We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favor and trust the negative reviews.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Motel

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   124 Kearney Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 43 hotels in Seaside Heights
Oxford, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favor and trust the negative reviews.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Shouldve trusted the negative reviews. Positives: Friendly staff, relatively close to the north end of the boardwalk (about 2 blocks west), 50/50 pool, relatively small so the underage party warzone atmosphere of places like Glendale was absent. Negatives: Small TVs(missing remote), coffin sized bathrooms in very poor condition, hot water was difficult(next to impossible) to get running, beds in poor condition with loose frames, AC unit did not cool off the room, electrical outlets did not all work, parking was abominable with vehicles needing to be parked in by others due to lack of spaces, pool wasnt a total disaster but in need of modernization AND it closed at 8pm which was awful considering the poor state of the AC, no tables and chairs anywhere on premises, no towel rods and although the price was comparible with season rates at most seaside hotels, the overall experience did not equate what was paid for it by a long shot. Given the choice, I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM08751, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are terribly sorry to hear that we did not manage to meet your expectations at the time you stayed at our hotel. Much time has elapsed since you posted your review and many changes and improvements have been made on our facilities and services to enhance the positive experiences of our guests. We hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in town. It would a pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    7
    4
    16
See reviews for
7
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hewitt, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This was by far the worst motel I have ever stayed in. DO NOT STAY HERE! It smelt like death in the room, the TV was broken, there was pee stains all over the bed, there was blood on the wall, the sink was about to fall off the wall, the refrigerator smelt so bad when you opened it I almost threw up and there were holes in the couches made by a lighter.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM08751, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We sincerely apologize that you had a terrible time during your last stay with us. So much time has elapsed since your review was posted that there is no way for us anymore to conduct an investigation and address your comments. The only thing we can do is assure you that over the course of two years improvements have been made on our facilities and services to ensure our guests will have an enjoyable stay. Please visit us again and let us put our words into action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I had trouble trying to find a good hotel in Seaside.
The manager and his wife were very friendly, helpful and accommodating.
This is a budget motel so you do get what you pay for, we didn't expect much.
Had no problems with bed bugs etc everything was fine for our stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM08751, Guest Relations Manager at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We have made enormous changes and improvements since your last stay to enhance the positive experiences of our guests. We hope you will choose to stay with us again. We have no doubt that you will have a far better hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

When we got there to check in the manager was sleeping on a couch. Our first room was gross. There was a half eaten piece of bread in the microwave. The room he gave us for 5 people wasn't big enough so we actually paid an extra $50 for the 3 double bed room. When we got in there it was equally gross Throwup on the side by the window upon walking in, flies everywhere, half drinken beer in the fridge, moldy bathroom and shower. I had to shower with my sandals on. Dirty sheets; we changed the sheets atleast 3 times and all equally gross. I could not sleep on these beds. I paid a friend to come down from staten island just to bring us sheets that we can put over the bed and sleep on. Beware!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

What ever you do dont stay here,rooms had molds,bugs,holes in floors,dirty sheets, pool was terriable wont swim in it had cigerettes bud and sand,rooms smell awlful,water comming out from the ac, complaint to manager he gave us another room being worse,stay away .never in my life had such a terriable experience. it was a nightmare..

Room Tip: Dont stay here you will regret it,its nasty not for vaction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feasterville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

Whatever you do, DO NOT STAY HERE. the management is a bunch of liars and crooks, the place is poorly maintained, the rooms had BUGS, BURNHOLES, DISGUSTING MOLDY WALLS, DIRTY BATHROOM, CRUSTY POOL, an even in one room, MYSTERIOUS WHITE POWDER on the sheets, of which the worker wiped off with his bare hands and looked puzzled. We have been pursuing refund through the Better Business Bureau, and they lied to the BBB saying we were already refunded. We also have been pursuing the health department, this place is NOT up to health code and needs to be shut down immediately.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

this motel was very dirty, old and had a bad smell.. I had to changed 3 different rooms since room was dirty, floor had holes in the floors, bed sheets were dirty, worms and curtains in the showers has fungus! my wife is pregnant she suffer through these days that we stay in! In top of that swimming pool is dirty and there is not internet access (WIFI.) I dont recommend this place at all!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Address: 124 Kearney Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 43 hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Motel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Motel Seaside Heights
Flamingo Hotel Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.