We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Another Chain Restuarant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Houlihan's

Houlihan's
700 Plaza Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094-3604
+1 201-330-8856
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 70 Restaurants in Secaucus
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Forget 'casual dining.' That's an industry term so out of touch with how consumers eat and drink today. For premium quality and style; fare that's at times familiar and other times adventurous and a laid-back modern setting, Houlihan's is a true original.
Benton, Arkansas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just Another Chain Restuarant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I wasn't totally impressed by this establishment. The waiter stood nearby when we arrived chatting it up with his buddy. After a five minute wait, he broke away to take our drink order. The only time he showed any enthusiasm was when handed me the check. The food is ok, your random chain restuarant food. Nothing to write home about.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Guest Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had a less then perfect experience at Houlihan' s in Secaucus. If I can be of assistance, please feel free to email me at
mgood58478@aol.com
We like to be able to make things right and any information that would help us get better would be great. Any information such as date, time and food ordered would be helpful so we can correct our opportunites.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    16
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow, Alaska
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Typical edible sit down chain restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We sat at the bar for lunch. Service was friendly and efficient, however on the impatient side. Food was standard chain restaurant food with huge variety. This should please the masses. Healthy option available as well. Atmosphere reminded us of the old-style Bennigan's. Management was courteous.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Guest Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. If I can ever assist you, please email me at
mgood58478@aol.com and I will get back to you promptly. Next time your in the area, come check out our new small plates menu and our new TV's in our bar and lounge.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food service a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Have been here several times over the last few months and the food is very good but the service is a lacking a bit.
We have tried the wings and things sampler platter which was very good, especially the stuffed mushrooms. Also had a Black & Bleu burger which was good and husband had the Smoked Bacon Cheeseburger which he said was also good.
We have also tried the French Dip which husband liked and I had the Fish Tacos which I thought were awesome.
Have also tried the NY Strip Steak which came with great tasting mashed potatoes and multicolored green beans. Steak would have been better but it was almost well done and I asked for it to be medium to rare.
The Stuffed Chicken is a great choice that also comes with the mashed potatoes and green beans.
Over all the food is great but as I said the service is lacking. We had a waiter who took forever to come to the table and then finally took our order and disappeared for what seemed like forever. Then when we were done eating, we had no time to try dessert because he took so long with everything else. We couldn't even find him to get the check when we were done and they were not even busy that day, there were barely any customers in there yet.
If the wait staff was trained a little better to pay more attention to the customers than standing by the kitchen talking and texting things would be perfect there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Guest Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Hi, thanks for your comments. We appreciate your business. I reviewed your comments and passed it along to the management team(without your personal information) so they can review and fix the opportunites at hand.
If you ever need anything, please feel free to ask for the General Manager Dennis Newell or email myself at
mgood58478@aol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location great food service was good, clean with outside patio area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

this place is adjacent to the hotel compex two minute walk from the Holiday inn surronded by shops , Dunkins and other small take out/sitdown fast food

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Guest Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We came hear right after a long flight from Las Vegas. Service was superb (thanks, Mike) and the food was great. We had a burger, a southwest chicken wrap, a fish taco and a French onion soup- All were delicious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex H, Guest Relations Manager at Houlihan's, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks for the nice comments. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houlihan's also viewed

 

Been to Houlihan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houlihan's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.