We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location/Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River to your Saves list
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
GreenLeadersSilver level
upstate New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Location/Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My 12 year old daughter and I stayed at the Econo Lodge for two nights 17July-19 July for a lacrosse tournament being held in Tom's River. It did the trick and I was pleasantly surprised.

I wasn't sure what we would find in Seaside Heights given the fact that Hurricane Sandy swept through less than two years ago and from what I understand, this location is in the process of transitioning over to an Econo Lodge after having been the former Hotel Charlee. The hotel itself is very clean from the lobby area, stair wells and our particular room. The air conditioner worked like a charm and the bed was very comfortable. Our room which was located on the third floor was definitely on the smaller side however we spent most of our time either at lacrosse games or down at the beach/boardwalk area that it really made no difference to us. I believe they have a variety of sized rooms accommodating different numbers of people. There are two sets of stair cases.....the first being from the front lobby and the second down the back of the building into the parking lot. There are little sitting areas at the landing of each floor at the back of the building.

There is a small parking lot which is a bit cramped however we never had trouble finding a place to leave the car when returning at the end of the day. The pool area was clean with many lounge chairs available to sit in. There are also gas grills available for cooking. In the mornings, a small continental breakfast is served in the lobby area which consists of muffins, coffee/tea and some breads for toasting.

The Econo Lodge is about a block and half from the boardwalk and beach and therefore is in a prime location. It was a close walk in the evenings to go down to the boardwalk for dinner and to participate in some of the activities/shopping, etc. offered.

Everyone we encountered working at the hotel was friendly and extremely helpful.

Note that there is no elevator therefore you would want to request a first floor room if you are unable to walk the stairs.

The Econo Lodge is a place in transition ( as are most other places in Seaside Heights ). They offer clean and comfortable rooms in a great location at a decent price. If I'm back down in the vicinity, I would definitely stay at the Econo Lodge again.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so ask for a ground level room if you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about your wonderful stay with us. We are so happy that you found the hotel the perfect place after your daughter's tournament. We are so glad everything was enjoyable as so many guests have experience with us. Our team are looking forward to having you and your family return to stay with us very soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Econo Lodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    4
    2
    9
See reviews for
13
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We rented the "family room" that sleeps 6. It was very clean and good for a family. The staff was friendly and it is just a short walk to the beach/boardwalk. My only complaint is that the shower was very small and the shower head wouldn't adjust.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We are so happy that you found the hotel to be comfortable and enjoyable for the entire family. We will look into the shower head issue so your visit will be more enjoyable in the future. Our team are looking forward to seeing your family again very soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Econo Lodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel is a 4min walk to the boardwalk. They let us check in earlier which was perfect because we really wanted to enjoy the beach as most as possible. The room was extremely tiny. We had a double bed and we could barely walk inside the room. Its true that you don't spend much time in the room but in reality the few times we actually were in the room it was extremely uncomfortable to move around. The pool has a decent size and its clean. Also, the parking and the WiFi are both free. The staff was very nice and helpful. No breakfast whatsoever. It has quiet and pleasant atmosphere. Good value for your money. No elevators.

Room Tip: 1st or 2nd floor because it doesn't have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We want to thank you for sharing your great experience at our hotel. We certainly are very close to the beach and have a lovely pool as well as free Wifi and parking! The breakfast part, we are working on developing this in the coming weeks as we are still undergoing upgrades to our operation (changing to a brand). We look forward to your next visit and we can place in you a larger room for better comfort. See you again soon!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Econo Lodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here so we could see a different part of New Jersey for on night - was a little hesitant after reading some previous reviews. Checkin was smooth and easy and yes the room was tiny, but we don't come on holidays to stay in our room. The location was great a quick walk to the boardwalk but well enough away so you can't hear it. The only one problem was we did have paper thin towels and our hand towel was looked dirty (marks and even was plastering on it), small little things like that make a difference.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at our hotel. We appreciate that you enjoyed the area and the room for the most part. We do understand that you had an issue with the size of the room and we hope we can provide a larger room for you during your next visit. As per the hand towel, we apologize for the issue with marks on it. We have already spoke to housekeeping about verifying that the hand towels are not damaged. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - EconoLodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This Hotel was absolutely a tremendous surprise. Great rooms, the place was updated to the fullest! Like a modern boutique, I truly enjoyed the vibe. If you get a chance check this place out! My stay in Seaside Heights was great, will be traveling there again as soon as I can!

Oh yeah let me add, Housekeeping was phenomenal.

I was very pleasantly surprised with entire experience.

Room Tip: My family really enjoyed the spacious 2 bedroom suite, it was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We appreciate you sharing and look forward to your future visit!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Everything was updated - room wise
Outside still had construction going on
Comfortable beds
Not far from boardwalk or food places
Few blocks from seven eleven
Clean pool
Friendly manager
New TV
Free wifi
Air condition
Decent size bathroom
Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Satisfied Guest,

Thank you for sharing about your wonderful experience at our great hotel! Our staff work hard to keep all the wonderful amenities available for our guests and to help guests have how you so well described as an enjoyable stay. We sincerely appreciate your sharing of a great experience, as so many have, but few will write about!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Hotel Charlee Seaside Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least a few times a month all year round when I go to visit family. I am always taken care of by the very attentive and polite manager during my stay. They are very reasonably priced and provide fresh tea and coffee which is very convenient. I recommend that anyone going to Seaside should stay here and take advantage of the great value and service provided.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy your enjoyed your stay with us. Though we do host so many guests, few take the time to share their great experience. So bravo to you for this, we sincerely appreciate you!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Hotel Charlee Seaside Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Address: 1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and iCenter, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Parking on-site or nearby? Yep, limited amount. Wi-Fi? Of course! Restaurants and Stores nearby? Gotcha covered. Nightlife? Closeby, but won't disturb your sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.