We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience every year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Motel
Save Saved
You added Sunset Motel to your Saves list
56 Webster Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Croydon, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great experience every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Been vacationing in Seaside Heights for 40 years, and find the Sunset Motel to be the most accommodating. Staff is very friendly, and always willing to help. Great room with a view of the ocean, very clean and comfortable. The full kitchen saves me money on meals every trip. Close proximity to the beach and boardwalk. The free beach tags come in handy as well. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    0
    1
    15
See reviews for
8
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Mu husband, my son (9months) and I just stayed here. Absolutely amazing..rooms are very clean, the staff is very outgoing n friendly. She made sure our stay was wonderful. Our room was a double bed full kitchen dinning living room combo, definitely worth it. Its only 2blocks from the board walk. We are staying here again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

First off, me and my friends came down in separate cars and since my one friend and I got there early, we were in our room a few hours earlier then expected so that was awesome! Susan is the nicest person and it was a pleasure staying there. She handled a slight problem that we ran into with other visitors there and it was taken care of. Such a convenient place to stay, only a block from the beach and even better we felt very welcomed and at home. In fact me and some other friends will be down to stay in a few weeks! I hope you liked the meatballs! -Blondie in 211

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great hotel, very helpful, Susan was a doll, couldn't ask for a better place to stay! My grandchildren loved it! Susan was the best, she had the room clean and cool for us .I
recommend this hotel to everyone! We loved our stay and know you will too!

Room Tip: First floor is great for children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

A group of friends and myself booked 3 rooms at this motel around February 2014 for the weekend after prom which just passed this June 2014. When booking the motel we spoke to the previous managers Anne and John. They were the nicest people we have ever met and helped use with absolutely everything possible. They made us feel very at home and made sure we knew they would keep us safe and comfortable. The managers at the time fully explained the motels rules and also took a copy of the person who was signing for the rooms ID's. The total for the deposit and the final payment was being put on one debit card so that information was also taken. It was also understood that there had to be atleast one 18 year old in each of the rooms, which our group had more than just 1 per room. Lastly we were told we would recieve 1 parking spot per room. As the months passed we were not informed of the new management and when we finally got to the motel at 3 in the morning after prom, we met the new rude, vulgar manager. First we found out by the manager we were only allowed the parking spot on a first come first serve basis. She also informed us that every single person in each room needed a form of ID which we also were not aware of. We had more than the total amount left to pay on the debit card but the transaction would not go through. We all tried to put the money together even though we were all exhausted from just leaving prom, to driving all down the parkway, and everyone just wanted to sleep in the rooms we had booked. We offered the lady to hold the debit card till the bank opened, which was only a couple hours away, so then we could go withdraw the complete amount to give to her. Although she already had this information on file, she still would not assist us in anyway. She was very snappy and seemed very restless. Her son was also there who was trying to calm her and he did seem to understand our situation a little better. In the end while we were trying to get the money together the debit card was charged $240 which still has not been refunded. Our whole group ended up driving around Seaside looking for another place to sleep. We finally ended up staying at Surfside Motel which ended up saving us money, having a way nicer, proffesional manager, more than enough parking, and a pool! I really wish Anne and John were still there because with them I am 100% sure none of this would have happened, our prom weekend would have been great, and we all would have definitely went back. We got kicked out before we even checked in. THE WORST MOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Brook, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The woman who assisted us was very friendly and personable. We were able to check in an hour early and she also gave us dinner recommendations. The room was amazing. Very, very clean as well as aesthetically pleasing. I've never felt so at home at a hotel/motel before. Thanks for everything! We will be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

John and Anne are the most caring people, on the planet, the room was spotless i will be going back wonderful wonderful there is no other word but wonderdul even their son Sirpatrick is a wonderful caring person my son made a friend for life !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 56 Webster Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.