and very helpful in helping us to get around to the sites like ground zero. It is located close to shopping and restaurants as well as the train to New York and the interstate. It has outdoor grills and eating area that is covered. VERY VERY CLEAN !!!!!!!!!!!!!! A must stay when in the area and it is close to New York and Hobokin, NJ where the Cake Boss has his bakery.

Room Tip: I was on the first floor but I think any room would be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repentigny, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just got back from a short visit tomNYC. Stayed in Secaucus. Krishna at the front desk was extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. Shuttle to train station in 5 minutes saves you $16 per day and Secaucus is only 1 stop from Penn station, takes only 15 minutes. Room very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for room furthest from highway if you like to sleep with window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel as our base for visiting Manhattan. The hotel was sparkling clean, the staff were friendly and the room was in great condition. We were quite surprised by the kitchenette in the room, everything was very clean and in good working order. Very quiet at night which is a huge plus after a long day of exploring New York.

This hotel is a good alternative for budget minded travellers looking to explore New York. Once you're at Secaucus Junction station, the train into Penn Station in Manhattan is only about 6 or 7 minutes and very cheap at 4$ each way. The only trouble is the hotel isn't within walking distance of the Secaucus station. The hotel does have a courtesy shuttle back and forth, but only Monday to Friday in the morning and then again from 4-9. Thankfully, the hotel is partnered with a taxi company that only charges $8 for at trip from the station to the hotel. As we were there over a weekend, we were a bit disappoitned at the lack of shuttle service on Saturdays and Sundays. The hotel is in an excellent location to market itself as a cheaper alternative to staying in Manhattan, and it would be great to see the shuttle in use on a more frequent basis. Granted, even with the taxis, it's still much more affordable than the standard $300 a night in Manhattan.

Overall, it was a great stay and I would stay there again. If you're looking for a relatively hassle free alternative to staying in New York, this hotel is for you!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad and Tobago
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good value for the price, like all long stay hotels the prices get better as monthly rates. Free laundry machines was a plus for me. There are several restaurants in the are but most out of short walking distance, with a car no problem.
The kitchenette is decent with all the necessities (Full refrigerator, dishwasher, stove top, microwave, toaster) and I make full use of it during longer stays. The rooms include an awesome recliner that is way more comfortable than it looks. Good TV, HBO included.
The overall place is clean and quiet with lots of parking. Free shuttle service to surroundings and train stations.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the end close to the stairs, I prefer 200 as it allows easy exit via stairs then th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed for Wrestlemania weekend. I thought the front desk staff was super nice and informative. They were very accommodating. The only reason why I didn't get it a perfect 5 stars was because when I came back around 5:00 pm on Sunday, my room still wasn't cleaned yet. Not sure if it was something I was suppose to do. Other then that, it was a fantastic time. Thank you to the staff of Candlewood Suites making my Wrestlemania weekend....as the Miz would say...AAAAAAWWWWEEESSOOMMMEEEE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Address: 279 Secaucus Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Secaucus 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Secaucus Jersey City New York City Area. The Candlewood Suites Secaucus - Jersey City hotel is a member of Priority Club and the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites hotels. Specialized in extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is perfect for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary and corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located near NJ TNPK exit 15X, I-95 & Route 3. Our location offers near access to Newark, Jersey City and New York City. The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel is minutes from Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place, Newport Financial Center, Harmon Meadows Outlet Shopping, Panasonic, Meadowlands Xanadu, Izod Center, MLB Networks, UPS, Javits Center, Newark EWR Airport (15 miles) and Secaucus Train Station (5 minutes).The Candlewood Suites offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio and one bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work area, 32' LCD TVs with DVD player and free Internet. Other features include meeting room, 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills and our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Secaucus Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Secaucus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.