We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't see why there are such horrible comments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hershey Motel to your Saves list
Hershey Motel
1415 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I don't see why there are such horrible comments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a GREAT motel! the only issue we had was when we arrived (at 3am travlling all night) the front office was closed and we couldn't find the clerk. Eventually we walked around and he checked us in quickly.

What was surprising was the breakfast. I mean we got a FULL MEAL and it was included in the price of our stay!! we could choose from french toast (big portion) eggs, hashbrowns and toast or pancakes. the juice/coffee were extra but a small price to pay - this is more than you get at a holiday inn!

the room was your typical double. we were on the third floor and facing the pool. sheets were clean, out of habit we brought our own to put on their sheets - doesnt hurt - and the bathrooms were surprisingly clean (based on the comments i expected worse) bath tub was clean, new tiles and toilet wasnt too bad either.

we did get an older tv, but we didnt really care, we were there to party!! :)

all in all, great location, not too loud at night considering its a party spot, pool was cleaned daily and the value was beyond what we could have asked for.

definitley will go back to Hershey Motel for the value and location.

don't listen to the bad comments. it seems as though one thing went wrong in their vacation and it was blown out of proportion from there - unnecessary to bash the entire place when you are displeased with one thing.

Room Tip: third floor and on the left or right of the pool (less walking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    28
    15
    16
    31
See reviews for
44
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The Hersey Motel was great! Right down the block from the boardwalk. Rooms are not the Hilton but they are nice. Great motel to go to with friends or family. The price for the room was good, they were upfront with the price. No hidden fees or last minute charges. Wish I could if stayed another day or could of took advantage of their late checkout. Late checkout price could of been better. Great motel, free breakfast, and drinks at the bar are good!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let me start by saying the reviews giving by negative visitors are all it is I went there and had the best time ever the rooms were clean beds were great bathroom was clean and had towels the maid service was very attentive. pool was very clean and the waitress gave great pool service our lunch and drinks were brought to us. the food at the restuarant was great and filling. I cant complain about anything everything was at walking distance. the staff always had a great attitude no matter what time of the day . I honestly have to say it was a great vacation the only complain i had was we had to leave. So go and enjoy cause im a big complainer i find fault in everything and anything and here I couldnt. and rest assure im not being paid to say good things. cant wait for next summer to go back. bronx NY 8/2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our first visit ever to Seaside Heights to meet up with family from NY. This hotel came highly recommended by our family. They were just as disappointed. It started our first night with young kids drinking above us, a bottle was thrown through a window, police came. Second night the people above us (sisters) had a fight. They carried on until well after 3am in the morning. I asked the staff repeatedly if we could move. Their answer "no rooms". The room was filthy with ashes on the floor and splattered drinks on disgusting paneling. The staff told us they could not control the situations that occurred. They did not consider my family's safety. Whoever thinks this Motel is "tops" has not experienced real vacationing! The only good part was the breakfast which is owned by a separate propietor and the staff there was very nice.

Room Tip: Find another motel/hotel. There is nothing nice about these accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

I've been going to Seaside for years and will only stay either here or the Sunburst Motel (which ranks #1 in my opinion, but is a bit too pricey for me). Anyway the Hershey has decent free breakfast, a nice clean pool and the rooms are clean. The only negative thing this year is that the maid service was awful....e.g., our room was skipped over twice and I had to go to the desk and complain, but the issue was taken care of immediately. Overall a great place to stay in Seaside.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Where do we start I'm writing this from the room now. I couldn't even wait to get home. No cable tv was told all of sea side was out of cable. Not true I called the place across the street who said their cable was fine. The room was dingy and filthy, the walls have splatter marks on them as well as holes they were filled and not repaired properly. The ac didn't work right took 3 hours to figure out we needed a whole new unit. Mind you it's midnight I have two children while this is going on. I have so many pictures cannot wait to upload when I return lord have mercy. And from what I read I pray no bed bugs I'll flip

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This motel is family friendly. Restaurant and pub on premises. Giant pool with baby/children's pool. Several umbrellas/many lounge chairs and a great sundeck. Game room and vouchers for breakfast...

Clean rooms, friendly staff, close to boardwalk, waterpark. A pleasant quiet location, although close to all other needs, drugstore, deli, etc.

Room Tip: Many steps to third floor, you may want to ask for lower floors. Give specifics about your bed type...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hershey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Motel

Address: 1415 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hershey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Motel Seaside Heights
Hershey Hotel Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hershey Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.