We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are FILTHY DIRTY! Gross! Worst place I've ever tried to stay!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Seaport Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boardwalk Seaport Inn to your Saves list
Boardwalk Seaport Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1119 Ocean Terrace, Seaside Heights, NJ 08752 (Formerly Boardwalk Sea Gull Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Walton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rooms are FILTHY DIRTY! Gross! Worst place I've ever tried to stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

This place should be condemned! Gross, filthy dirty rooms, no staff on site, bugs everywhere, linens on beds dirty, chain lock on doors broke/not safe, toilet insecure and wobbles all over when you sit down!!!! Gross, gross, gross!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for writing your review. We understand that you did not have an enjoyable stay. We have already spoke with housekeeping in regards to the room cleanliness as most of our guests find the hotel room to be very clean. We have already had maintenance address the issue with the toilet to secure it down as much as possible as well. We would like to invite you back for a much better stay (such as in one of our ocean view rooms).

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    6
    5
    16
See reviews for
19
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Boardwalk Seaport Inn from July 20-24. We were given room #8 which was on the third floor(the highest floor) and the view was incredible! The room was on the smaller side but who spends time in their room at the beach right? It was comfortable and the bathroom was big enough for us. Everything was very clean and neat upon check in, we were very happy. Anything we needed during our stay Kimo Hassan(the front desk manager) took care of it promptly. Our refrigerator died during our stay and I told Kimo that morning on our way to the beach. He said he would take care of it. When we returned from the beach that afternoon a brand new refrigerator was in our room! Kimo always said hello and asked how our stay was going everyday as we passed the front desk. I swear it seems like he lives there! Me and my girlfriend work in hospitality and we were both truly impressed with his attention to his guests. He was professional at all times and we joked with him too. He was very pleasant to be around. The housekeeping staff was great too, our room looked fantastic every day coming back from the beach. We tried not to get sand in the room but it's inevitable. They always got it out for us and the bed and bathroom immaculate. The highlight for us was the deck off of the third floor. What a view!! I spent any downtime we had on that deck. It's so peacefully up there and a great place to have breakfast too. Thank you Kimo and your staff. You all made our stay a memorable one! Thanks, "Mr. Bryan"

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are happy to see you enjoyed the entire visit to the Jersey Shore with us and were able to really take the view in from the top floor. We are also glad to help resolve the issue with the fridge and taking you for your patience while we replaced it. Our entire team are looking forward to having you visit us again very soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Boardwalk Hotel - Seaside Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This place is awful!! Upon checking in at 6:30 pm no one was at the front desk. There was a note to call, so I did. The front desk guy came down about 10 minutes later and checked me in. I asked if there was elevators since he put me on the 3rd floor and my mom can't do steps. He advised me there's no elevators at the hotel. He did offer me a so called suite on the 1st floor, so I took that option.. After driving all day we put our bags down and went for dinner on the boardwalk and went shopping and took the kids to the arcade. Getting back to our room at midnight, getting ready for bed we noticed, bugs on the walls, bugs crawling on the floor. We pulled the sheets down and we found bugs in both beds and also a long toe nail under the sheet. There was blood on the side of the wall by one of the beds. This hotel has window ac units looks like it's going to fall right out of the window. We felt very unsafe here, looked like anyone could've kicked the ac unit out of the window and break in.. The tile on the floor was broken and cracked in the entry floor and also in the bathroom. The toilet was very wobbly when u sat down.. The bathtub and the small sink was very dirty.. The room has a bad odor and the room was very dirty. The bedroom door that connects to the other room wouldn't shut or lock.. The front door of the room only had one lock and the chain lock was broke, again felt very unsafe!!!!! They say each room has a coffee maker and a blow dryer, which is a lie, our room didn't have these things in there... They also say free wi fi which doesn't work, go figure!!!! There is no phone in the room, which is also a negative, and the front desk guy leaves and goes somewhere and leaves a note on the door with his cell phone number if u need him.. Seriously!!! After we notice all these things we decided to leave. I called the man and he told me to leave my keys there and his manager would contact me the next morning. Which he never did!!! I checked into a different hotel that night and went back the next morning to the boardwalk seaport and spoke to the manager Alex, which is rude and says it's common to have bugs in the room since it's by the ocean. I've always stayed by the ocean before in different hotels and never experienced this before!!! I booked this hotel under booking.com and I tried to place a review on their website and I wasn't able to bc the manager deleted my booking. So I couldn't leave a negative review about my stay.. This hotel was awful, I have never experienced anything like this before.. Please stay away from this hotel!!! Also another negative you have to pay $6 to go on the beach!!! WOW??

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We understand that your stay was not fully enjoyable. Our beachfront hotel is not able to have an elevator, but we do have ramp access so guests who are not able to walk up multiple stairs are still able to enjoy the beach as your family did.

We understand that you checked in about 7 pm, after confirming with a walk thru of the 1st floor room, you checked into the room. We learned about an issue with your room during the middle of the night (after 2 am). Our staff did attempt to work with you on the issue during the night, but was unsuccessful. We did forward the issue with the single wall insect you mention to our team at the night time with our extermination contractor. We have been informed that he will re-treat the room again, and the insect is harmless, and is an isolated incident with only the one wall insect.

