We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay A+” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Seaport Inn

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Seaport Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boardwalk Seaport Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1119 Ocean Terrace, Seaside Heights, NJ 08752 (Formerly Boardwalk Sea Gull Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
“Great Stay A+”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

for a beach front motel it was great. the beach is right there. parking was always available. the manager was on site as were the motel owners. they were extremely friendly and answered all our questions. we stayed in a double bed room on the 3rd floor. wish there was an elevator (lol). this is our motel at seaside. located near everything!
thank you boardwalk seaport.
the gencarelli family

Room Tip: if you have alot of luggage or just outta shape ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear the gencarelli family,

We are your hotel at the shore! Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to continue our great service and help you enjoy with your family! See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    2
    15
See reviews for
17
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We did not get what we thought we paid for. I feel we were misled in the booking process. When I called to book a room with one double bed for $99 a night (as advertised on their website) they said they only had rooms with two beds left for the dates we wanted to stay and it was going to be $129 a night. Since the location seemed nice we decided to go ahead and book the room with two beds for more money and just enjoy the extra space. When we arrived at the hotel we checked in ( at which time they didn't even ask for ID of any sort) and we went to our room which was only a single room with one double bed......which was only supposed to be $99 a night and they said would have been unavailable. We went back down to the check in desk to see if we could just be reimbursed the $30 a night since we were told we were going to have a larger room. The man at the check in counter told us we had actually been "up-graded" and the room was actually supposed to be way more expensive and that we were being given a "deal", because it had a "view" of the Jersey Shore tanning deck. When I tried to explain what I had been told over the phone (about the single rooms being booked and having to book the more expensive room) they just kept insisting we had been upgraded. They offered to move us to another hotel for $99 a night but it was further away from the beach and you had to pay for parking. Parking was a whole other nightmare. The parking has 9 spots, VERY SMALL spots, and 3 of them require parallel parking. We found out you usually at most times completely blocked in because of the amount of cars trying to fir in the TINY lot. Hope you don't have to go anywhere fast...... We were told check out was at 10 AM, (but I'm pretty sure it depended on who you asked) and we packed up the car and went to the office at 9:30 to check out and no one was there. Absolutely no one, door was locked. We called but got no answer so we ended up leaving the keys in the room and just leaving a voice mail, and getting out of there as fast as possible. The room was okay at best, right on the boardwalk and well lit at night. But there are plenty of other places to stay on the boardwalk, don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: Don't get automatically upgraded at your own cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

It seems that you did enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms with the amazing location of our hotel. We understand you had some issues with booking. We will investigate the confusion and earn a better rating on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I just went over this weekend (8/17-8/19/12) and I think that beacuse I read other reviews my expectations were really low. The motel is not horrible, I've slept in harder beds and the room was clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the first floor so luckliy I didn't have to haul my stuff up the stairs. We were right under the stairs so at times it did sound like people were going to invade the room but maybe because I'm from the city those sounds don't abslutely bug me. The room and bathroom were clean and had no problem there. The TV had no remote which was no biggie as most of the time I was out of the room. The hotel has a great location on the boardwalk which made it super convienent as parking can be a pain there. All in all the location was really good, the room was decent and it was good for a weekend trip with friends. I didn't directly deal with the front office staff but the person who did - did not complain about them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We will earn a better rating on you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I want to start by saying I wasn't expecting the Ritz Carlton or the 4 Seasons. This is a solid beach motel, in a great location, right on the boardwalk. Our room was clean, serviced each day we were there, and Ziko, the manager, deserves every phenomenal review he has been given. He is constantly on-site, and truly embodies "service with a smile". He loves his job and it shows. He is knowledgeable about the area, and was helpful about finding another friend a room at the last minute when she showed up on Saturday night, after the power blew in Atlantic City & she needed a place to stay with her kids.

Security was also good in the evening at the motel, which made us feel comfortable, with some of the "randoms" that may have been wandering the area late night around the MTV "Jersey Shore House" (even though we felt good about their extra security too).

