We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location but not the greatest motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Sands Inn

Seaside Sands Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Seaside Sands Inn to your Saves list
Seaside Sands Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   61 Sumner Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Gangplank)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Convenient location but not the greatest motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

One of the cheapest motels in the area but definitely the price reflected the quality. We still ended up paying $93 per night + tax for a room with 2 double beds as we were 4 people.
The bathrooms were not very clean and the toilet did not work very well. The WIFI worked great and so did the TV.

The motel seems to be a hangout for highschool/college students as there were lots of groups of students at the motel. Boys whistling when returning from the beach which made it uncomfortable when using the outdoor shower to rinse off sand, as well as beer pong tables already set up outside some rooms.

The man at the reception, not sure if it's the owner or just staff, was VERY nice. He gave us extra towels and advice on where to eat/go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    5
    3
    18
See reviews for
8
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

the managers were beyond lovely to me! however, you stay for what you pay. its a budget hotel so people that are expecting something more are being ridiculous. this was perfect for me. location was amazing, boardwalk was a minute away. the clubs were around the corner, couldnt fault the location at all. would def stay back here if i do come back to seaside in the future. the only thing i did hate was the walls are so thin, i heard the people next to me having a fight.. other than that, was great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

nasty motel no parking bed bugs or something got bit by something, when walked in room found dirty sock under bed, and covers looked like blood stains, poeple that live here walk around and hangout all hours a little scary, people that worked there were nice upon checkin and thats it, i dont wish that place on anyone, waste of money i left room didnt even stay but paid....gross bed bugs dirty no parking stainded sheets, bad enviroment and no idea about customer service...reall people dont make my mistake read reviews before booking in seaside....this place was a dump and over priced for it...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

2 words everyone- BED BUGS. The parking lot is a joke. You have to give your keys to management 4 your stay-not allowed to use your car for your stay. Management are VERY nice- Joe and Bunny. I feel bad they have to work for such a nasty and CHEAP boss. OVERPRICED for your accomodations. NOT a place for families with children. I would NEVER go back there. You do NOT WANT` to come here unless you want to get bit by something your whole stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This place is a DUMP! The rooms are disgusting and upon arrival they looked they were never cleaned from the previous guest. Staff is so rude and actually came into our room to scream at us when we asked for extra towels. I even got bit by something while sitting on the unwashed comforter (bed bugs?). Oh and they have an outdoor shower where they would like you to wash after the beach which is good and fine exept the fact that they have two cameras facing into the shower. GROSS! Oh and the parking, be ready to give the owner your car keys for the entire weekend so that the can move your car throughout seaside parking lots as he pleases. Do not stay here there are so many other hotels for the same price!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union city, nj
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Had a wonderful weekend, the three teens spend the entire time walking around the place. The motel is close to everything, one block from boardwald. The Hemingway and Karma are just around the corner. Perfect for parking your car and getting around. The Managers/Owners were very friendly and did everything possible to accomodate us. We felt extremely safe being that there was an off duty officer looking out for everyone in the place. The rooms were just perfect for the occassion and the managers made sure we were well taken care of. It seems to be under new owners and they have replaced some of the items in the rooms in order to keep everything more current. Looking forward to going back with the little ones.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Most of the motels in seaside don't allow visitors unless they have a rist band, but the people at this motel were atleast nice enough to let them come over real quick or something. You couldn't be caught with a visitor at any other motel or you were basically kicked out. Not to mention the owners of the motel were amazing and so friendly. One of them gave me a water every single night when I was thirsty, it was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Sands Inn

Address: 61 Sumner Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Gangplank)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaside Sands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO SEASIDE SANDS INN!!!Come and stay with us at the Seaside Sands Inn, Seaside Heights, New Jersey! We are a family owned and operated property and offer newly renovated deluxe rooms. The Seaside Sands Inn is located right in the heart of Seaside Heights and is a half block from the beach and the boardwalk, and one block from restaurants, shops, and amusement park. Our spacious inn offers clean, quiet rooms that allow you to escape after an exciting day! We want your vacation stay to be as enjoyable as possible no matter if you stay for a day, a week, or longer. Check into the Seaside Sands Inn – you’ll be glad you did.THANK YOU!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seaside Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Sands Hotel Seaside Heights
Seaside Sands Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Sands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.