We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay,not worth the money/hidden disadvantages” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Franklin Terrace Motel

Save Saved
You added Franklin Terrace Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklin Terrace Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   50 Franklin Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 43 hotels in Seaside Heights
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ok stay,not worth the money/hidden disadvantages”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Pros-
1. Block away from the beach
2. Close to all restaurants and shops
3. 1/2 block away from Karma/Bamboo club
4. Nice staff, who let us park before check in time
5. Nice/clean rooms with small fridge and stove
6. They have a nice,small pool

Cons-
1. Only allowed two people when reserving the motel, therefore if you have more than two people you have to pay a $25 fee per person...(Hidden fee/incorrect info) The website said $15 an extra person, and when we got there the guy said $25 each
2. Not worth the money what we spent for only one night, ended up being roughly $310 plus tax
3. They also only give you two beach passes (If they have anymore), Therefore the extra guests has to pay another $5 to get onto the beach with the addition of paying $25 for staying
4. If you have small kids/don't like a lot of noise at night, I wouldn't recommend staying here. Both Karma and Bamboo clubs are outside, therefore you can hear the club music all night until they close at 4am
5. Really small parking lot
6, Air condition sucked. A/c kept shutting off and the room was still warm/clammy

Room Tip: Only give 2 beach passes, no exceptions. If you have more than 2 people, you will pay a $25 extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Franklin Terrace Motel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We have our Rate policy posted on all reservation process and we are really sorry about any inconvenient, and we can’t do anything regarding club noise, since those clubs are there for longtime. You should have let us know regarding you Air conditioner and we would have gladly solve your problem. We do have sufficient space for one car per room and also parking off street available for guest too. We do give out 2 beach badges per room and we don’t charge for those passes, since we like to provide to all of our rooms with complimentary beach badges we have limited availability for those, when we do have available we do provide more passes to guest. Since we paid for all the passes in advance there is no point in giving them out to customers.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
7
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Etters, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just returned home after our 4 night stay at Franklin Terrace.
Cleanliness/the room
My biggest concern when renting a motel at the beach is the cleanliness. As soon as I got there I checked the beds(my biggest concern) The mattresses looked brand new, no signs of any bugs! The room was very clean and smelled great! The staff would come in and clean and change the sheets and give us fresh towels which was really nice. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The water was soo hot! No cold showers like at other motels!
Staff
The staff was exeptionally nice!!! We got down there after a 3.5 hour ride with a 2 and 5 yr old so we decided to stop by the motel and ask them to call us if we can check any earlier. We thought maybe 1/2 hour or so. They let us check in a couple hours early which was so nice because we got to go to the beach before it got to hot. There were 4 people there at the office everyday and they were all very nice. They acted like they knew us. When we were leaving the man even came over to the car and knocked on the window to say goodbye to the kids, I thought that was very nice.
Pool
The pool was nice. It was 4 ft. which was great for us so that our 5 yr old could stand. The water was very clean and it wasnt busy which was nice.
Location
It is about a block from the boardwalk/beach. It was at the center of the boardwalk which was great. They gave us beach passes so we wouldn't have to pay to get on the beach.

Overall we had a great stay! With the room, staff, walking distance to boardwalk, pool, and price, you can't beat it!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Franklin Terrace Motel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to your next trip to Seaside Heights and we will strive to ensure your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Not really sure what to say... Let me start out by saying that the staff was very nice and friendly. Another plus is how close it is to the boardwalk. After that however, I was very disappointed. After reading the reviews on here I had mixed feelings about it, but seeing that it was rated 12 out of 41 hotels, I didn't think it could be that bad. It is verrrry small, the bathroom was so tiny you could barely fit in there by yourself, let alone 2 people. We were considering moving to another hotel, but not wanting to lose any money we stuck it out. It is very outdated and needs a face lift. There were no bugs that we could see, so it was fairly clean, just very tiny and outdated. Definitely not worth the money that we spent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Franklin Terrace Motel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We do have rooms with full bath, and we did upgrade some of our rooms with Flat screen television and freshly coated paint in all of our rooms. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stayed here with my 16 year old son, and 14 year old niece overnight. I can honestly say we did not have any problems. We arrived early, and they allowed us to park on the premises,and gave us beach badges to use. Staying in Seaside Heights, I did not expect a 5-star hotel, but the room was clean,clean sheets on the bed, bathroom was clean and had hot water. The air conditoning worked wonderfully. They had a small pool on the grounds which was great to cool off in. Yes, the rooms may have been a bit dated, but it was clean. We had no problems with the management. In addition, it was only a block and a half to the boardwalk and beach., so the location was perfect. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the glowing review. I’m so glad we were able to fulfill all your expectations. At Franklin Terrace Motel we strive to bring clean affordable accommodation to each and every one of our guests. I will share your comments with our housekeeping team as I’m sure they will be glad to hear your thoughts on their efforts.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope your next stay will be as pleasant as this one!

