We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped on a whim. We will go back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rod's Olde Irish Tavern

Rod's Olde Irish Tavern
507 Washington Blvd, Sea Girt, NJ 08750-2904
732-449-2020
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Sea Girt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Stopped on a whim. We will go back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The wife and I were passing through Sea Girt recently and decided to look for a place to eat. I'm glad Rod's was the first place we noticed. The restaurant is divided into two areas, the dining room and the bar. The dining room is just tables and booths with little else to draw your attention. The bar is surrounded by booths and a few high tables. There are plenty of TVs and the area is a bit noisier. The bar itself is fairly large and has a lot of seating. We sat in a booth at end of the bar and were very comfortable. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. I had the open faced chicken salad while the wife had a cobb salad with the bacon and bleu cheese on the side. Both were excellent as was the service. Attentive but not overbearing. We went on an off hour. Since the place isn't that large, I can see a wait in your future if you go during standard dinner hours.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy food with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

There was nothing not to like! There were six of us in our party and all were well fed & satisfied after a perfect evening at the pub!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best By the Beach Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you are looking for a nice place to each after a "day trip" to Sea Girt-Rod's is the Place. The food is consistently good and not just pub food. While they have outstanding burgers and fries, they also have a wonderful selection of seafood, pasta and a variety of salads. If you are going for dinner on a weekend, get off the beach around 4-change in the locker rooms on the boardwalk and get over to Rod's otherwise the way could be really long. There are very few good restaurants in the area. Great place to bring the kids after the beach, grab a beer in the pub area and watch one of their numerous TV's. The other side is a little quieter (white table clothes and no tv's) -but still child friendly. No need to get real dressed up-a nice sundress or shorts will do. Believe me you will not be dissappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Said to say, our recent visit to Rod's was disappointing. It used to be a great go-to pub, but we found it run-down with only fair food and service. Good bar-scene for older crowd.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Consistently Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Love the bar scene here! The bartenders are attentive and interesting and the food is very good. Husband is a fan of the penne vodka pasta and I love the salmon over salad. The breadsticks and butter are addictive. Wine list by the glass is varied and above average.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod's Olde Irish Tavern also viewed

Sea Girt, Jersey Shore
Sea Girt, Jersey Shore
 
Sea Girt, Jersey Shore
Sea Girt, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Rod's Olde Irish Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod's Olde Irish Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.