We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather like a country estate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Saddle River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Saddle River to your Saves list
Residence Inn Saddle River
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Boroline Road, Saddle River, NJ 07458   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saddle River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ithaca NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Rather like a country estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This Residence Inn was reminiscent of an estate in a pleasant, quiet, wooded, semi-rural area. We stayed while driving out of New York city, and it is ideal for that purpose being in relatively easy reach of the city (about a half hour driving). The suite was clean and well-appointed with a very comfortable firm plush bed. The breakfast was standard Residence Inn (though I am sorry that the chain has gone to disposable plastic dishes, which has really downgraded the ambiance). The dining room was very crowded at 9am on a Sunday, and, our only real complaint, smelled strongly of fried waffles: the dining room needs an extraction fan. So we ate outside on the pleasant patio, though again there was not enough seating. Overall a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM122, General Manager at Residence Inn Saddle River, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Wow Gibberellin, I think I am going to use your comment "“Rather like a country estate” in our future marketing. I know people can check out the photos online but it is not truly until you get here that you truly see how relaxing our setting is. You can almost feel the stress wash away as you pull into our drive way after pulling off the busy NJ Route 17 south.

We are planning a gate house renovation in February and hope to be able to offer more seating that will make it more comfortable during our breakfast and evening social periods. Please be sure to check us out on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    30
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
22
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the residence inn saddle river. The hotel is very nice and clean. However the cons are:

1) tiny pool.
2) pool area is so small that the chairs are next to the pool and if anyone is swimming inside you'll get wet by the splashes.
3) small guest rooms.
4) first time in my life I saw a hotel ask theor guests to sign a letter that our kids will not make any noise.
4) hotel staff was rude and far from acommodating. We booked this reservation through Marriott International and was confirmed a rollaway bed for a charge of $5 per night and it showed up on our confirmation email a $5 charge per night for the rollaway bed, when we checked in we were told that this property does not have any rollaway beds but can be provided extra linen. we showed up in our room and asked housekeeping for the extra linen she said that they don't have any extra linens. That same night I was sitting in the lobby when I saw a woman approaching the front desk agent and asked for extra linen the guy went to the back room and got her some.

I wouldn't return here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM122, General Manager at Residence Inn Saddle River, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you Joelshtesl for your remarks. I am so sorry you felt less than welcome during your visit. As you have seen from the many responses we receive this is not a typical guest experience. We work so hard to make sure that every encounter is a friendly, positive, and welcoming experience.
The letter we present our guests on weekends is our "Party Policy". Many hotels use communications like this to just be sure that guests are all courteous to each other by not slamming doors, running up and down the hallways or playing loud music in their rooms, etc. Obviously these are common courtesies and should go without saying but sadly this gentle nudge can reduce disturbances to you from our other guests during your stay.
I should definitely apologize for the confusion regarding the roll-a-way. Each of our suites comes complete with pull out sofa beds. For that reason we do not have any roll-a-way beds on site. Each room has a complete bedding bag in the closet and one should have been provided to you.
I have discussed your comments with our team and we are committed to making your future stays one more consistent with the service level our guests typically receive. Please feel free to contact me directly when making your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We are from the Netherlands and stayed here on a vacation for 9 days, with two young children. We had a beautiful well kept room, good breakfasts and light dinners, the service and helpfulness of the staff was wonderful. The grounds of the hotel are very green and well kept, nice pool, kids enjoyed the basketball court and running around the grounds. Within 35 minutes (outside rush hour) we were midtown Manhattan via GWB by car. It was a perfect stay, and I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM122, General Manager at Residence Inn Saddle River, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your response and the recommendation. We are so thrilled you and your family enjoyed your time with us. It is really is nice to be able to enjoy the city while staying in our more relaxing rural setting.

Some of our guests avoid driving all together by taking the NJ Transit Rail from Allendale into Hoboken, NJ or the city. The trains are very nice and clean and once in the city you don't have to worry with parking. Check with the front desk on your next visit and we will have you commuting like a local in no time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Recently, my wife and I were traveling to Wyckoff for a party and wanted to find a hotel nearby. So, we decided to stay at the Residence Inn in Saddle River, just off Rt. 17. While the room was small, the room rate was very reasonable, the staff was nice and the hotel grounds are relaxing. We would recommend this property but be sure to book early. The place was packed, for the reasons that I mentioned previously.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM122, General Manager at Residence Inn Saddle River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
From your name, MassRoadWarrior, I know you must be a seasoned traveler and am thrilled that you chose us. Sometimes with all the extra amenities including the full size refrigerator, dishwasher, stove and pull out sofa some guests may feel a little cramped. I am sorry this was the case with your visit. We do have several different configurations available to fit many needs. Our team is here to do what we can to make you as comfortable as possible whether for a night of a month. All in all we are glad to hear you had a great visit and to receive your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Wyckoff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Excellent Residence Inn ...........
+ Spacious & Well-lit Rooms
+ Well Maintained location
+ Clean Bathrooms (no broken tiles,no water traces on ceiling, etc)
+ Superb Breakfast
+ Conveniently located off NJ-17 & close to other major Interstate Highways
+ Courteous Staff
+ Tranquil loation

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM122, General Manager at Residence Inn Saddle River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
It’s hard to believe Venkat B that our property is 11 years old. Our maintenance & housekeeping team are like “super sleuths” looking for preventive maintenance items before the guest has a chance to get inconvenienced by it. We are blessed to have an ownership / management company that believes in reinvesting in their properties. Our latest guest room renovation was completed just last year with all new beds in December. Our gate house is beautiful but ownership / management is planning a refresh in 2014. Come back and see us so we can show off the new space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a fabulous surprise! Our stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Saddle River NJ was wonderful! Spacious rooms, clean and spacious bathroom, kitchen and living area. We had two rooms and it was like living in a house. Breakfast was terrific too. If you're in the area, be sure to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM122, General Manager at Residence Inn Saddle River, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you Margaret H for such a glowing recommendation, one of our greatest assets is the residential feel our hotel enjoys. Our team members work very hard to make each guest feel like a family member visiting our home. After all “It’s not a room, it’s a Residence”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent memorial weekend in this property just before we go to woodbury commons in central valley ny. A 35 min drive from the property. The hotel is nice and clean. The staff is as usual attentive and superb. Steven who was the Front desk person during that morning was very knowledgeable about the property and remembers you by name.

Breakfast is as always great in a residence inn property.

Barbeque grill on site was exactly what i needed.

See you again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM122, General Manager at Residence Inn Saddle River, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you Tsak C. for spending your Memorial Day with us. Steven was so excited to hear of your kind words. We really do care about creating a guest experience. The 2nd grill was a new addition this summer and if you return in the fall be sure to ask for our "smores kits" for use at the fire-pit. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Saddle River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Saddle River

Address: 7 Boroline Road, Saddle River, NJ 07458
Location: United States > New Jersey > Saddle River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saddle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Saddle River 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Saddle River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Saddle River Hotel Saddle River
Saddle River Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Saddle River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.