We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic motel close to beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Terrace Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Franklin Terrace Motel to your Saves list
Franklin Terrace Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   50 Franklin Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic motel close to beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is a VERY basic motel that I'd never consider booking if it was situated anywhere else; however on a August weekend this was the only thing available close to Seaside Heights boardwalk that was available at the last minute and I took a room. The experience was mixed.

PROS: clean overall; helpful and accommodating staff; LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION (one block from beach); has a small kitchen area with stove, sink and fridge. Somewhat newer furnishing.

CONS: tiny bathroom that smells; poor amenity (small soap bar in bathroom and nothing else; no cookware, utensils, or even a plastic cup for water - kind of defeats the purpose of having a kitchen). Bed not all that comfortable. Loud music from a club across the street that was still going past midnight on a Friday night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Franklin Terrace Motel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We are not advertising our rooms as they are equipped with kitchenette, so we are not responsible for the kitchen supply. Nothing we can do about the club music, since town had allowed them to be open until 3am, we have no control over them.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hempstead, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We had bed bugs, the water in the tub didn't go down, the floor was dirty, and my friend and I both got sick the day after we left. It was a disappointing experience which left a lot more to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Franklin Terrace Motel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We do have pest control company come to property every two weeks and we don't have any bed bug issue. If you had problem with the room or if you had bedbug problem why didn't you complain to management about it. We are 100% sure that we don't have any kind of pest control issue at our property.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

I had a very good experience at the Franklin Terrace Motel. It was less than two blocks from the
beach.
Staff was so nice that when I left my iphone charger in my room after I checked out, one of their employees tracked me down at the bus stop a quarter mile away to return it!

My olnly complaint is that the bedspreads need to be replaced! Other than that, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Franklin Terrace Motel. We appreciate your feedback and compliments, and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location. We strive to bring clean affordable accommodation to each and every one of our guests. Your feedback is very important to us, and was reviewed closely with our management team.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stayed at the Franklin Terrace Motel for 2 days August 13-15. It was better than expected. The rooms were clean. Very close access to boardwalk. Was surprised to see my room beds were made each day and towels replaced. I am absolutely recommending to friends/family. The price was perfect! Thank you to a wonderful/friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our convenient location near many Jersey Shore hot spots. We strive to bring clean affordable accommodation to each and every one of our guests.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushkill, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Repeat Customer.
My wife and two sons love this place. We stayed here last year, and again this year, and plan on coming back again!
It's a Family run business, and it shows. Franklin Terrace Motel is very reasonably priced, and is well worth it. They have a small pool, and it is nicely secluded so passerby's on the street aren't staring at you. They are close to the boardwalk but not on it so you can get some peace and quite when you want. They provide beach passes, but we didn't use them as we hopped in our car and went to Island Beach State park everyday, (hardly 10 minutes away).
Like I said, we're repeat customers, need I say more?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us again and thank you for your kind review. I’m so glad you think we are a spot that offers good value for your hard earned money because that was our intent, to offer clean comfortable accommodation at a more economical price. It is our hope to continue to provide this type of service to all our valued guests and we look forward to your next trip!

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Was better then expected since the price was so reasonable.VERY friendly owners...
Clean of course the floor would get sandy but it was cleaned everyday..bedding was crisp and white
Althought bathrooms are a little small it was CLEAN
New TV the kitchenette was great

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Franklin Terrace Motel. Thank you again for this excellent review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our convenient location near many Jersey Shore hot spots. We strive to bring clean affordable accommodation to each and every one of our guests. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Converse
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

There were no flaws with my stay at Franklin Terrace Motel. I recommend anyone visiting Seaside Heights stay at this motel, 150%. The room I had originally booked was unavailable so I was upgraded which I was very pleased with. The cleanliness of the room was very impressive due to the sandy beach area. The cost of my stay was absolutely an amazing deal. The staff service was incredible.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear guest,

It's always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us, and I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franklin Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Terrace Motel

Address: 50 Franklin Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Franklin Terrace Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a short walking distance to all of the fine amusements, attractions and the wonderful Seaside Heights Beach and Boardwalk! At the Franklin Terrace Motel, we offer a friendly, clean family hotel where the Management is on-site to ensure that your stay is the most enjoyable it can be. The Franklin Terrace Motel.... a peaceful, fun place to vacation...spend a night, a weekend, a month or all season...you will remember our hospitality. With a lovely lobby and private pool, the Franklin Terrace is the best value on the Jersey Shore ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Franklin Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Terrace Hotel Seaside Heights
Franklin Terrace Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Terrace Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.