Overall, if you're going to spend a weekend at the beach, this is a great, clean, central location to stay. If you're going because you're planning to "Jersey Turnpike" with Pauly D, The Situation, Snookie, Dina & the MTV crew, you might be out of luck -- I think this past weekend was their last weekend of filming for the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranburyInn, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Satisfied Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review for our property. Our team works tirelessly (as you saw with just one member) to make sure our hotel guests really enjoy their stay. We do keep security to make sure our guests have peace of mind and relaxed to recover energy for another day at the Jersey Shore. We want to thank you for visiting and hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Your staff at the Boardwalk Seaport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I only stayed the night , thank god. The air conditioner was broke and it was so hot in the room, the tub was dirty and they said there was a blow dryer on every room , but I did not have one and was never able to do my hair. Although the location was right on the boardwalk , it was also 2 houses down from the MTV jersey shore house so there were camara men and people , a lot of people right outside your door booooo. For the $200 I spent at this hotel for the night , I should have had a better experience . There is a rusty window planter outside my door , I was gonna unscrew the damn thing myself and throw it away. I suggest u look for more for your money!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranburyInn, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We understand that you did not enjoy your stay with us based on a few things. You said the A/C was broken. However, considering the tremendous heat, we are always trying to keep our A/Cs fully functional. It is possible that one may breakdown, however, our maintenance staff quickly replace or repair the A/C within hours. Also, we do have blow dryers available to use, though it is not in the room. The reason is to prevent accidental injuries to children. We are located on the beach and boardwalk, so we cannot speak about MTV and their staff in terms of your issue with this. We do have other options available for you if this was not comfortable.

Best of luck in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Everyone's right - the location is Terrific! Climbing to the 3rd floor w/ luggage was a bummer though but once there the view was great :) Nothing special about the rooms. Clean & comfortable, beds, refrigerator and a working AC! The owner/manager was very nice. He let us stay in the parking lot and use the beach passes even after we had checked out which was great because we couldn't check in to our next hotel until later. We would've stayed here but there wasn't any availability that night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranburyInn, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear satisfied guest,

Thank you for writing about your excellent experience with us. Our hotel is literally overlooking the beach and boardwalk. The views are absolutely amazing from any floor on the property, especially the top floor, where the sun deck is. We are happy you had a restful sleep and enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of all the rooms!

Best Regards,
Your staff at Boardwalk Seaport Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

i spent 6nights at the boardwalk seaport in with my girlfriend,her brother and 2 friends because we wanted a short get away to relax and hangout on the boardwalk. i have been down south many times visiting mexico,cuba,antigua and dominican republic all have been 5 star hotels and to be honest besides the location this hotel didnt really cut it for me as it is not up to my standards but this hotel did have something that all of the other places i have travelled didnt :the manager ziko! he was one of the nicest people i have ever met. he treated us better then anywhere else i have ever been. he was friendly and very helpful and did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable. he really made us feel like family and not guests. having an employee like ziko would make any business work.he knows how to treat the guests and how to make them feel appreciated.there wasnt one day that we were there that he didnt stop by to ask us if we needed anything or if there was anything he could do that would make our stay more enjoyable.anything you need he is the man and we want to go back for a weekend to hang out and see him again. the hotel was decent for sleeping and just to shower but ziko mkes this place one of a kind! thank you ziko you are the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranburyInn, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Seaport Inn, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear satisfied guest,

Thank you for recognizing a member of staff for your stay with us. We have a team that supports the hotel and always love to see the dedication recognized. We know we are a more cozy sized hotel at the Jersey Shore and we do have an excellent staff to help make all our guests really enjoy their stay. I am sure our staff will be very happy to have you again!

Best Regards
Your staff at the Boardwalk Seaport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Seaport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Seaport Inn

Address: 1119 Ocean Terrace, Seaside Heights, NJ 08752 (Formerly Boardwalk Sea Gull Motel)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Boardwalk Seaport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is located on the boardwalk of Seaside Heights at the New Jersey Shore. The hotel offers a private feel with 10 rooms and 2 suites while still being only steps to the beach and boardwalk. A feature amenity is the sun deck on the 3rd floor which gives a wide view of the beach, ocean, pier, and boardwalk. For those who enjoy the famous MTV show, Jersey Shore, we are only a 1/2 block from the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Boardwalk Seaport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Seaport Hotel Seaside Heights
Boardwalk Seaport Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Seaport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.