We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible AND overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Scotchwood Diner

The Scotchwood Diner
1934 Us Highway 22, Scotch Plains, NJ 07076-1012
908-322-4114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 41 Restaurants in Scotch Plains
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Terrible AND overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

I went here with my boyfriend for a late night dinner. While our server was nice, we both suspected that she had a bit to drink. She was slurry and swaying and often leaned on the table or our shoulders while talking. The food was awful. Even the salad that came with my boyfriends entree was wilted and old. The sauce on the chicken Parmesan tasted ketchupy. The pita on my gyro was stale. I won't be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for a Diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

For the diner category, I would rate this Good (vs Average but no Good category). The cheeseburgers are excellent and great kids menu.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I Can No Longer Even Like This Place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The management of this diner needs a serious course in customer service, hygienic appearance, and staff training.

The evening manager needs personal grooming and has no place in a food establishment. When my sister and I last visited, the waitresses actually argued within our earshot about which of them would "have" to serve us! My only compliment is that they have good coleslaw. Never will I return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Graet Diner Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have patronized this establishment several times over these past years. Diner food has always been a favorite of mine. Always a great meal with wonderful prices. Scotchwood is no different. Staff is great. Go. Eat, and enjoy!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good eats, standard diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Finally got here. Drive by it all the time, and my kids always want to check it out. Classic stainless steel decor gives the place a great "diner" feel. Huge menu made choosing a meal tough, but all was good in the end. Diso fries were excellent as was chicken entrees. Nachos were horrible, kids enjoyed sandwiches, so it was above average overall. Service was good, and bill was not too harmful to wallet.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scotchwood Diner also viewed

 
Scotch Plains, NJ
 

Been to The Scotchwood Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scotchwood Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.