We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Selction and Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NJ Buffet Hibachi Grill & Sushi

NJ Buffet Hibachi Grill & Sushi
92 Route 23 North #D1, Riverdale, NJ
862-377-0598
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 Restaurants in Riverdale
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food, Selction and Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A new buffet in the area with a good selction of food and a great price, and there are discounts for seniors.. We enoyed every selection of food that we had. As far as local buffets this is the most reasonaby priced and largest selction of food. It has only been open a short time and we enjoyed it enough to already have been there five times. If looking for a buffet this is worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Price and Wide Selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This place is great for the price, and has a wide selection of food! Came here because of the advertisement I saw in the paper stating their price, and including a coupon. When I went in we did not wait for a table and was immediately sat. The only reason why I didn't give 5 stars is because the service from the servers was just not that great. However, I will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Same old buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very affordable place for lunch, but the food needs to improve. I'll give it another try sometime soon.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Sushi, great price, mixed review on entrees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

When this was recommended to us we decided to check it out while passing through the area. Don't let the inexpensive price blind you to taste. The sushi is fine, although not many options. I found many items (especially the fried ones) over-cooked and greasy (more than normal asian cuisine). I also didn't see many entrees that suited me. I did like the fresh salad, fruit, dessert and ice cream bars. There is something for everyone. Service was fast, although not necessarily friendly. It's sort of a fast-paced atmosphere. I'd say even if you go there for sushi, you've done well. I just wanted to be a little more impressed with the appetizers and entrees. Take-out is an option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belen,NM
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A BOUNTIFUL, TASTY EATING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This treasure is located in the Riverdale Square Shopping Center on Route 23 North . We stopped the week after it opened in May 2013. It is the BEST Asian and American buffet I have experienced in the USA. There were over 300 items; Asian soups, salad makings, and a wide array of meats, vegetables, and fish dishes. And, don't forget the wide array of suschi. All were well prepared, hot, and mouthwatering. Everything was very hot, well seasoned and not overly spiced. Meats were tender, fish and shrimp were well presented and prepared.
There were so many items on the buffet bar we did not even get to the hibachi or grill. We had lunch ( 11 AM -3:30 PM weekdays for an astonishing low price of $6.99 per person. And, 10% discount for senior ! YEAH ! !
This is a sure-to-please experience. The décor was inviting; the tables well sectioned into areas seating about 60 people; no crowding, and a sense of privacy in your area. Waitress did not speak English, but at a place like this their only function is bring drinks and clear the table. Drinks were replenished in a reasonable amount of time.
Myself and three guests were all delighted with this find. When word gets out, this place will have a line well onto the highway. One of our guests chowed down on the mac N cheese and the vegetables.
Take out is available and reasonable priced for the excellent quality and wide variety of foods presented.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NJ Buffet Hibachi Grill & Sushi also viewed

Pompton Plains, NJ
Riverdale, Morris County
 
Riverdale, Morris County
Riverdale, Morris County
 

Been to NJ Buffet Hibachi Grill & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NJ Buffet Hibachi Grill & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.