We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in seaside park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beach Motor Lodge

Island Beach Motor Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Beach Motor Lodge
Save Saved
You added Island Beach Motor Lodge to your Saves list
24th and Central Avenue, Seaside Park, NJ 08752   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Seaside Park
seaside park, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in seaside park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed here a couple of years ago. It was last minute so we could not get top floor suite with balcony. Even though it is not a luxury hotel, it was one of our favorite trips ever. Steps from private beach, next to island beach state park. Bars and restaurants right across the street. If you want to stay in seaside park, stay here. Book early so you can get bigger room. Great staff. Friendly and clean. Very reasonably priced. Wish I were going again this year!

Room Tip: Book early. Ask for second floor efficiency with private balcony. Even if you are just a couple. Sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
19
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

My husband and I are fans of visiting the shore in the off season. Less crowded. Prices are much better. We've stayed at this hotel many times, and will continue to do so. It is clean, the people who run are are extremely friendly and accommodating, and they have a private beach. Dawn works in the office and is very friendly and pleasant. She is a pleasure to speak with whether you are calling to make a reservation, or in person. Very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. There are two restaurants / bars right across the street that we love to frequent. If you are looking for a simple weekend getaway in the off season, this is definitely the place to go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leechburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

It was ok! Room was clean and comfortable! Parking and access to the rooms is not the best, if it were busy it would be a real mess. It was said it was a private beach but every time I tried to go fishing there were so many locals parked on the street end and on the beach fishing I had to pay to go into the Park to find a place to fish. They may enforce it for swimming but definitely not for fishing. Except for the people at Betty and Nicks Bait and Tackle most of the locals were not very friendly. You got the feeling they would like to see you leave!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've stayed at this motel many times. If you're looking for a 4 star motel, this isn't the one. However, consider these points:
1. This motel is right on the beach - a few steps to a private beach with an unobstructed view of Island Beach State Park.
2. This motel is clean. You never get the usual damp and musty smell at most shore motels.
3. You can walk to several great bars and restaurants (Ebby's for breakfast and lunch; Bum Rogers (most improved in the last few years), Berkeley Fish Market.
4. But most of all - the ladies who work in the office are terrific. They try to help you with all your requests. They are terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband (Mike) & I (Barbara) have traveled from North Jersey to stay at this motor lodge for many years. We enjoy the beach, atmosphere and staff here. As a matter of fact, there is one person that always makes my day when we get there. Her name is Dawn she is the receptionist at the motel. She is a pleasure to speak with on the phone & in person. She is informative on local events, restaurants or just local place to hang out. She takes the time to speak with you as she's answering the phone, making reservations and making you feel welcomed as she attends to it all.. Take time to meet Dawn I'm sure you'll feel the same way. It's the people (Dawn) that makes you want to come back....Can't say enough about 'er....:) C U Soon.... The Kelly's

Room Tip: I always want the 2nd story rooms b/c balconys face south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We LOVE Island Beach Motor Lodge. Island Beach State Park is our favorite stop along the Jersey Shore so this Lodge is perfectly located for us. The penthouse and oceanview rooms are the best by far. Who wouldn't want to wake up hearing and seeing the ocean? : )
Of coures Atlantic Bar and Grill is one of our all time favorite restaurants. Chef Mike and his staff is amazing!!! So glad he came back!

Room Tip: Penthouse or Oceanview rooms are the best, but no room will leave you disappointed. Dawn is always s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have to say, they only had 1 room left when we wanted to stay, so I expected the worst! If our room was their worst, then their best must be out of this world! Our room was very clean, everything worked, it smelled nice, and the bathroom was all in great working order. We are staying again, in the same room, for Labor day weekend!

Room Tip: We got the last room, and we thought it was a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beach Motor Lodge

Address: 24th and Central Avenue, Seaside Park, NJ 08752
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Island Beach Motor Hotel Seaside Park
Island Beach Hotel
Island Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Beach Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.