We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couldn't have been happier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Motel to your Saves list
Anchor Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   145 Sheridan Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fall Special $55 night
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“couldn't have been happier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

at first my friends and I were hesitant while researching motel to stay in at seaside, however, I couldn't be more happy with our stay at the Anchor Motel. From the courteous over the phone reservations, to the immediate emailed confirmation, then the personal introduction to the motel, JD, one of the owners made our stay amazing(as well as the rest of the staff). We were welcomed with open arms, making us feel secure, in that anything we needed was just a phone call away. In addition, the rooms were newly renovated and extremely clean for seaside. The new amenities and onsite pool, free parking, and free beach passes were only some of the highlights to our stay. In addition, the location is perfect. Its right by the police stations, so you don't have to worry about being bothering by any unruly people and its a few mins walk from a convenient store, the water park, the boardwalk/beach and Karma/Bamboo/Aztec...etc. Thank you for making our stay so memorable JD, we appreciate it! We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchormotel, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Motel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continue to work hard to provide best accommodation to all out guests. We hope to see you this coming summer.

Sincerely,
JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    8
    6
    15
See reviews for
25
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Candor, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The property is in the process of,being updated and remodeled after Sandy. The room we stayed in was small. There was no lamp near the bed only an over head light. Bathroom was very small. The room was clean but the floor was tile instead of carpet. There is no laundry machines available on sight. (So what to do with your wet suits and towels from the beach? We had to find a laundry mat. ) The owners were friendly and very helpful and the free beach tags included was an added plus. You are close to the board walk and the beach (about a block and a half. )

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seapalace, Owner at Anchor Motel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy you liked our service, staff and cleanliness. We do not have laundry service on premises. We will be having lamps added to each room by 2014 season. We are striving to make each guest stay as comfortable as possible. We hope to see you next time.

Sincerely,
JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My family and freinds have stayed at the Anchor Motel many times over the last 8 years.This hotel is located right where you what to be.The 7/11 and water park are around the corner.5 minute walk to the boardwalk.Respectful people,nothing spectacular, just clean and comfortable. I have never been disappointed .When I go to Seaside Heights I really don't spent much time in the room just sleeping or changeing .The negitive reveiws are a little right the rooms and showers stalls are small if you are super big this is not for you. Read the cancellation policy before making reservations they mean what thay say. I think some of the bad reveiws comes from guests that wanted a refund becaue it was a rainy day and wanted out early .I have never seen anything bad or dirty.

Room Tip: try some Minor League Baseball lakewood blue claws just up the road in lakewood god entertaiment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seapalace, Owner at Anchor Motel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a great review. We love to hear from our loyal guests who has been coming for many years. We have made many improvement after the hurricane Sandy. We went through major renovation in last six months. We have installed Tiles throughout the property to eliminate odors which carpet may hold, new furniture, lighting, 32" flat screen TV, newly installed showers and vanity. All rooms were freshly painted. Please go to our website to see the updated pictures.

Please visit us this summer for new and improved Anchor Motel.

Sincerely,
JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

For starters, when you leave the motel everyone will agree a great place to go is an STD clinic. The service and people were great. However, because of the previous reviews we decided to inspect the sheets. This is where problems occured. We pulled back the comforter and saw that the sheets and pillow was filled with multiple blood stains accompanied by other mysterious stains even Sherlock Holmes wouldnt want to investigate. Then I entered the bathroom, and it was small, but we could look past that. What we couldnt look over was the bloody thumb print across from the toilet looking you dead in the eye. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention the hairs I found in my bed aswell. In order to sleep I had to lay my own blanket i brought from home over the sheets and covered myself with my beach towel.. and i used my gymbag as a pillow. Needless to say opening the door and starring face to face with multiple cop cars and cruisers was very reasurring when I wasnt trying to smoke a fat L. They said cable tv and wifi, so that actually meant 16 channels and no wifi. All in all, bring a pillow, a sleepingbag, some febreeze, but for the love of christ leave the blacklight at home. <3

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seapalace, Public Relations Manager at Anchor Motel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear guest,

We are glad you like the service from the front desk. I had hoped if you liked the service you had voiced your concern to the front desk. Our linens are changed upon each checkout and they are sent out to be cleaned by outside company. I do want want to apologize for stains which may have been there. We will be looking into new laundary services who may provide better cleaning. We do have more than 16 channels on TV but may be TV programming may have changed. We do have wifi available. We would have corrected all the issue if we given the opportunity to do it. We will take your issue and created new procedure to avoid more negative reviews.

Once again I am sorry for issues with your stay. We look forward to improve service for our future guests.

Sincerely,
JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

As other people said, I found hair on the sheets, so don't know if they were changed since last guest. Bathroom door wouldn't even close. The bathroom light and loud fan on switch was way too annoying. Too expensive and not so nice. No thanks to coming again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We went in both July and August. The staff was friendly and the place was very clean and pleasant. A short distance from the beach. The pool was clean and the entire stay was great. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Nice location, excellent service, and friendly, respectful people. This is my 3rd time there and its better. We will return to the same place. Come and see yourself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Motel

Address: 145 Sheridan Avenue, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Motel is walking distance to famous Seaside Heights beach and boardwalk. We are also walking distance to nightlife and bars. We offer free WiFi, beach badges, parking and discounted tickets Casino Pier. We offer standard rooms, suites and apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, T4B, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Anchor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Seaside Heights
Anchor Motel Seaside Heights

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.