We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ion a budget family friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Motel
Save
You added Sunset Motel to your Saves list
56 Webster Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“ion a budget family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

there was a total of 10 of us who stayed at the motel within 3 rooms. it was very clean and comfortable sure its not the ritz but for our budget it was great we had 4 children running around and it was family friendly.which is a plus for us. the rooms have a kitchenette which was also a plus when your on a budget. staff was great they were friendly and very accommodating to our needs. they were able to help us find our way around the neighborhood,since we are not from jersey. we were there for a whole weekend friday to sunday late afternoon, ok no tv remote so what not there to watch tv anyway, no biggie rooms were ice cold ac worked great!! its close to beach,clubs,waterpark, grocery store,boardwalk all close everything within walking distance.the motel also accoomidated 3 vehicles. and got to see pauli D and dina from the jersey shore!! filming!!! we had no complaints!! will definetly stay there again!! (The castro's)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    0
    1
    15
See reviews for
8
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Rooms were filthy, old vomit in bathroom, stains on carpets and beds, odor was almost unbearable. We had six people, only two towels, two pillows, no sheets on third bed, we were told they only provided what we had. People were very rude and disgusting, asking us to leave a tip for the maid (what a joke). We stayed one night (our 1st mistake), we left the next day were told we would get refunded for one night, that never happened and out credit card company (Bank of America) sided with the Sunset Motel. Needless to say we are no longer doing business with Bank of America. My daughter was six months pregnent and this place was a health hazard to say the least. The business card says clean and comfortable, again what a joke. This place puts a bad name on the Jersey Shore, and I would never stay in Seaside Heights again. I would visit the shore again, but stay somewhere else, like Tom's River, NJ. It was very nice at the Quality Inn.

Room Tip: Don't book any room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpan P, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
We have taken all complaints into account over the course of the years and have finally decided to do a complete renovation of the property internally and externally. The interior renovations are now completed and ready for renting. Exterior renovations have begun and will carry through spring of 2012. NEW management has been put in place as well. We apologize to all previous guests for the disappointing services, amenities, and especially the management and attitude. We as owners understand that our level of standards and the hospitality that was received was everything short of what our guest deserved. We are striving to change these negative views of our property. Please come visit us again or for the first time, while keeping in mind that our property is completely renovated from top to bottom inside and out with most importantly new, friendly, and respectable management. We encourage everyone to continue to check our website to keep in touch with our new photos and progress of the renovation efforts to better suit our guest. Our ultimate goal is to provide a new and improved guest experience that is nothing short of astonishing, relaxing, enjoyable, and hassle free.

Thank You,
Sunset Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed at the sunset motel for 3 nights, me and my boyfriend. This place is disgusting. The staff consists of toothless, dirty nasty looking people who are equally rude and unprofessional. The room was so outdated and dirty looking, the toilet didn't flush properly, there was no tv remote and were never told we could "rent" one from the office. The room was never cleaned once the whole time we were there, we weren't offered new towels or anything. On our second night there I was startled by someone pounding on the door screaming. My boyfriend was in the shower I wasn't opening the door to some strange weird looking man but he wouldn't go away. I got him out of the bathroom we opened the door and this "security" guy got real nasty and was cursing at us!? He told us people were drinking outside of our room (it was just us and we weren't outside nor were we drinking) then he said we were expecting two other people in our room which we were not. they clearly do not have their act together, they have no idea how to run a business or be professional at all. Probably the final straw came Saturday which was my birthday and I wanted to go to a nearby restaurant but couldn't because if we moved our car out of the parking spot we realized when we got back we would be stuck unable to park because there is not enough parking spots for the amount of rooms. According to the trashy toothless woman who works there it's " because Mexicans built the lot and didn't do it right" WTF?!
Seriously? We decided just to walk everywhere instead which was sort of annoying. I was glad actually when Sunday came and it was time to check out, we couldn't get out of there fast enough which is sad because everything else about the trip was great. The weather, the location, it was a really fun time away from the room. Bottom line I would never ever ever stay here again! Next time we definitely will spend a little more to get more, don't get sucked in by the low rate. You get what you pay for, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albrightsville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This place was a dump, and some of the previous reviews were accurate. It was actually so bad, it was funny. It was clean, and there were no bugs. The room did not smell, even though it was obvious by the ashtray on the nightstand that it was a smoking room. The staff were odd, but very pleasant. Nothing wrong with being a little backwards, I guess. They were incredibly accommodating to my very late, then even later, and later yet check-in. I ended up getting there 4 1/2 hours later than my original late check-in time. The security guard not only sat in the parking lot, but "saved" our parking spot and checked in frequently when we were outside or leaving the room to be sure none of the young kids staying near us were being too loud. They were not. Some of the bad points: there was no light bulb in the lamp. Only overhead lighting. The bathroom was very small. The place needs an over-haul; it's run down. But it was a clean place to stay a half a block from the beach and a night club. Do not expect toiletries or daily cleaning, apparently you need to ask to have the room cleaned, but i'm not sure. We only stayed 2 nights. I've stayed in some very nice hotels at the beach and in PA, so this was a bit of a shock for me. There are some strange things, such as having to pay a $10 refundable deposit for the tv remote, and "free" beach passes require a $40 refundable deposit. The security guard told us how to turn on the tv without the remote. There is free WiFi, and we recieved the password, but the staff had no clue what cable to log onto. I guess that's how they get around guests not using it. I don't think i would stay there again, but it was a typical Seaside Heights dumpy motel. We had a great time, though.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Filthy, smelly, had to pay for a remote for the tv, reeked of cigarette smoke, stained dirty toilet, pathetically thin towels and wash cloths,need I go on? Cheap rate in comparison to others in the area? Absolutely...you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Me and my friends came here for prom , the owners were very kind and helpful. They let us do our own thing and did not bother us. The room was not to bad for the price. If you dont cause much disruption and wear your wrist bands you wont be bothered. I had a good time and would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010 via mobile

Six of us were here for labor day weekend and after reading reviews we were nervous for what we would encounter. When we got here they didn't have our reservations but we were accommodated quickly and were given a room before the check in time. Our room was a standard cheap motel room with two beds a pull out couch and kitchenette. I went to check for bed bugs and found the mattresses were wrapped in plastic and the sheets were clean. The service was awesome, the owners wife brought us up a bag for recycling and told us about the continental breakfast and said we could come get more towels whenever we wanted. It was a two minute walk from the beach and a one minute walk from club karma. We would definitly recommend this hotel to anyone and would come back again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 56 Webster Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.