We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best chain steak you can buy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steak House

Outback Steak House
Harmon Blvd, Secaucus, NJ
201-601-0077
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 71 Restaurants in Secaucus
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Secaucus, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best chain steak you can buy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This obviously is not going to compare to a place like Chris Ruths but for $12, it is the best steak you can buy in a restaurant. Fast service and a very well cooked steak.

We go here a lot.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    62
    29
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Staff not friendly except for one person working the Bar occasionally”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Seemed in total chaos each time I went in and was closed for about a month due to water main break. They felt I was doing them a favor for eating there instead of the other way around.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Outback Steakhouse, Secaucus, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

During our recent trip to NYC we were booked into a hotel one block from this restaurant. We had two excellent meals here. Be sure to order the carrot cake as it has to be the best we have ever had in all our travels. Prices are very reasonable and the steaks were done to perfection.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Another great experience at our favorite chain.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family enjoys Outback for the simple reason we like the level of service and food no matter what city/state the restaurant is in. After a long day in NYC we like knowing we will like the food we ordered. Although the place was busy, the time to wait was exactly what the hostess predicted for us. We had bar drinks while we waited. This Outback was more upscale decorated than others we have been to, but we were comfortable in our jeans/sneakers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Lots of Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I recently went to Outback for a dinner and usually this restaurant is on the ball. The service was very good, attentive and friendly but the food was lackluster chain food. I had babyback ribs that looked warmed over, the chicken appetizer touted as being wonderful looked sad as it was small little pieces of over fried chicken on a small plate. The Aussie Fries were burned on the top and the french fries on the entree were cold. Everything looked as if it were sitting under a heat lamp for a period of time. Most of the entrees in my party were lackluster as well as their plate presentations were poor at best and looking very over-cooked. The only good items were the coconut shrimp and onion blossom.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.