We have been confirmed that no beds, furniture, or other fixtures had any sort of insects. We have also had maintenance look at the stain on the wall, which we have found is likely spilled nail color or the like. We thank your for brining our attention to it to make our room more enjoyable. As per the window A/C, we understand that the chromatic color photos you posted do show that the unit is secured in multiple places. We will still have maintenance look at how to improve that as well. As per the bathroom, we do understand that the bathroom is not large as the building limits any increase in size and apologize for any inconvenience in regards to this.

Our wi-fi is password protected with the password at the office area so our guests are the only ones who may enjoy our high speed wireless internet. We apologize for this inconvenience.

Overall, we understand that you were found issue with the township's beach entry cost, and apologize as we have no control on that, though I am sorry you were not able to take advantage of our 1/2 price beach tags available at our front desk.

As per booking.com, only the employees of that company are responsible for any changes to their website as we are not the same companies.

We also understand that though our team did still offer to change your stay to a partner franchise hotel, and your wish was to decline.

We can how some minor issues can affect your stay and are saddened to see your review with color-washed photos which are not the experiences of so many of our other guests daily. We wish you the best in your future travels.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were here last week on a whim and loved it!! We called 2 days after we got home to book for Monday thru Wednesday for the next week.

Eleanor; the Head Housekeeper is fabulous; we loved her as she met all our needs. "Kemo", the Office Manager; rang us after our stay to ensure all was well after we departed.

The "rooftop deck" is the best!!! For adults; it is premium!! No silly teens or tweens!!! We will be back in August; I think our room may be already booked! Lovely, lovely family; stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Ms. Lise,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience about our hotel. Our entire team are so happy to see you really enjoyed your stay and found your family to be very enjoyable to have stay with us! See you very soon in August to enjoy the deck and hotel again!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Boardwalk Seaport Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel was in a perfect location on the boardwalk and very clean. There are not many amentities to the room but the owner/manager was very accomodating to all of our requests. When we needed ice he had it delivered and the hair dryer was on request so I just brought my own. There was a common balcony which overlooks the boardwalk and we enjoyed having our morning coffee there. We went mid-week and were unfortunate to have bad weather but still had a nice time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share you great experience at our hotel. We appreciate that you did find our hotel staff very friendly, and room very clean. We look forward to a visit where you can enjoy a cup of coffee with better weather very soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Boardwalk Hotel - Seaside Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The Boardwalk Seaport is finally open! Me and a few of my friends have stayed at this location for the past few years and were really bummed out that it was closed last year. We were here for Memorial day weekend and had the best time. The exterior isn't the best but the rooms were clean and very accommodating. We will be back in a couple weeks.

Room Tip: Ocean View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Jessica,

We are very happy you did enjoy a wonderful stay with us at our hotel. We are very happy to see you did find us again and we are continuing the upgrades so we will be even better than before. We look forward to seeing you in the next couple weeks!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Boardwalk Hotel - Seaside Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salem, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My friends and I decided to do a memorial weekend trip to seaside. We booked a reservation for two rooms at this hotel, but once we got to the "Boardwalk Seaport Inn" It was not even open due to Hurricane Sandy damage and apparently won't be for awhile. We called the hotel number and fortunately they have multiple sister hotels and we were set up with two rooms at the "Hotel Charlee" located about a block from the boardwalk, instead of the inn which was located on the boardwalk. They never mentioned to us that the boardwalk seaport inn was closed or that we would be set up at a different hotel. Other than that the Hotel Charlee was fine. It was pretty clean, but it was just noisy due to the thin walls. Also the prices are always negotiated with big groups (we had 8 people) and paid $180 each, but other people had paid less. After 3 days at the place we felt dirty though. Seaside itself is pretty much open. A lot of the boardwalk was missing and a couple of the stores were closed. Overall it was a good stay and we had so much fun in seaside!

Room Tip: There's three levels to the Hotel Charlee with no elevator. I don't think the location of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our service. We are always looking to help our guests in any way possible and we have great partner hotels available. We look forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn - Toms River / Seaside Heights
Days Inn - Toms River / Seaside ...
#16 of 42 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#6 of 42 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#7 of 42 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#8 of 42 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / ...
#21 of 42 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#11 of 42 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Seaport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Seaport Inn

Address: 1119 Ocean Terrace, Seaside Heights, NJ 08752 (Formerly Boardwalk Sea Gull Motel)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boardwalk Seaport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located on the boardwalk of Seaside Heights at the New Jersey Shore. The hotel offers stunning ocean and boardwalk views with a private feel with 10 rooms and 2 suites while still being only steps to the beach and boardwalk. Apartment rentals are also available near the hotel for groups of all sizes. A feature amenity is the sun deck on the 3rd floor which gives a wide view of the beach, ocean, pier, and boardwalk. For those who enjoy the famous MTV show, Jersey Shore, we are only a 1/2 block from the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Boardwalk Seaport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Seaport Hotel Seaside Heights
Boardwalk Seaport Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Seaport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.