We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great motel with great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great motel with great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

After reviewing many of Seaside's motels, this one was chosen for my daughter and her friend's stay. From the phone call to make the reservation to having to change the date a couple of times, the staff (Kevin and Greg) were very polite and understanding. I was assured that my daughter would be satisfied with her room and her stay (I mentioned the many terrible reviews other Seaside motels got) and if anything wasn't right, they would make it right. My daughter said that the tv wasn't working and beach passes were not given on arrival. After notifying the office, these items were immediately taken care of. My daughter said the room was clean, nice and the staff was friendly and that she would stay at the Sands again. I hope this helps others who read reviews first (as I do) to make their decision easier in choosing a motel at Seaside. Thanks Greg and Kevin!

Room Tip: Its better to book over the phone...and mention that you read the reviews on Tripadvisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for speaking on behalf of our wonderful staff about your experience with our hotel. We take your words with the thought of continually improving our service for our guests. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    4
    2
    9
See reviews for
13
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were extremely small. No closet or dressers. Holes on walls. Very unattractive. We were unable to sleep since the rest of the hotel was having a party until 4 am. When we complaint to management he stated "what do you want us to do shout them all". Dont stay here is not worth the frustration. The service is awful.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry to see an unusual experience like this at our hotel. The size of the hotel rooms is typical and on the larger size for this area. Since your stay, our maintenance team has addressed all those issues you mention. We hope to have you try us again and you will see a difference!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé, my one year old and I decided to take a room with just a queen bed condsidering we can fit in ours at home. We got there, it was not a queen it was a full. So we got a roll out cot which left no room to even walk. The AC barely
worked(it was a window unit that you could have bought from Walmart), there was no remote for the tv or guide to say which channel was which. They offer you free boardwalk badges, but they told us to go down the next morning to get them. The beach opens at 9 and their office doesn't open til 10. The door lock was something you would have in your own bedroom. The outside doors were left open all night, so anyone could have come in and out. The shower head needs to be soaked to it actually comes out from every hole. I don't recommend staying there at all and I never will again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranburyInn, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

We understand you did not find your accommodations spacious for your stay. At Sands Properties, we have 2 buildings with room that can fit a cozy 2 to a spacious 6 people. As we inform all our guests, we do not recommend a room with queen bed to anyone other than a couple. The rooms are also adjoining to another room with queen bed, to be a two-bedroom style unit when needed.
Our hardworking staff would have been happy to see what other options were available if needed.

For the other issues, please understand that this hotel was just acquired by us. We are planning many changes in the future. We hope you try us again and we will be happy to reserve a larger room if possible in your budget.

Best Regards,
Your Staff at Sands Properties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

From the time of arrival we were treated well. The clerk went over the top to satisfy us.
Checked in early answered any questions and attended to any concerned we raised.
Had a great 2 night stay.
Thanks!

Room Tip: First floor a must. Stairs only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranburyInn, Public Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time to write us a review about your stay. Our manager is very appreciative of your comments about his efforts to help guests. We are always happy to work with all guests for any of their needs and will try to do anything possible to achieve such goals. Thank you and see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Your Staff at Sands Properties
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights and the overall trip was very enjoyable. When we first sat on the bed, the frame underneath did break, the microwave didn't work, and there was no remote. But they said the bed breaking wasn't our fault, we immediately got a new microwave, and they brought us a brand new remote. The staff was very friendly. We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and clean. The room's decorations (wallpaper, bed comforter, fridge, etc.) were a little outdated, but that really didn't affect anything. The fridge is very small, but we brought a cooler so that really wasn't a problem. We stayed on the top floor and there was a nice sun deck right outside our door, which was cool. The beach and boardwalk are about a block and a half away. That was extremely convenient. We slept in until about 10 each day, but the walls must be thin or something because we were able to hear other people on our floor awake at much earlier times.
But overall, the room was a great value with friendly service and a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Great value, Great Location, Very accomodating, clean rooms, 1 1/2 blocks from beach and boardwalk, clean pool, nice balconies to hang out and relax !! Owners Pat and Richie are friendly,terrific, down to earth.. any questions...anything you need ... they're right there for you !!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here a couple of nights while on vacation. For a motel at the shore, it meets all requisite requirements: Close to the boardwalk, clean and friendly. The staff are a very nice couple who run the place in the summer. They were very helpful in recommending a place to eat. The rooms could use some updating, but we don't go to the shore for the rooms. Beds were a bit too soft for my preference, but that's just me. Our remote for our TV didn't work and they couldn't seem to get that sorted out while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Address: 1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and iCenter, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Parking on-site or nearby? Yep, limited amount. Wi-Fi? Of course! Restaurants and Stores nearby? Gotcha covered. Nightlife? Closeby, but won't disturb your sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.