We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If i could give the staff higher than a five i would!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Secaucus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Secaucus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Secaucus Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 15 hotels in Secaucus
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If i could give the staff higher than a five i would!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My sisters family and mine visited New York for spring break and stayed at this hotel. We had the best time. The service was amazing. We were given wonderful informatiin on seeing the sites and even got special service to the train station. Wonderful rooms as well.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
24
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apex, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The staff were outstanding! We were there for a Tony Robbins Seminar and they could not have been more accomadating. They went out of their way to get us to and from the seminar on time in a complimentary shuttle at all hours of the morning and nigth. (Conference was at the Meadowlands.) They even sent the Shuttle to take us to Newark Airport Monday morning even thought this was not their typical schedule. The room was clean and roomy and well stocked. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Good Afternoon Mrs. Bennett,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the current review of our hotel. We truly appreciate the positive insight and are very happy to hear that your stay with us was a delightful one. As a manager, it’s always a pleasure to know that the staff is striving for excellence in customer service and I assure you it will not go unrecognized.

We value each of our clients and look forward to your continued patronage on choosing our facility as your preferred hotel when traveling to Secaucus, NJ in the future.

Please feel free to contact me on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after a show at the izod center because it was nice and close and I had an employee rate. Even at midnight the young man who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. He showed us the little store they had and also gave us an extra pillow. The room was very nice! Little kitchen area stocked with pots, pans and silverware. We had a comfortable sleep, not what you expect from a hotel. In the morning the young lady was very pleasant. When realizing the store was out of milk she sent somebody to get more and called our room the minute they had more. The staff was very professional, kind and helpful. We would stay here over and over if ever back in that area!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champlain, Quebec
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while on a job in North Bergen which was not a far drive from the hotel. I found the hotel to be very quiet! clean and confortable. The only thing I found a little out of the ordinary is the cleaning of the rooms which is only done once a week which is something I am not used to in an extended stay hotel. It is not a deal breaker for me but I like getting new towels and washclothes every day and not have to walk downstairs to the lobby to exchange these. All in all I was pleased with the hotel and all that it has to offer and would stay there again if ever I am on a job around there which will probably happen in the near future. If you are looking at an extended stay hotel in this area, this is your best bet.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Good Afternoon Emmanuel_Germain,
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a wonderful review about our hotel, we truly appreciate it. We look forward to continuing to supply you with excellence in service and value your continued patronage. Have a wonderful day.
Regards,
Candlewood Secaucus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in May of last year on a special rate. As we had things to do in both Jersey and Manhattan it was a good central point for us. We did encounter an issue at check-in although we are not sure who was at fault. We were given our rate through one of my fiancee's business associates who took care of the booking himself and assured us that everything was taken care of. When we arrived they only had 1 room booked for us instead of 2 and after much hesitation, front desk discussing with a manager, and a phone call to my fiancee's associate, we were finally given the discount for the second room and were able to begin our weekend. The front desk was nice to us after the incident and accommodating to the other couple that had requested a room switch to be closer to us and all was well after that. The rooms we received were clean and had all of the amenities we needed and then some. We were able to turn off the hood light over the stove after finding the switch and we slept well both nights. The room and hallway were both very quiet at all times. Once you get used to the noises from the full-size fridge (the humming and clicking that all fridges make), you don't hear it anymore. We brought our own laptops so we did not use the business center and the internet connection in our rooms was pretty good.

Having not driven to the hotel, we liked that there was a shuttle service from the Secaucus station to pick us up when we arrived. However, the hours are limited which was a bit inconvenient if you are not travelling during the times it is available during the week. It seems quite a few people stay here while visiting New York and while cabs are easy to get, the front desk will call one for you no problem, the shuttle is a more economical solution and would be worth it for them to offer it on weekends as well to cater to leisure travellers. The cab ride to Secaucus Station was $8 each way which is not a big deal but can be costly if you have to return to your hotel room throughout the day, which unfortunately, we had to due to one of the people in our party having stomach flu.

The location is great for travelling into Manhattan, a very quick cab ride to the station and an equally quick train ride. We didn't ask if there were any restaurants or convenience stores nearby, we couldn't see any in our travels and it wasn't a major concern for us but might be for others. We just made sure to eat dinner and purchase snacks in Manhattan before we returned for the evening. The little store in the hotel is expensive but that is normal. It is wise to have your own vehicle to get around though so that you can bring groceries with you or pick them up easily and not have to rely on cabs and shuttles saving time and money.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was offered to us at a great price which is why we stayed there for this trip rather than in Manhattan as we normally do. We will go back to staying in Manhattan in the future as we prefer it for the utmost convenience and familiarity but would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone that is interested.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here with no pre-planning, having been caught in a big downpour on a long drive south after dark. At the nearest rest stop, this hotel was advertised as pet-friendly, so I called the 800 number and said we had two dogs and was advised of a $75 pet fee. Fine. We found it and checked in, whereupon the manager said the fee was per pet! When I asked him to show me this policy in writing, as I'd never seen it done that way at any other hotel, he could not produce anything so he said never mind "this time," since we were staying only one night. Then the thermostat was not working, even after he replaced the batteries, but the system was manually controllable, so no problem. But the television wasn't working either. I didn't complain about that since we were going to bed early. Comparing it to a Residence Inn, which would have been my first choice, this "suite" was much smaller and had no sofa. The bed was very comfortable, but had only three little pillows. The bathroom was a little nicer, but the shower curtain was short, just below the top edge of the tub. The kitchen was adequate, but had only two glasses. The "pet walking" area was tiny and didn't offer any disposal bags or can. The room rate was very reasonable, but I won't stay at one of these hotels again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I stayed at the Candlewood suites in Secaucus with my family over the thanksgiving holiday and for my birthday. We could not afford to stay in Manhattan as prices were very high. We had 2 rooms. The staff was corteous and helpful. The rooms were tastefully decorated, clean modern, comfortable and well equipped. The train ride to NYC is quick and convenient. We could not use the free as they gave a break to the driver, which was reasonable. Don't expect anything from the neighborhood, which is essentially an industrial park, with nowhere to stroll around.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Address: 279 Secaucus Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Secaucus 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Secaucus Jersey City New York City Area. The Candlewood Suites Secaucus - Jersey City hotel is a member of Priority Club and the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites hotels. Specialized in extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is perfect for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary and corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located near NJ TNPK exit 15X, I-95 & Route 3. Our location offers near access to Newark, Jersey City and New York City. The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel is minutes from Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place, Newport Financial Center, Harmon Meadows Outlet Shopping, Panasonic, Meadowlands Xanadu, Izod Center, MLB Networks, UPS, Javits Center, Newark EWR Airport (15 miles) and Secaucus Train Station (5 minutes).The Candlewood Suites offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio and one bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work area, 32' LCD TVs with DVD player and free Internet. Other features include meeting room, 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills and our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Secaucus Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Secaucus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.