We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but a good value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontana Motel

Save Saved
You added La Fontana Motel to your Saves list
La Fontana Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Fontana Motel
135 Grant Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 43 hotels in Seaside Heights
2 reviews
“Not great, but a good value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend decided to come down for a weekend. This was one of the most affordable places. Man at the counter was extremely nice and helpful. We are here after the season is over though, so it's not as if there were a ton of people to care for... The room is spacious, has a mini fridge, kitchen sink, and working microwave. The room was not the cleanest, but our sheets and mattress seemed pretty good. There were towels provided and they looked and smelled clean. The shower, toilet and sink look pretty old but were servicable. Location is wonderful- it's close to everything. If the room was a bit cleaner this place would have been a four star for me.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    1
    1
    12
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I went to Seaside Heights for the day and decided to spend the night. It was 4th of July weekend so prices were higher than usual and we called around for the best rates. On our way to the one we had chosen we stumbled across La Fontana. BIG MISTAKE!!!! At first quick glance didn't seem too bad but as soon as you start to really look around...EWWWW!!
Old, outdated, unsafe, and down right rude. Oh and let's not forget to mention the nasty pool!
Where the sink and refrigerator area meet the bedroom area there was a tack strip separating the carpet from tile. My heel scraped across two of the nails and slashed the bottom of my foot. When we went to management we were told that they have insurance and to contact our lawyer!! REALLY!! WOW!
Highly unrecommended.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This place was terrible! I will never stay here again. The room was large but dusty and dirty. I couldn't put my feet in the tub. No extra toilet paper no cups, paper towels, ice machine, no washclothes. Suffice it to say it was a dump. The pool forget it. Dirty & old. Stayed on top floor didn't even have a real window or balcony. Oh and the grill by the pool was broken with no gas even. Don't bother you will regret it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Let me explain my caption for this hotel. If you are traveling to Seaside Heights with your wife or family? this is NOT the hotel you want to check-in to. This hotel has been the venue/ host for soo much college kid parties, that the rooms are permanetly vandelized by cirgeratte burns on the furniture & extremely bad carpet stains. The fridge in my room did NOT work and ONLY 1 of 4 outlets worked inside the room. If you are a young college kid between the ages of 18-22? this room is MORE than big enough & PERFECT to have parties in. Basically this hotel is perfect for the young crowd, because they can trash the room without any worries because the hotel rooms are ALREADY TRASH!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

So me and my family wanted to try Seaside Heights. I have two little girls ages 2 and 1. I read the reviews but told myself it really can't be that bad. It was the only place with rooms available so we tried it. Got there and there was the little Indian dude at the counter the reviews talked about. We paid for the room and got our key. The steps leading upstairs to the room were slanted and covered in bird poop. We got to our door and opened it.... I couldn't believe what I saw. This room was right out of a horror movie. Room was dirty and smelled horrible. I wouldn't even let my kids down on the carpet or sit on the beds. I looked at the back of our door and the wall and swear that there was blood splatters all over them. The floor had a huge stain that looked like blood also. Told my wife to put the kids back in the car and went back to the office. M y wife went in and snapped. She said she was calling the police and the better business bureau. He said he would refund over money but kept a 50 dollars cancellation fee. Didn't care just wanted to get out of there. I would of gave it minus stars but you can't. People don't ever stay here even if you can't find a room anywhere stay in your car first....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Pocono
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

Rooms are DISGUSTING!Very unprofessional staff/owner.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

My friends and I had a very good time of relaxing at this motel. The rooms were big enough for a few of us; they have 2 beds, TV, heat, and refrigerator, microwave all of that. We stayed here and really enjoyed it. The people working at the front desk were nice and very helpful. It's also only a couple blocks from the beach/boardwalk so we didn’t have to go far to have fun on the beach. Overall, our stay here was outstanding. Also the price is reasonable and what we got was free breakfast coupons. I strongly recommend, this is the right place to stay in seaside heights.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Sea Palace Inn
Sea Palace Inn
#13 of 43 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / ...
#10 of 43 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#8 of 43 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#4 of 43 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#2 of 43 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Magnuson Hotels...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Dry Dock Motel
Dry Dock Motel
#19 of 43 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fontana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fontana Motel

Address: 135 Grant Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 43 hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Fontana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fontana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontana Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.