We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights at the Hershey with the in-laws” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Motel

Save Saved
You added Hershey Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hershey Motel
1415 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“3 nights at the Hershey with the in-laws”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beginning the week of 8/21, My wife & I and the in-laws, had 2 rooms on the first floor across from the game room. Initial impression was not good. When we went to our rooms loud music was playing in corner of the pool outside of our room, party at 1:30pm on Monday; I thought this might not be appreciated by my 90ish aged inlaws; however, they lowered it some when we moved in and it didn't continue during the rest of our time there. In fact, those playing the music became friends during our stay. We had a really good stay. Beds were comfortable. Outdated bathroom but not a big deal to us. Our rooms were in a perfect location for conversation with other vacationers as they passed on by. Large pool by Seaside standards with baby pool and sand box. No lifeguard. The outside bartender seemed to keep an eye on pool activities. Game room was appreciated by my wife(play til you win cranes) and many kids. A great place for families with children of any age. Free breakfast(choice between french toast, 2 eggs with homefires or 2 pancakes) was nice(no wait for the early risers between 8:00-9:00am). No free beach tags. Didn't use the bar or restaurant(except breakfast) but nice to have that as an option. Ladies at the desk were friendly. If you're looking for a quiet time in Seaside, the Hershey is not for you. If you want to be social, don't mind an occational ball coming towards you in the pool area OR have hiperactive kids who need activities to keep them occupied, the Hershey is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    15
    16
    31
See reviews for
44
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yardville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed there during the week of July 22, 2012. The TV did not work. When I approached the owner/manager about this issue, he was rude and arrogant. He said that he did not know when the TV would be working again and if I was disatisfied, I should leave. Granted, we did not go on vacation to watch TV but we like to catch the latest shore weather and watch late night TV after all the day's activities. No phone in the room. There are no elevators so carrying luggage and beach stuff to the upper floor was tiring and annoying. Three long blocks to the beach. The motel restaurant food was terrible. There is no lifeguard at the pool so parents with young children should consider this. 1950's paneling on the walls and 1950's blonde furniture. The mattresses were in poor shape. Cleaning staff did not leave enough towels and would vacumn only upon request. There are no curtains/drapes on the windows, only blinds which do not cover the entire window. Consequently, passers-by could look into the room. The desk staff were also rude and arrogant following the lead of their owner/ manager. We left in mid-week. What ever happened to good ol' customer service. NEVER STAY AT THE HERSHEY MOTEL.

Room Tip: Never stay at the Hershey Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Good price, excellent food, rooms are just ok. The rugs are filthy, slippers are a must. The only thing between you and the mattress is 1 sheet, which I find GROSS !! Nice pool are. The entire staff was excellent except for this one jerk. Dont know his title , but he needs to learn how to speak like a human being.. For some unknown reason, our "silent" smoke alarm went off at 3:30 am. I awoke to a cop banging on my door. He asked if we were smoking in the room, he was very nice. Then this guy barges in and says "what are you doing in here that set off your alarm (very nasty) He looked around , didnt smell anything and left. No apology or anything. The police officer was very apologetic, it was obvious it was just a freak thing. We did nothing wrong, the fire dept had to check it out since they were called. And of course , they knew we didnt do anything to trigger this alarm. All apologized except for the guy who works for the hotel... he should've been the 1st to apologize, but he just stormed in and out. . I dont think I will ever stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Overall the place was nice. We didn't see any of the negatives in other reviews. Pretty clean for the most part. Housekeeping staff was attentive and we saw them everywhere. The problem with this place is the overall lack of attention paid to bad guests. The pool area is a free for all. Kids unattended and running rampant. Rafts, boogie boards, noodles, and balls being hurled around the pool, making it entirely unenjoyable for anyone to just take a relaxing dip. The only thing that will probably finally wake the sleeping staff up is when someone finally sure for negligence when they get hurt at the pool OT one of the MANY unaccompanied children drown. Couple that with the nightly quitter of weed we smelled coming from the balconies of the Apt section, RIGHT OVER THE OFFFICE...not so family friendly.
COULD be a gyrations place to stay if mgmt held people responsible. Liked the room. Liked the layout of the place. Liked the pool (well, if it actually date to go there.) But if the staff won't enforce rules or just common decency, I'll go somewhere else...without the nightly weed smoke.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a GREAT motel! the only issue we had was when we arrived (at 3am travlling all night) the front office was closed and we couldn't find the clerk. Eventually we walked around and he checked us in quickly.

What was surprising was the breakfast. I mean we got a FULL MEAL and it was included in the price of our stay!! we could choose from french toast (big portion) eggs, hashbrowns and toast or pancakes. the juice/coffee were extra but a small price to pay - this is more than you get at a holiday inn!

the room was your typical double. we were on the third floor and facing the pool. sheets were clean, out of habit we brought our own to put on their sheets - doesnt hurt - and the bathrooms were surprisingly clean (based on the comments i expected worse) bath tub was clean, new tiles and toilet wasnt too bad either.

we did get an older tv, but we didnt really care, we were there to party!! :)

all in all, great location, not too loud at night considering its a party spot, pool was cleaned daily and the value was beyond what we could have asked for.

definitley will go back to Hershey Motel for the value and location.

don't listen to the bad comments. it seems as though one thing went wrong in their vacation and it was blown out of proportion from there - unnecessary to bash the entire place when you are displeased with one thing.

Room Tip: third floor and on the left or right of the pool (less walking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The Hersey Motel was great! Right down the block from the boardwalk. Rooms are not the Hilton but they are nice. Great motel to go to with friends or family. The price for the room was good, they were upfront with the price. No hidden fees or last minute charges. Wish I could if stayed another day or could of took advantage of their late checkout. Late checkout price could of been better. Great motel, free breakfast, and drinks at the bar are good!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let me start by saying the reviews giving by negative visitors are all it is I went there and had the best time ever the rooms were clean beds were great bathroom was clean and had towels the maid service was very attentive. pool was very clean and the waitress gave great pool service our lunch and drinks were brought to us. the food at the restuarant was great and filling. I cant complain about anything everything was at walking distance. the staff always had a great attitude no matter what time of the day . I honestly have to say it was a great vacation the only complain i had was we had to leave. So go and enjoy cause im a big complainer i find fault in everything and anything and here I couldnt. and rest assure im not being paid to say good things. cant wait for next summer to go back. bronx NY 8/2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hershey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Motel

Address: 1415 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hershey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Motel Seaside Heights
Hershey Hotel Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.