We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spicy's Mexican Cantina

Spicy's Mexican Cantina
500 Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
732-793-0612
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Toms River, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Rather pedestrian Mexican food with a so-so beer selection. Typical of the Seaside boardwalk-- I mean what do you expect, fine dining?

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    23
    5
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

great priced drinks and good food!!! They had great music, and a huge bar area. Good Margaritas!!!! Out of all the bars on the boardwalk this one was the best!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great food, large drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

the only thing wrong with this place was the lack of air conditioning. IT WAS HOT!! other than that we enjoyed our time at this restaurant. friendly staff, great food and wonderful environment.

they did tell us we could call ahead for our group but when we got there they didnt even take down our name. none-the-less great time!


great food
great alcohol
wonderful service!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice view, food ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Pretty good Mexican food served in a great setting if you're lucky enough to get a seat on the outside deck. Overlooking the boardwalk and ocean, diners can people watch or get a nice panoramic view of the beach and pier amusements while eating.
Chicken fajita was served piping hot. Quesadilla served with rice and refried beans was fresh. Pricing is about what is to be expected in a popular beach area.
I would try it again, but wouldn't rush to do so.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We have two young grandsons and they do not eat Mexican food. The boys enjoyed soft pretzels ( which we brought in) while we enjoyed our dinner. The boys were also given a goody bag even though we did not order any food for them.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicy's Mexican Cantina also viewed

Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
 
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Spicy's Mexican Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spicy's Mexican Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.