We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“garlic crabs still yummy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bum Rogers

Bum Rogers
2207 SW Central Avenue, Seaside Park, NJ 08752
7328302770
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 30 Restaurants in Seaside Park
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Pub, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bum Rogers, spanning five decades, has been a unique, specialty house restaurant and the communal, spirit-lifting watering hole of the indigenous and migrating young and young-at-heart.We, the Bum Rogers Family and staff, continue to be dedicated to the proposition that you came to this place to have a good time, eat heartily, and depart feeling better than before.
thornhurst
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“garlic crabs still yummy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

still love the garlic crabs at bums. wish they could cozy up the atmosphere a bit. been coming here for years..I asked for a bottle of house wine and they said they were out. the next choice bottle was $10 more. they said the *found* one..lo and behold the screw top was already open.hmmm .i didnt complain. I went for the great crabs....but.....really?!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    23
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Grand Opening was Indeed Grand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stopped in on Friday evening, 14 June 2013, to be surprised by a festive Grand Opening. My wife and I had a great time mixing with a congenial, mostly local crowd that reinforced our opinion that Bum Rogers is a pleasant and well-run establishment. Our food and drinks were delicious! The staff was attentive and friendly! The premises including the bathrooms were spotless! The crowd was enthusiastic and enjoyable. I liked the separation between the main dining room and the bar as well as the front entrance accessing both. According to other customers, the new owners have made significant improvements all of which indicate many will return and word-of-mouth compliments will quickly spread. You can be sure the next time we're at the Jersey Shore we will return to Bum Rogers to sample more of the extensive menu and congenial ambiance.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent garlic crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fantastic garlic crab & very casual for such a good food restaurant, excellent service. We come here every year from the uk and always visit bums & even though it has changed hands it is. Still as good as ever

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Grand opening visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We went to the grand opening this weekend of Bum Rogers. I have not been there for quite some time. Went down the shore for Father's Day weekend and was curious to see the grand opening signs. We found out it is under new management and decided to try it out. We had a great time! The food was great!! I had the garlic crabs and they were better than I remember. My husband had crab cakes and I ended up trying those too! We ended up the night by the bar hanging out and listening to some really good live band. Overall the staff was really friendly and accommodating. Service was quick and the place was clean. I am looking forward to more visits to the shore and to Bum Rogers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent on every aspect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The new owners, Gary and Jerry have done a fine job of cleaning this place up! We are staying within walking distance and have been twice so far this week and plan on going again before we leave. Food is excellent, portions are large, people are friendly and service is great! Definitely check it out!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bum Rogers also viewed

Seaside Park, Jersey Shore
Seaside Park, Jersey Shore
 
Seaside Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Bum Rogers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bum Rogers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.