We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad but not worth price paid” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Motel

Thunderbird Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thunderbird Motel
Save
You added Thunderbird Motel to your Saves list
132 Kearney Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Toronto, Canada
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“not bad but not worth price paid”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just returned from a week at Seaside heights .The thunderbird motel was very clean , close by to everything, boardwalk, beach, grocery store ,highway.It would of been nice if they had free wifi as its not always convenient to walk 2 blocks up to the mcdonlads for the free wifi. Also I found that the kitchen could of used more counter space maybe put the microwave on a shelf to create more counterspace.\ no ice machine so you have to make your own ice
\
there was no towel bar in washroom, most of the time there was nobody at reception, room is very dated. did not clean rooms you had to take out your own garbage.


The Good;

good location close to beach
friendly staff when they were around
clean rooms
had satalite tv for little one since there wasnt any kids to play with
kitchenette very helpful with keeping cost down
beds were ok a bit stiff

Room Tip: good for people on a tight budjet with older kids . i compare this motel to a travelodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    8
See reviews for
8
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My two friends and I stayed in this motel for 5 nights. The staff was very welcoming and friendly and they did everything to make us feel relaxed. There were great facilities in the room and it was spacious enough for 4 people to share. Good shower with immediate hot water. Air conditioning was a little loud but that is a minor point! Took about 4 minutes to walk to the board walk and about the same to McDonalds (for free wi-fi) and the supermarket. Really saved money by using the cooker in the motel room to cook our own lunch and tea. They provided us with new pots, pans, cutlery and crockery which was great. It's certainly not a five star experience but you get what you pay for! I'd recommend for those on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

a good value run by great people. Family place where you can relax if the mood strikes you walk 2 blocks to the chaos. close to everything.

Rusty and Gretchen were also good folks to sit and talk with.

Room Tip: no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Not only was the stay comfortable and relaxing, the service was incredible and the location was perfect for a awesome weekend at the jersey shore! I am definitely coming back next weekend! The rooms were clean and on hot days its nice to come back to just hang out with family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

My sister and I traveled from Michigan to Seaside for the weekend (July15th-17th, 2011). Our room was perfect for us - much more than we were expecting. We loved the kitchen, fridge, and balcony. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly! I felt like they really cared about us and were looking out for us at all times. I hope we make it back to Seaside next summer and if we do we will most definitely be staying at the Thunderbird!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed there with my 4 children. We had such a great time this will be a "home away from home" for us in the summer. The rooms were very clean & tidy! Highly recommend this cozy stay at the shore! The owners were on the grounds which shows their dedication to making our stay perfect! I am booking for next summer today!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

First of all, it took 4 calls to even book a room - first try, someone's mother answered the phone and couldn't help us, second try the person who answered was in her car and couldn't help us, third try got voice-mail, fourth try finally was able to book. At no point did they ever offer to call me back to save me the expense of a long-distance call. Perhaps this was an omen.

Once we finally got there, the place was a bit of a let-down. We are budget-conscious family travelers that have stayed in our share of mom and pop hotels and chains, but the Thunderbird seems to have missed "motel 101" course for the basics, the list of annoyances was long...
- no pool. Not a huge deal when you're a few blocks from the beach but sometimes it's nice for the kids to be able to swim in the evening. Pretty much every other hotel in the area has a pool.
- got a room with a kitchen to save ourselves some money on meals, but the kitchen was unusable - 1 chair, tiny table occupied by microwave so it was unusable, no dishes or cutlery (I believe their site does say this, but who travels with dishes and pots & pans?), no dish towel or cloth
- no garbage can in kitchen, no waste-paper basket in bathroom or room = garbage accumulating in bags everywhere
- no toilet paper holder in bathroom, toilet paper just sitting around on floor or counter therefore getting wet
- no towel racks or hooks anywhere - four people with bath towels, beach towels and bathing suits meant wet stuff hanging on every available surface
- no counter space in bathroom which makes it pretty hard to use with 4 people, and since there are no towel racks or hooks anywhere, the towels were on the back of the toilet, the only usable space we would have had in the bathroom
- bathroom door didn't close or latch, best you could do was hold it with your foot while you were using the toilet
- air conditioner sounded like a small airplane flying by and woke us up every time it came on, meaning very poor sleep, and it came on a lot, seemed to barely be able to keep the room at a comfortable level
- the hotel felt like you were intruding in someone's home at times, there were always people sitting out in the parking lot etc., one night we had people chatting right outside our window until 2am

Beds were OK, room was relatively clean, the staff were OK, the women seemed to be annoyed if you asked for anything, the guy (owner) was friendly and helpful. Location isn't bad, a couple of blocks from the beach, close to a big drug store, restaurants etc.

I would consider staying there again but would definitely consider my options and try to find something either similar but cheaper, or nicer for the price. In comparison we stayed in Manhattan a few days later in an amazing suite that cost the same price as this motel. Maybe Seaside Heights motels over-charge, or maybe we just got overcharged by this one. After reading all the positive reviews I was surprised at how negative our experience turned out to be at the Thunderbird. We found ourselves taking notes of other places in the area to consider next time.

Room Tip: There really isn't a good room here, they all face the parking lot and the various people hangin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thunderbird Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Motel

Address: 132 Kearney Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly...meet old, new friends atmosphere...the majority of our rooms feature full kitchens...off street parking...American owned and operated. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.