We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Seaside Heights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beach Motor Lodge

Island Beach Motor Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Beach Motor Lodge
24th and Central Avenue, Seaside Park, NJ 08752   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Seaside Park
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Better than Seaside Heights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

It is an average motel in a great location. Maybe even a little above average for the Jersey Shore. The beach is right next to the motel and the park is just down the road. The restaurants in the area are mainly so-so, but the restaurant attached to the motel is excellent...and expensive. It is dated and the cleanliness varies. Once when we stayed in the penthouse (great view of the ocean), our daughter stayed on the pull-out couch. She smelled something that we later found to be a baby bottle wedged into the couch. The last time we wanted to stay there one night they had a two-night minimum. We went by there and saw that they had vacancies. They could be a bit more flexible.

Room Tip: There are a number of rooms that have a great view. Ask for them. Once we didn't ask and ended u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
24
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I've been staying here off season for the past ten years. I always pay more to get an "ocean front room" which really is right on the sand dune facing the ocean. Off season, it's $90.00 but what a view, especially at sunrise! Rooms are dated but clean. They also have efficiencies.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Perfect location,steps from the beach, pool & restaurants.Away from the craziness of Seaside Heights. Beautiful private beach. Older seaside motel .Basic rooms need updating but suit the purpose...staff keeps place clean with friendly service.Perfect place to just relax on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

For location, this place is A+. Staff is friendly and efficient and it's only steps from pool, beach and very good restaurants. The rooms were disappointingly outdated, but for the age, the rooms were in very good condition and clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

My family and I have been staying here for 30 yrs ....it is very basic motel but there is just something about it that makes us come back yr after yr...what we like the most is the location a quiet south seaside park neighborhood, fresh fish restaurant across the street, private pristine beach attached to the state park.....the owners are slowly updating the facilities, it is simple and has easy access to the seaside heights boarwalk if you are looking for some fun.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It was a beach motel. We paid to stay in one of the "penthouse suites with a balcony that overlooked the beach". Room was clean but desperately needs updating and a new mattress. I am not a princess and the pea kind of woman but I gotta tell you that the first night I barely slept and the second night opted to layout in the recliner chair in the living room after an hour of trying to stay out of the well in the middle of the bed. The "balcony" is an area shared with the other 4 suites. It does overlook the beach which was very nice when you stood at the rail, however when you sat down, the airconditioners from the suites directly behind you drowned out the ocean and blew hot air on you. Not nice! The woman at the desk was very, very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanaque
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

we stayed there this year and cant wait to go back in the spring . the girls at the desk and the cleaning staff were great . we also had good subs at oceanside subs

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Beach Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beach Motor Lodge

Address: 24th and Central Avenue, Seaside Park, NJ 08752
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Seaside Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Island Beach Motor Hotel Seaside Park
Island Beach Hotel
Island Beach Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Beach Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Island Beach Motor Lodge to your Saves list