We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute Host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Wasn't expecting much from Econo Lodge, but the good looking host at front desk not only was nice and polite, but he gave me a good rate when asked to do better than normal weekend rate. Space was clean and minutes from the boardwalk.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are happy that you are recognizing our team member for his help and the hotel was clean. We are looking forward to hosting you for a future visit! :-)

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Econo Lodge Seaside Heights Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    4
    2
    9
See reviews for
13
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Where do I start? Our experience with the Seaside Heights Econo Lodge was so overwhelmingly horrible, I'm not sure where to begin. We are a family of 4 with 2 small children. We booked this hotel with my sister in law and her family when it was still known as Hotel Charlie. The photos on the website gave the impression that it was a small European boutique style hotel. Very cute and very clean. Boy, was that a gross misrepresentation! The room we were given - Room 105 was not part of the main hotel. The entrance to the part of the building where our room was located had no security / no lock on the door, Anyone from the street could just walk into the hotel.


Upon coming upon our room, the first thing we noticed was the 1 inch gap from the door to the door frame such that anyone could easily look into our room. When we entered our room, we were shocked at the state of the room. The floors were dirty. The window a/c unit was held in by masking tape. The furniture was chipped. There was no phone and no closet in the room. I have never stayed in a hotel/motel that didn't have a phone or closet. How were we supposed to contact the front desk? Better yet, how were we supposed to call 911 if someone from the street were to just walk into our area of the hotel, which someone could easily do? By the way, the Econo Lodge website lists local calls and wifi as room amenities. How are local calls possible without a phone? And of course, there was no wifi!

The only window in the room had the a/c which as mentioned above was held in by masking tape. Apparently they could not splurge for duct tape. The window itself was covered by a heavy curtain which couldn't even be pushed to the side as it was not on rod. In order to let in natural light, you have to stand on a chair and roll the curtain up.

The beds were pathetic. They were cots not beds, merely two mattresses on top of metal frames. There's not much to say beyond that about the beds.

The bathroom!!! It was absolutely disgusting. The shower was old, dirty and rusted. None of us took showers! The ceiling above the shower was sagging due to a water leak and looked like it was about to collapse. There were random holes in the wall. The tiles were cracked. There was very little clearance (about 1/2 inch) from the bathroom door and sink, making getting in and out of the bathroom difficult.

I've attached some photos we took of the room which should give you a hint of what our experience was like.

I contacted Econo Lodge and was offered a return stay at a discounted rate. Apparently, Econo Lodge hotels are individually owned and franchised. It's clear to me that Econo Lodge doesn't care about the conditions and customer service of the hotels to which they attach its name and brand. So disappointing!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your visit. It seems that your stay was not enjoyable and not the common experience of our guests. We are glad everything has been resolved regarding this stay.

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My 12 year old daughter and I stayed at the Econo Lodge for two nights 17July-19 July for a lacrosse tournament being held in Tom's River. It did the trick and I was pleasantly surprised.

I wasn't sure what we would find in Seaside Heights given the fact that Hurricane Sandy swept through less than two years ago and from what I understand, this location is in the process of transitioning over to an Econo Lodge after having been the former Hotel Charlee. The hotel itself is very clean from the lobby area, stair wells and our particular room. The air conditioner worked like a charm and the bed was very comfortable. Our room which was located on the third floor was definitely on the smaller side however we spent most of our time either at lacrosse games or down at the beach/boardwalk area that it really made no difference to us. I believe they have a variety of sized rooms accommodating different numbers of people. There are two sets of stair cases.....the first being from the front lobby and the second down the back of the building into the parking lot. There are little sitting areas at the landing of each floor at the back of the building.

There is a small parking lot which is a bit cramped however we never had trouble finding a place to leave the car when returning at the end of the day. The pool area was clean with many lounge chairs available to sit in. There are also gas grills available for cooking. In the mornings, a small continental breakfast is served in the lobby area which consists of muffins, coffee/tea and some breads for toasting.

The Econo Lodge is about a block and half from the boardwalk and beach and therefore is in a prime location. It was a close walk in the evenings to go down to the boardwalk for dinner and to participate in some of the activities/shopping, etc. offered.

Everyone we encountered working at the hotel was friendly and extremely helpful.

Note that there is no elevator therefore you would want to request a first floor room if you are unable to walk the stairs.

The Econo Lodge is a place in transition ( as are most other places in Seaside Heights ). They offer clean and comfortable rooms in a great location at a decent price. If I'm back down in the vicinity, I would definitely stay at the Econo Lodge again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so ask for a ground level room if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your wonderful stay with us. We are so happy that you found the hotel the perfect place after your daughter's tournament. We are so glad everything was enjoyable as so many guests have experience with us. Our team are looking forward to having you and your family return to stay with us very soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Econo Lodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We rented the "family room" that sleeps 6. It was very clean and good for a family. The staff was friendly and it is just a short walk to the beach/boardwalk. My only complaint is that the shower was very small and the shower head wouldn't adjust.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are so happy that you found the hotel to be comfortable and enjoyable for the entire family. We will look into the shower head issue so your visit will be more enjoyable in the future. Our team are looking forward to seeing your family again very soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Econo Lodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is a 4min walk to the boardwalk. They let us check in earlier which was perfect because we really wanted to enjoy the beach as most as possible. The room was extremely tiny. We had a double bed and we could barely walk inside the room. Its true that you don't spend much time in the room but in reality the few times we actually were in the room it was extremely uncomfortable to move around. The pool has a decent size and its clean. Also, the parking and the WiFi are both free. The staff was very nice and helpful. No breakfast whatsoever. It has quiet and pleasant atmosphere. Good value for your money. No elevators.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor because it doesn't have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We certainly are very close to the beach and have a lovely pool as well as free Wifi and parking! The breakfast part, we are working on developing this in the coming weeks as we are still undergoing upgrades to our operation (changing to a brand). We look forward to your next visit and we can place in you a larger room for better comfort. See you again soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Econo Lodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here so we could see a different part of New Jersey for on night - was a little hesitant after reading some previous reviews. Checkin was smooth and easy and yes the room was tiny, but we don't come on holidays to stay in our room. The location was great a quick walk to the boardwalk but well enough away so you can't hear it. The only one problem was we did have paper thin towels and our hand towel was looked dirty (marks and even was plastering on it), small little things like that make a difference.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at our hotel. We appreciate that you enjoyed the area and the room for the most part. We do understand that you had an issue with the size of the room and we hope we can provide a larger room for you during your next visit. As per the hand towel, we apologize for the issue with marks on it. We have already spoke to housekeeping about verifying that the hand towels are not damaged. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - EconoLodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This Hotel was absolutely a tremendous surprise. Great rooms, the place was updated to the fullest! Like a modern boutique, I truly enjoyed the vibe. If you get a chance check this place out! My stay in Seaside Heights was great, will be traveling there again as soon as I can!

Oh yeah let me add, Housekeeping was phenomenal.

I was very pleasantly surprised with entire experience.

Room Tip: My family really enjoyed the spacious 2 bedroom suite, it was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We appreciate you sharing and look forward to your future visit!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Address: 1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and iCenter, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Parking on-site or nearby? Yep, limited amount. Wi-Fi? Of course! Restaurants and Stores nearby? Gotcha covered. Nightlife? Closeby, but won't disturb your sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.