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

NEVER book this hotel. I booked a room through booking.com, with 2 double beds and then "upgraded" to a room with 3 double beds (for 3 couples). The swap was fine, paid and extra $100.00 and that was that. I get there and the guys says that I need to tell booking.com when they call that I didnt show up (so the reservation for 2 beds would be cancelled and I would pay the new pricing with the $100 added for 3 beds) Seemed sketchy but I figured thats just what I had to do. So booking.com emails me and says they are charging me $314 for NOT SHOWING UP? Of course I respond & tell them that I did in fact show up and shouldnt be charged a cancellation fee, all I did was change my room? Booking.com says no, thats fine you dont need to pay the cancellation fee yadda yadda. SO this guy was trying to scam me into paying an extra $314 after I had already checked out! THEN I get a call from the guy at the hotel telling me to respond to them again and he will only charge me $157 for a cancellation? I DID NOT CANCEL! Con artist at its best. Not to mention the place is a real dump! Smelled horrible. Parking was a mess. Stove was filthy! Fridge didnt keep any drinks cold. Toilet did not work, thank god my boyfriend is a plumber! No hot water for the first day we were there. No guests allowed. So if you have friends staying at another hotel, they cant come meet you there to get ready before going out. OH AND, the guy told us we couldnt use the sink because it was leaking into the motel room below. WHAT A JOKE. I didnt expect 5 star services at the Jersey Shore but this was just beyond what I could have ever expected. Absolutely disgusting. I cant beleive the board of health or BBB has not shut them down yet. They will be hearing from me! Take this as a warning. (Keep in mind I never write reviews, either too busy working or just dont let things get to me. This was bad enough for me to get on here and write about.... Thats gotta show something!!)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that our hotel was not sufficient in regards to what you were looking for in a hotel.

Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to learn that you feel I fell short of our goals in this instance. I appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your concerns.

Please know that I value you as our guest and would like all our guests to see us at our very best to this end. I hope the next time you travel to Seaside Heights, you will be able to give us another opportunity to prove you can get a great nights rest at Franklin Terrace Motel.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Me and my friends book this place from the booking website. We were not sure about the place but we still booked it online. When we arrived we got the room that is way beyond our expectation. We had a reservation for two adults and we have another friend joined us after our reservation, we just notify the manger on the front desk at check-in time and he told us that it will be extra money for extra person. We paid him for the extra people and we were on our way to room. We had no problem with Management when we had few people are coming over to our room for few minutes, so we didn't have any problem with them, they were very friendly and also helped us with few utensils. We go to seaside every summer but I have never been to place that is so clean nicely managed. I loved the location, right between the all the town clubs and boardwalk. FTM we will see you soon...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Franklin Terrace Motel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to your next trip to Seaside Heights and we will strive to ensure your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Me and my family ususally stay at this motel during July 4the weekend. We like their location and their staff. Staff is always helpful to us and they always help us out with extras like free passes to the beach or extra parking if available. Their pool is an added bonus. Thank you Franklin Terrace Motel for great times. See you guys next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Franklin Terrace Motel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to your next trip to Seaside Heights and we will strive to ensure your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Franklin Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Terrace Motel

Address: 50 Franklin Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Franklin Terrace Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a short walking distance to all of the fine amusements, attractions and the wonderful Seaside Heights Beach and Boardwalk! At the Franklin Terrace Motel, we offer a friendly, clean family hotel where the Management is on-site to ensure that your stay is the most enjoyable it can be. The Franklin Terrace Motel.... a peaceful, fun place to vacation...spend a night, a weekend, a month or all season...you will remember our hospitality. With a lovely lobby and private pool, the Franklin Terrace is the best value on the Jersey Shore ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Franklin Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Terrace Hotel Seaside Heights
Franklin Terrace Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Franklin Terrace Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.