We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than some other motels in Seaside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Motel & Apartments

Metropole Motel & Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Metropole Motel & Apartments
Save Saved
You added Metropole Motel & Apartments to your Saves list
600 West Central Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 hotels in Seaside Heights
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Better than some other motels in Seaside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

First, to be honest, I haven't stayed there, but my son and some of his friends have on several occasions so this is a combined review. My husband and I wanted to book the Metropole, but we couldn't remember the name or location and couldn't reach my son, so we ended up booking a motel down the street, what a mistake! Since we couldn't get our deposit back from our motel, we stopped at the Metropole to see the rooms for ourselves and we're sorry we didn't stay there. Their pool is in the courtyard, not in the parking lot, so bonus points right there! Rooms have kitchette, bathrooms small. I spoke with the owner and the manager, both very nice. Clean and basic. I would stay there in the future.
My son and his friends stayed there a couple of times in 2012, before Sandy. Their only complaints were the bathrooms were small, one of the bathrooms needed some repairs, but still completely usable. The pots in the kitchenette needed to be washed before using (I would do this anyway). Management was nice, made sure everyone heard the rules and agreed to before checking in. They had a great time.
p.s. I like the retro sign, but I found it a little deceiving, it made me think the place was very old and run-down, but it is not at all. From what I saw they recovered from Sandy nicely.

Room Tip: Second floor is probably better and perhaps not right outside the pool area since it is a small cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Despite the limited activities in Seaside due to Hurricane Sandy we had a great time. Staff was extremely friendly and knowledgable of the area. I was able to entertain my children for our entire week long stay. The rooms were clean, the pool was inviting and our overall experience was really good from reservations, to check in and check out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I had a great time! The manager was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and well cared for, It's only 2 blocks to the boardwalk and the beach. There are several restaurants in the area that are excellent. I also stayed 2 nights this year for St Patrick's day, and had no problems at all. Looking forward to comming back again for 4th of July 2012.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011 via mobile

I'm here because I have no choice. I'm waiting for my apartment to be ready. Cops came here to ask me about another person staying here. I have a baby here and I don't feel safe. The person who works in the office is nasty and rude. He yells at me and makes me feel like I'm in jail. He makes me uncomfortable. The whole office wreaks of marijuana. Not a safe place to have a child. Also there is water that leaks all over the floor. I asked if they can fix it and they said that there is nothing they can do about it. That's just great.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

I called this motel in advance to reserve a room and find out prices. When I called I said I had 4 people for one night and he offered me the room for $200 including tax; checkout would be at 11am. When I showed up at this hotel however, he swore he said on the phone the price was $275, and that I had said only 2 people would be staying. Only after hearing me tell my friends we'd find another place did he revert the price to the original $200. The next morning he banged on the door at 10:15am and yelled at me for not checking out at 10am. I told him he had said checkout was at 11, and he said "oh... fine then" and stormed off. The beds felt like a hardwood floor, the pillows reeked of vomit, the corners of the room had spiders in them, and ironically the soaps were obviously stolen( they said the Borgata on them). I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

nasty is the 1st thought comes to mind thank god WE packed OUR Own cleaning products it's sad that the soap they provided was from the moheagen sun HA HA but, lets get to the issues on hand other then the parlor floors being NEW there wasn't anything great about the place the kitchen was HORRIBLE/DIRTY it looked like it wasn't cleaned in yrs... the cupboards were greasy, pots and pans left in the stove that looked like they haven't been washed in 40 yrs.. the kitchen table was wobbly, the chairs looked like they had black mold on them and lets not get started on the bathroom naww wait lets go there the SHOWER head was GROSS we made then change it the walls and celining looked like someone blew snots all over the place and prob hasnt seen a painbt brush in yrs but they say they painted recently.. the TV stand was broken and NO remote.. onto the bedroom - the headboards were NOT connected to the beds (not right)
3 sofa beds HAHAHA 2 of them were BROKEN it's sad when the HELP brings you sheets to put on the couches because they were TOOO LAZY to clean them... lets go onto the woman who was at the front desk... RUDE unpleasent and REALLY made us feel like we were a BURDEN... wait aren't they suppose to be friendly NOT b/c the owner/mgr vinny wasnt nice he was RUDE RUDE RUDE and makes more noise then my 1 yr old obtw so much for the NO PETS allowed he had some chick over with two dogs who woke us up one morning along with the stomping on the floors... forget out getting TOWLES in the morning or clenaing the place because we had to do that OURSELVES.. ohh the fire alarms were connected wrong and the TOP apt doesn't have any in there safe REAL safe they are lucky there wasn't a fire because if anything ever happened to my FAMILY i would OWN the place... so for future beach lovers STAY AWAY and KEEP LOOKING.... good LUCK

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Unless things have changed in a years time, I would never recommend staying here. The website does wonders for selling. When I arrived with my 3 children, the room was filthy. There was hair in the drain of the shower and the rooms didn't even look like they were cleaned. I had them show us mulitple rooms and each one was more disgusting than the next. We had to stay the night, until I found a clean hotel. They were not friendly and not helpful at all. If I can save one family from making the mistake of staying there, i will. The White Pearl was wonderful and clean!!!

  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Motel & Apartments

Address: 600 West Central Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 hotels in Seaside Heights
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Motel & Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.