We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Following the BARN tradition” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rockaway River Barn

Rockaway River Barn
11 Green Pond Rd, Rockaway, NJ 07866
+1 973-453-6900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 84 Restaurants in Rockaway
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our mission is to become your favorite local restaurant. We strive to provide down home, affordable, cutting-edge MELTING POT AMERICAN CUISINE using the finest farm fresh, local ingredients. We are committed to quality, value, friendliness and your total satisfaction.We are a family gathering place- come share the warm, friendly atmosphere – pregame, postgame, anytime. Our bar boasts 12 hi-def flatscreen TV's - all 54" along with 3 82" flatscreens! Great for your favorite sports team any time of the year!Enjoy Barn Cuisine for Lunch, Dinner, and Sunday Brunch. We serve Great Burgers, Steaks, Seafood, Salads, Pastas andOur Famous Brick-Oven Pizza. Open 7 days til 2 A.M. 364 days a year - closed on Christmas Day.Great local entertainment late night.
Mt. Arlington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Following the BARN tradition”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This restaurant is identical to the Black River Barn. The food is good and the service was excellent. The prices are very reasonable and for sports fans there are many large screen TVs. If you are looking for gourmet dining and a quiet place this is not the one for you, but for good solid food, reasonably priced the Barn meet that need.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    23
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockaway, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than average for the area..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I am a life long resident of the area - we have lacked a good local joint to have a nice meal and entertainment in for years. We now have a place! The food is very good, not gourmet by any means but good. The entertainment has been wonderful each time we have gone in. After 11 the crowd turns a bit younger and a bit louder but still fun! The help has been friendly but they are a bit slow sometimes.
Recommend the Asian dumplings for appy and the turkey burgers. Oinkatini's are fun too!
We went for the Easter brunch... very well done! One of the best holiday brunches in the area by a long shot!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
656 reviews 656 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
530 helpful votes 530 helpful votes
“Apparently, Sunday Brunch is a Different Experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our family picked this for an Easter Sunday Brunch and boy am I glad I didn't look at the other reviews first!! Two of the three would have made me a little nervous going in! I note though that the other reviewers went there for regular meals. I therefore have no reason to question their reviews, except for the characterization that this is a "chain restaurant". The fact that the owners have three completely different restaurants, and one that only has a similar name, does not make it a "chain" - at least not as most people understand the meaning of the term.
Anyway, we were seated quickly and pleasantly, and our server was likewise pleasant and reasonably quick, except for a couple of times when she seemed to disappear, She didn't rush us, even when we kind of hung around chatting - except that I think she could have waited for us to get up before she started clearing placemats and drinks. The complimentary Mimosas were a nice touch. The buffet had a nice selection - nothing incredible, but a variety of nicely prepared foods. Nothing was noticeably microwaved, underdone, overdone, or otherwise poorly prepared. I have seen worse buffets, and better buffets generally cost a lot more.
I think this was a good choice, and I'd go back.
BTW - I previously went to this location when it was a Damon's Grill (chain). Everything was fairly average, but the place was LOUD. Having a comfortable conversation was problematic. I don't know what the currrent owners did but, at least for Sunday brunch, the noise level was fine for talking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Township, NJ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Horrible is nicer than they expect”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I live three miles from here so gave them three chances. That is three more than they deserved. The food is microwaved, the service is awful and the wait staff is rude. Steer clear from this place. AWFUL on all counts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great addition to the area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I'm really glad the barn has taken this place and made it exactly what it needed to be. The food is diverse and delicious, the pizza is especially good. The bar scene is perfect, plenty of tv's and live music, which not many places don't have any more. Finally, the employees and their service is great!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rockaway River Barn also viewed

Rockaway, Morris County
Rockaway, Morris County
 
Rockaway, Morris County
Rockaway, Morris County
 

Been to Rockaway River Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rockaway River Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.