We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Times a Charm..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palm Inn to your Saves list
Desert Palm Inn
1505 N. Ocean Ave., Seaside Park, NJ 08752   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Rockland County, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“3 Times a Charm..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Love this motel! We stayed here for two nights with our 8 month old baby in July 2013. The location is perfect...you park your car and never need it again! You are steps away from the boardwalk and directly across from the ocean. The room was great, and accommodated the pack n play for the baby....I thought it was kept very clean and felt comfortable sleeping and showering with no issues. The staff are very professional and SO nice. The pool is fantastic, although they could have a few more chairs out there for the guests. Will always stay here when visiting Seaside Park!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    12
    4
    22
See reviews for
36
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Please don't fret previous reviews; this place has been re-mananged and renovated and has a great location on the beach. King rooms with jacuzzis and flat screens by the tub are amazing. Highly recommended - clean, affordable and friendly helpful staff! You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Large and Sunny Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed at each motel in Seaside Park and this past September my cousin booked the Dessert Palm. The "Tiki Bar" appealed to her. Well.... Upon entering the room and looking in the bathroom there was long hairs in the shower, sink and on the floor. I'm guessing this bathroom wasn't cleaned at all. This prompted me to shift the mattress over a little and there it was, little dark specks along the mattress seems and also on the box spring. These are signs of BED BUGS. This place is filthy, I'm not sure how anybody can say anything nice about this place besides its location. If you do decide to try this place make sure you check the mattress before you sit on or get in the beds. We didnt stay the night

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenham, New York, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in August and was very pleased. The motel was very clean and the owner very helpful. It is not easy to find a decent hotel on the Jersey Shore and the prices are very high. This motel was reasonable and right across from the beach......and at the end of the Seaside Heights boardwalk. We did not need our car at all...which is a real plus! The pool was sparkling clear and we enjoyed it very much. Another plus is that you are provided with beach badges. I would definitely go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Reasonable rates, very friendly staff, across the street from beach, 2 beach passes included, clean room, balcony (shared) has table & chairs for each room facing ocean, nice warm pool w/ lounge chairs (bring your own beach towels), and after checkout, you can use the amenities for the day. Everything we hoped for! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mertztown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

First off, we weren't going to stay here. My dad made reservations at the wrong hotel but that's another story. Where to start… the main door let light and a breeze through, door did not fit door frame. The shower was small and there was hair in it! I was the first one to take a shower! Same with the bath towels, the first one i grabbed had some yellowish orange color to it, the towel was suppose to be white, there was hair too. My little sister refused to sleep under the blankets or on the pillow because the first thing she saw was hair. Ugh. Hair was literally everywhere! My grandparents said that they stayed there once aswell and and they were not impressed either. The only good thing about the hotel(inn) was that it was right across the street from the beach enterance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed there this past weekend the weekend of Labor Day the busiest time of the year when summer comes to an end, It was our first time visiting the Desert Palm Inn and it was wonderful, the owner was very kind and generous and the rates were very reasonable for an ocean front motel you can walk right across the street and the Ocean is right there, free beach passes, free breakfast, tiki bar, heated pool, grill etc. the list goes on I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone we felt like home and were treated very well. Definitely plan on booking our trip next year and staying here again!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm Inn

Address: 1505 N. Ocean Ave., Seaside Park, NJ 08752
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Desert Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Hotel Seaside Park
Desert Palm Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.