We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back next year :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Secaucus to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Secaucus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Secaucus Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We will be back next year :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My husband and 2 kids stayed at the Candlewood Suites in July and had a wonderful stay. Everything was great- from the rooms, to the free shuttle service, to the personable staff. The hotel is in more of an industrial/residential area, but it was nice and quiet for us. It was about 20 minutes away from NYC and some great shopping at the Harmon Clove outlets. .  We had a one bedroom suite and the bedroom portion was roomy and had enough room to maneuver around with amazing beds and was perfect for our family. The bed itself was comfortable and it sported three pillows plus two more in the closet. This was a nice touch since I like a lot of pillows. The vanity is large enough had enough room for me and my wife's toiletries. The two 32" LCD TVs with DVD player were a nice touch and they had 3 ESPN channels including premium cable channels such as HBO and Showtime but they did not have pay per view movies. But they have nice DVD collection at front desk which you can borrow at any time. The kitchen was nice. They did provide a fair amount of kitchenware. The refrigerator was nice to keep drinks and restaurant leftovers in. The kitchen would be adequate to prepare small meals if you feel the need so it was great to be able to close the door when the kids had to take a nap. They even let us use the bbq grills. Our stay was wonderful, all of the staff incredibly helpful, and the rooms great. We will definitely stay here again next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
On behalf of the entire staff of the Candlewood Suites Secaucus, thank you very much for the kind words about your recent stay. We look forward to hosting you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
25
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We arived at the hotel and we had reservation for three rooms and they only had one room available which is fine. So we check in one of the rooms to change and the hallways were dirty. Once we open the door of the room it smelled horrible. We just decided to leave and and cancel our other rooms. The lady at the front desk who was very nice said ok. We went to the marriott which was much nicer. The next day they charged us at the Candlewood suite, so we called the manager he ended up hanging up the phone on us. what horrible servcie from the gm. would never stay there.

Room Tip: would not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
In the above mention review you sir have FAILED to mention the fact that you wanted to check into all 3 rooms at 10 AM instead of 3 PM (at least 5 hr earlier than our check-in time) and since our hotel was SOLD-OUT night before we were not able to accommodate your demand for an early check-in for 3 rooms. However our Front Desk agent gave you 1 room so that at least you and your other 2 guests can freshen up while we clean other suites. Later on after you guys were freshened up you just left our hotel and informed us to cancel other reservation as there was change of plans. You never mentioned to us that you were unhappy with room or disappointed due to cleanliness. You never gave us the opportunity to correct our mistake if in fact it was an error on our part. You never gave us chance to clarify that the reservation were an advance purchase and cannot be refunded upon cancellation. You just assume that since you are cancelling other 2 reservation on the day of arrival you were entitle for a full refund.

I’m not surprise to see that you have now used tripadvisor.com as a way to spread wrong image and make false claims of cleanliness because you’re previous attempt to get a full refund from our customer service department have FAILED. By making false statement about our cleanliness and submitting incorrect negative review if you think we will offer you some sort of refund so that you can withdraw you misleading review than sir you are only misleading yourself.

We strive to make every guest’s stay a pleasant stay and if for any reasons they are dissatisfied we will do everything that is possible to ensure their stay is excellent. But when a guest who makes false statement just to get a refund or discount we stop giving them the upmost service as was the case here. When you start making threats against me by saying that you will get me fired for not refunding you, I had to hung-up the phone on you as I didn’t seem necessary to carry on the conservation.

I CANNOT OFFER ANY KIND OF COMPENSATION OR A FULL REFUND because you fail to understand the rules and regulation of an advance purchase.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010 via mobile

this hotel forced my wife and I to leave the hotel @9p.m. Because we complained to priority club which we are platinum members that they were over an hour late picking us up . The hotel manager said if we did not leave they would call the autorities and have us removed.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow,
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

