We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open Off Season and BYOB!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Fontana Coast

La Fontana Coast
5000 Landis Ave, Sea Isle City, NJ 08243-1741
609-486-6088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Fontana Coast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: Trolley stops during summer season
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Open Off Season and BYOB!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Went there for dinner on a Friday night Girls weekend. Tons of food and it was very good - we had the specials and enjoyed them all but the girls with seafood and pasta dishes had the best meals. Yes - it is a little pricy but it's BYOB so they aren't raking in the profit on the drinks. I know it is crowded in season - but so is any decent restaurant at the shore.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Crowded. Noisy.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place on Polar Bear Plunge Weekend. We were not seated for 20-25 minutes after our reservation. We received a complimentary antipasto as result but then we saw several other tables getting it too so they must have had a serious overbooking issue. The food was good but the waitress seemed rushed and stressed. The atmosphere was loud. And with the crowds, it just did not seem special enough for the price. I would try again midweek during the summer season or on a non specialty weekend off season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The food here is very good, never had a bad meal. Lobster raviolis are excellent. Not the best place to bring a child though, they don't have a children's menu and charged us $18.95 for pasta and butter for my daughter. So blown away when we received the bill when we questioned they were adamant that that was the price. Will go again but not with our children!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“BYOB AND ENJOY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

There are 5 Italian restaurants in Sea Isle City. This one is simply incredible. First, the negatives: crowded, noisy, and on street parking. That's it. The service is unhurried. The wait staff are happy to guide you through the extensive menu. The preparation and presentation of your dinner is above the norm...especially considering that you are in a resort town. I enjoyed the Veal ala Fontana. The veal filled my plate and was served with a rich, dark brown sauce, portabella mushrooms & mozarella cheese. Delicious. My wife raved about her lobster ravioli. It was prepared in a blush cream sauce with crab meat, scallops and spinach. While my bride can eat, she did have to bring home a doggie bag. If you are looking for a dinner of meatballs and spaghetti, you should try a different restaurant. However, if a truly wonderful italian dining experience is more to your liking, then you might consider visiting their website and begin your decision-making process.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice Italian with some special offerings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The gnocchi in Gorgonzola cream sauce is great. It's a little one-note, but great if you can split with others. They always offer specials which are worth considering. Otherwise, the Italian offerings are solid. This is a nice restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana Coast also viewed

Sea Isle City, Jersey Shore
Sea Isle City, Jersey Shore
 
Sea Isle City, Jersey Shore
Sea Isle City, Jersey Shore
 

Been to La Fontana Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fontana Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.