We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palm Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palm Inn to your Saves list
Desert Palm Inn
1505 N. Ocean Ave., Seaside Park, NJ 08752   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DIRTY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here for a family trip and boy was I disappointed! Filthy bathroom, tiny shower, caulk and paint were peeling all over the walls, found food between the mattress and the box spring, door was so ill-fitting that we could see light and feel a breeze blow in the room, hairs were on the "clean towels," banged up furniture, huge crack in the bathroom door like someone had punched it, bugs all over the place, and on and on... DISGUSTING!!

It's almost like they didn't clean the room because there was hair on the floor, dead bugs on the sills, and the room just looked disheveled. Definitely not worth the price! I would recommend looking elsewhere because this place was just awful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dspinseaside1, General Manager at Desert Palm Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hi,
Dear Guest,
Thanks for your feedback in tripadvisor.We welcome honest criticism and use it as a tool to better serve for our new guests. Any complaints are always dealt with swiftly to make our guest experence as enjoyable as possible .

Thanks,
G.Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    12
    4
    22
See reviews for
36
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We've been taking short trips to Seaside for years, and have finally found a perfect spot! You have the advantage of cleaner and quieter beaches in Seaside Park, while only being a block away from the boardwalk. The rooms were nice and clean, and the heated pool was awesome. The owner was also very nice. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Desert Palm Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Hi,
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thanks for your feedback and comments for our Desert palm Inn, Our staff is working hard to give you much cleaner room for your stay. Once again Thanks so much.

Truelly.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Let me start by saying that I have been going here for the past 20 years since being a kid and never had one complaint about this hotel! The rooms ive always had were clean and very comfortable. All rooms have a microwave, mini fridge, small flat screen tv with few channels, but who's there to watch tv. The pool is very clean every day, even with the overcrowded people in it. All in all its a great place to go.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dspinseaside1, General Manager at Desert Palm Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Hi,
Dear Valued customer,
We are really appreciate for your review and feedback for our Ocean front motel. We are trying to give facilities as much as we can. Enjoy our free Bicycle rides in summer.
Thanks .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed with our 2 granddaughters (8&3) at the Desert Palm for one night the end of June 2011. Searched for a long time for a suitable place and finally settled on this one! The location was great - right across the street from the boardwalk and beach (they gave us beach badges for free, only had to pay deposit which was returned) and kitty corner from the amusement park. We walked everywhere. The room was OK - small for 4 people and the bathroom was very small and not in terrific shape. There seemed to be a lot of sand in the room, but understandable with the beach so close. When I checked in the front desk changed the location of our room when he saw the 2 young children, to keep us away from potential noise I think. There was a high school graduation group in several rooms by the pool, but they were well behaved and polite. Would I stay again? maybe....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Let me start by saying you will not find nicer more accomadating owners. We stayed the 2nd week after Labor day when things get a little slower.
I'll start with the negatives: The room had only a small stall shower which is very hard to clean up in. The bathroom itself is also a little tight. The TV although a flat screen could be a bit bigger. The window vertical blinds need to be cleaned and or changed. It would also be nice for stays of more then a few days if they had dressers to unpack your cloths. They only have small nightstands with 1 draw.
Now for the positives: As I started with the owners and everybody on property were very nice. They told us they set up a free breakfest every morning in the summer but because it was after labor day it was just on the weekends. It must have been a busy week because they set up breakfast every morning. Very nice set up for free. Coffee, juice, bagels, donuts & fresh make yourself waffles. What more can you ask for.
They have bikes you can use, a great heated pool, perfect location, plenty of parking, property is patroled all day and night.
Rooms are just the right size for a Jersey shore trip. Always clean, small fridge and TV, comfortable beds, rugs, nice view.
We would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed. Good view from the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I had stayed here once a little over 4 years ago (it was our first vacation together), and decided to go back to Seaside Park for our 1st anniversary.
Our first visit was a lot of fun, but with a pretty unimpressive room. It didn't come off as very clean either. But we figured we weren't spending much time in the room anyhow. All in all, at the end of that trip, we had a pretty good time, had no incidents and were treated nicely. All in all, we enjoyed the hotel. We decided if we'd go back to Seaside, we'd go back to the Desert Palm.
So fast forward about four years and we did just that. This time they had remodeled a bit. The room we got this time wasn't carpeted, and the bathroom was remarkably in better shape. I didn't go expecting it to turn into a 5 star hotel. The work they did looked nice.
When I was confirming our reservation prior to our stay, the manager wanted to make sure I knew we only reserved a double bed. I had told him it was adequate, as that was what we had when we stayed before. He seemed really happy to hear we were a returning customer. When we got to the hotel, they upgraded us to a King bed, which we didn't really need, but I thought it was a really nice gesture.
The room had a mini fridge, a microwave and a modest flat screen tv. They definitely made improvements, but it was still the same place we remembered.
You honestly can't beat the perks of this place. The beach badges, the morning breakfast (which is pretty low-key for the most part, but they do have waffles!) and the close proximity to the boardwalk and beach. Plus the pool was clean, which is a lot to say considering how often people were in it.
My best advice to people is to know what to expect. The hotels in this area aren't meant to be luxurious spacious rooms. They are simple rooms to put your stuff while you go enjoy the beach and a bed to sleep off the day's activities. I hope to return to Seaside Park again one of these days, and would stay here again. We've got some great memories here!
The only real downside was having to leave early in the morning, since Hurricane Irene was set to hit the weekend we were leaving. :(

Room Tip: Save the money and just get a regular room rather than the ocean view. The beach is super close, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We didn't expect much, having stayed in Seaside Heights in the past, but thought we'd try a hotel in Seaside Park. Although the room is quite small, it was clean and the bathroom looked like it was recently renovated. No carpeting was a plus! Great location, right across the street from the beach! Parking and badges included with stay as is a free breakfast served outside (bagels, donuts, waffles, coffee, orange juice).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palm Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palm Inn

Address: 1505 N. Ocean Ave., Seaside Park, NJ 08752
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Desert Palm Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palm Hotel Seaside Park
Desert Palm Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palm Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.