The reviews of this hotel here on Trip Advisor are mostly positive and it is fair to say that we had a decent stay at the hotel but not as good as many have made out. We booked two separate queen rooms for 4 adults (2 x married couples) and arrived quite late at night from London.
The hotel is not easy to find and whatever you do forget using mapquest for directions as it will not get you there. We had to stop at another suites hotel and get directions to Candlewood. The hotel itself is in the middle of an industrial zone so there are no restaurants close by so unless you have a car where you can go out there is only the choice of eating in from ready meals sourced in the in-house shop or get a local carry-out eaterie to deliver to your room.
The staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much bother to try and help you and this is a huge positive for the hotel the staff are undoubtedly one of the best things about Candlewwod Secaucus.
After our long day travelling to New Jersey we accepted the rooms we got but next day I upgraded the two rooms to a double queen size and this suited us better. I have to say the standard queen size room is on the small size and if you have stayed in suite hotels before in America like Homestead or Extended Stay you will be shocked by how small and compact the standard queen suite is at Candlewood. The double queen suite was much better and spacious and was worth the extra money.
The hotel shuttle bus will take you round to Secaucus Junction station (less than 10
minutes away) and it is only a 7 minute ride and no stops on the train to Penn Street Station in New York City (34th Street & 7th).
It is undoubtedly the fastest and cheapest way in to downtown Manhattan and is all told a very reliable and frequent suburbun train service and cheap too (about $10 return trip for one adult).
The hotel is good and extremely reasonable value but some of the rooms (lower numbered rooms) are close to the New Jersey Turnpike which passes close by and the traffic noise is considerable.
When we upgraded our rooms to the double queen we moved along the corridor away from the Turnpike side and the noise was reduced dramatically. If you are a light sleeper you don't want to be anywhere near that wing of the hotel if you can help it.
All in all a few positives from our stay at Candlewood and a couple of negatives but overall good value for money if you are prepared to stay just outside Manhatten and pay the few dollars to travel in each day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Beautiful, well designed and clean. The staff was friendly and went beyond expectations to help. It was delightful and I would highly recommend it. We traveled across 5 states, this was by far the best experience we had in hotels. There are kitchenettes in every room. That included a full size refrigerator, two burner stove, toaster, coffee pot, microwave. On the good and bad side, there was no housekeeping unless you were there for more than a week. However, you could ask for clean towels, etc if needed. You were also offered a choice of pillows.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
On behalf of the entire staff of the Candlewood Suites Secaucus, thank you very much for the kind words about your recent stay. We look forward to hosting you again on a future trip to Secaucus.

Nishant Patel
General Manager
Candlewood Suites Secaucus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here to travel back and forth to NYC. This was a great choice for value and location. The hotel is close (driving distance) to the outlets in Secaucus, movies and restaurants. It only took us 15 minutes via the Lincoln Tunnel to get to Manhattan. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the kitchenettes are a plus. The staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel is located in a very industrial area of Secaucus with no retail in the immediate area other than a strip club (AJ's) so think twice before bringing children to this area. Safe town but don't feel this hotel is located in a safe part of town.

The wrong credit card was charged for the room (the one that was used to hold the reservation, not the one presented at check-in.) Hotel Manager REFUSES to return any calls or emails after initial conversation to correct charges!!!

Be careful when giving this hotel your money! You never know what card they will charge, and if you have any questions, the manager (Nishant) will avoid returning your call!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cwssecaucus, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Secaucus, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
We strive to make every guests' stay a memorable and pleasant experience. We do apologize for any dissatisfaction you may have encountered during your stay. The description on your communication makes it somewhat difficult for us to address as it is in regards to an Advance purchase reservation. I’m sure you were aware that since the reservation was an advance purchase no changes can be done to the reservation. I extremely rare case we do switch Credit Card info after check-out. We can only do it if all the necessary information is present and in this case I was still waiting for an approval to charge onto a different Credit Card which I haven’t received yet. As soon as I have the approval to charge onto the other Credit card I will process the credit to your card.

Thanks

Nishant Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Secaucus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Secaucus

Address: 279 Secaucus Road, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Secaucus 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel Secaucus Jersey City New York City Area. The Candlewood Suites Secaucus - Jersey City hotel is a member of Priority Club and the IHG family of brands which includes InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Hotel Indigo, Holiday Inn and Staybridge Suites hotels. Specialized in extended stay, the Candlewood Suites is perfect for government (per diem), project teams, training, relocation, temporary and corporate housing needs. The Candlewood Suites hotel is centrally located near NJ TNPK exit 15X, I-95 & Route 3. Our location offers near access to Newark, Jersey City and New York City. The Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel is minutes from Harborside Financial Center, Exchange Place, Newport Financial Center, Harmon Meadows Outlet Shopping, Panasonic, Meadowlands Xanadu, Izod Center, MLB Networks, UPS, Javits Center, Newark EWR Airport (15 miles) and Secaucus Train Station (5 minutes).The Candlewood Suites offers apartment like suites with all of the conveniences of home to suit your extended stay or short term real estate needs. Our pet friendly hotel (fee) offers studio and one bedroom apartment like suites featuring fully-equipped kitchens, spacious living and work area, 32' LCD TVs with DVD player and free Internet. Other features include meeting room, 24-hour business center, free laundry facilities, fitness center, courtyard with grills and our signature Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Secaucus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Secaucus Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Secaucus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.