We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel, some "be awares"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Motel

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sunrise Motel
202 Blvd, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Suffern
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice motel, some "be awares"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a nice, clean beach motel. The management are pleasant and helpful. The rooms are nice and seem to have been updated. Beds are comfortable. Bathroom is nice. We had two double beds and a pull out sofa available to us. One free parking spot available.

The stay includes two beach tags with the room and if more needed then must purchase.

No Internet available.

The room includes a stove, refrigerator, microwave. Unfortunately the kitchen is not equipped with dishes or pots, pans, utensils so it was a disappointment.

Breakfast passes are included daily but be aware that they are only good in two places. One place is a small restaurant open til noon. This place was decent but we had to wait a hlf hour for a table and the vouchers were really a three dollar discount per person off menu prices. The other place was more of a deli and again you pay for anything beyond a basic egg and cheese on roll with a medium drink.

One strong caution. This motel is directly across the street from a nightclub. The music blares loudly until four am and makes sleep difficult. The club has an outdoor deck with music and speakers blaring until close. It was awful. The club is not open every night which is a good thing. Saturday night was he'll, Sunday night was quiet. I understand this club is open on Friday and Saturday and perhaps Wednesday. Beware! The crowd hanging out could be rowdy too and the motel keeps a posted security guard downstairs. This club detracts from the designated family billing of the motel.

The pool, sun deck and outdoors are nicely kept and pleasant. The beach and boardwalk are just a block away.

Room Tip: Motel has three levels and stairs up to the rooms. Third floor has no outdoor seating. Sun deck on 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    29
    11
    4
    23
See reviews for
106
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Jervis, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed at the Sunrise this past weekend. Booked a standard room which was clean, had a small fridge and stove. I ran into an issue with my hot water in my room and paul the night manager apologized and told me it may take him an hour or so to fix the issue so he upgraded me to the suite!! Well let me tell you this.....The suite was excellent and would be considered a great motel room anywhere, but in Seaside it's the Best I've ever seen. The suite is more money but well worth the it. I am very happy with the service I recieved and will be more than happy to stay with them again. R. Card

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roebling, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We just got back from a weekend stay at the Sunrise Motel. We were very skeptical about staying in the heights. Heard nightmare stories about the hotels. This hotel was very nice. It was clean, owners were so friendly. If you needed anything, they made sure you were taking care of. Everything is in walking distance, Pool was great. They give you coupons for breakfast every morning...Ryans deli has awsome food. I would recommend staying here. We are so looking forward for another weekend get away. We found our new vacation spot. See you soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have stayed at the Sunrise motel for a total of 10 years, this is a beach motel you stay in for your summer vacation I never seen the Sunrise Motel advertise as the Ritz In New York, these people who vote this place a one Star have no as in zero clue what there talking about. Let me tell you something about Jeff and Paul " Top Notch " and there cleaning staff is very nice as well. Last ear I pick a week where not only did we have a Earthquake but at the end of the week the county Office of Emergency Management ask people to leave for Hurricane Irene which came through NJ as a Tropical Storm anyway we left and went home with another week of vacation to go when we return I ask Jeff since we lost 3 threes could we stay an extra three days and he said without hesitation " YES " no only did he let us stay put he said we could even park my wifes car in there lot as no charge. These people who give the motel one star do everyone a favor and go to Point Pleasant and stay at the Sand Pebble for 300 dollars a night and they give you squat for any extra's Thanks Jeff and Paul for a job well done !!!!! See you soon !!

Room Tip: If going for summer vacation " Book Early "
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was our first trip to the Sunrise Motel and I have to say it was very clean for a Seaside heights Motel. Outside chairs and pool area in excellent condition. Parking area well lit at night. only a block walk to the boardwalk and beach. within walking distance to everything you would need, so you dont even need to move your car at all. Very pleased with the condition of the room and the fact it had a refrigerator-most in seaside do not. Room was clean - what more do you need!! oh and the a/c worked very well too.

Room Tip: room not facing main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our 5th trip to the Sunrise. This time we stayed the entire week Sun-Sat. We had to experience the weekend for ourselves. As for the Bamboo club our son is 11 and couldn't hear the noise, slept right through it! It is a great view from the top floor. An elevator would be nice but who couldn't use the exercise. See you guys next year!

Room Tip: Top floor is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Spa, New York, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Sunrise apartment was like your first apartment on the first day you moved in. stayed in apartment suite on thrid floor which is suposed to accommadate four people. the livingroom had only a small couch and old tv and no decoration, the bathroom has no where to put your stuff,the kitchen is missing doors and has nothing in it. no pots,pans ,silverware coffeemaker,plates nothing.the pool is small and only 4 foot deep. the free breakfast is a coupon worth about 3 bucks.

Room Tip: dont stay in apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motel

Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel
Sunrise Hotel Seaside Heights
Sunrise Motel Seaside Heights
Address: 202 Blvd, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside Heights
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
#2 Family Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunrise Motel in Seaside Heights is owned and operated by the Loundy family, who have been welcoming vacationers to the Jersey Shore since 1932. The motel features efficiency suites and luxury suites, accommodating couples and families up to 6 people per room! Our efficiency suites have 2 double beds, a sofa-bed or futon, and a kitchenette. Our luxury suites have 2 queen beds, a full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi tub, and living room with sofa-bed or futon. We are located less than a block from the boardwalk for easy access to the beach, rides, games, and amusements. Our property features a beautiful pool, expansive 150 foot sundeck, free WI-FI, free parking, BBQ grills, and cable TV in each room. All of our rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is permitted in all outdoor areas. During the summer season we also include 2 free badges with each room and free breakfast each morning at a choice of two local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.