We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst value” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Sands Motel

Save Saved
You added Coral Sands Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Sands Motel
1010 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 43 hotels in Seaside Heights
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The worst value”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is vastly overpriced, even accounting for its proximity to the beach. Our room was dingy, with tile floors, a 20-year-old TV, lumpy beds and the random fly buzzing about. Moreover, the management, while reasonably friendly, has bizarre rules about having no visitors and keeping the TV low after 10pm. Basically, you're paying to be treated like a child. They also wouldn't let us use a parking space after the 10am (!!!) checkout time, even for a little while.

I'm no prima donna when it comes to hotels; I can stay contentedly in a Motel 6 or Red Roof Inn. This motel made those places look like the Waldorf and would be overpriced at $50 a night. You probably won't die if you stay here as a last resort, but I can't recommend it. I'll never stay there again, that's for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    1
    6
    7
See reviews for
10
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Islip, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Okay, this isn't in Atlantic City so it's not the Taj Majal. It's a cute little hotel on the shore. A couple blocks walk to the beach and boardwalk, and the nicest owners we've ever come across in our travels. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in a double bed room--small, and 4 people would definitely feel cramped, but for us, just fine. The room was clean enough--unless your the type to freak out over dusty corners or a few grains of sand in the drawers. The mini fridge had some rusty shelves, but it worked so, so what! A/C was great--worked fine even in the above 90 degree heat. If you are a particularly obese person, you'd have some trouble fitting in the little shower stall--otherwise it was fine. We were in room 8 and the only thing that bothered us was the lack of sunlight. There's a little window by the bathroom, but it doesn't let enough light into the living/bedroom area. Not sure if every room is like this, so my only suggestion to the friendly and accommodating owners is Room 8 could use a window. The pool was great--crystal clean and open till 10! The location is really great--lots of restaurants you can walk to (we really liked "Hemingways"), the ocean right there, and the bustling boardwalk made our nights a lot of fun! Surprisingly, no rowdy kids (of the Snookie and The Situation genre), mostly couples and families. We heard the "kids" come on the weekends and it can get noisy. All and all we would recommend this place to anyone who wants to hang out on the Jersey Shore for a few days, and have a friendly, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

i have been staying this motel since i was kid and coming back every year to stay with my family. hotel staff is wonderful , the new manager is very kind and friendly with everyone. i don't even see anything bad what people wrote on here about this motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

So last week, August 20th to the 23rd, we stayed at this hotel. Pool was nice, the rooms were a little small for 4 people, but it did the job. We were at the hotel to change and go to bed. The motel is somewhat renovated, but it still needs work. We found out there's new owners and he just took over in July. The plan is to make bigger showers, they were a little small and new beds, they were a little uncomfortable. You're about a block from the beach, and the boardwalk and the motel gives out 2 free passes to the beach while you're there. There is one other bad thing, parking, you get only one space per room. We had 2 cars, so what we did was had one car at the hotel and we dropped off our car at an offsite location, this was not part of the hotel.
All in all, it was a nice place and good area, wouldn't mind staying there for another vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is definitely a dive motel. One of those ''when all you need is a quick shower and place to sleep when you make an unexpected trip to the beach in peak season and nothing else is available" places. Let's just say you wouldn't want to be here otherwise. A one-night-stay place, for sure.
Our room was not dirty per se, just severely outdated and in need of a major renovation. From the lack of wash cloths, to the lack of electrical outlets, to the institutional overhead lighting, to the made in China soap and shampoo, this place reeks of either Communist accommodations circa 1979 or urban housing projects circa 1969. The front desk clerk (? owner) was friendly enough, but smoked horrible smelling cigarettes in the common walkway which made the area reek.
On the positive side, the location is very good for anyone who wants to check out the boardwalk and Jersey Shore television show setting. But that's about it.
Consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Room was filled with tumble weed composed of hair, dirt and lint. Cigarette ashes all over the sink. Showers were absolutely disgusting and scuzzy, Going out on a limb here and say they were not even cleaned at all. Incredibly uncomfortable beds, pillows the thickness of a pancake, unclean linens. TERRIBLE SERVICE. RUDE FRONT DESK, FILTHY HOTEL. Would've made GG Allin proud.
Worst hotel ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Staff was wonderful! Pool and room very clean enjoyed my stay. Breakfast was offered very reasonable rates. Short walk to the beach and again couldn't ask for nicer staff. Walking distance to restuarants . Very quiet family orienented motel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coral Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sands Motel

Address: 1010 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 43 hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coral Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sands Hotel Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Sands Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.