We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Pinot Grigio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery

Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery
600 Railroad Avenue, Rio Grande, NJ 08242
(609) 846- 7347
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three generations of the Wuerker family have lovingly cultivated the farmland at Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery. The sandy soils and ocean breezes provide the perfect conditions for great grape growing. Vineyard guests taste our diverse collection of wines at the extra-long mahogany bar and meander through the vines with bottles of wine and picnic baskets. Tastings are educational and enjoyable. Please join us.Off Season: 12pm-5pm dailyPeak Season: 11am-7pm(Call to confirm hours)Sangria Sundays are every Sunday from Memorial Day to Labor Day, 12-7pm.
Oxford
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Loved the Pinot Grigio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A nice tasting room with a pleasant server. They had the best wine glasses out of all that we brought home with us. We also bought one of their red wines but I can't recall the name right now. Their prciing seemed very fair.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    61
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DE
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved Hawk Haven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to Hawk Haven Winery. The staff at the winery are so knowledgeable and friendly. The atmosphere is laid back and the tasting is managed very well, no "wine snobs" here! The Chardonnay is phenomenal and my personal favorite at this vineyard. The grounds are wonderful for events even have a sand pit if you want to bring the kiddies. You can order wine by the glass and the cheese plates are delicious. Cannot wait to visit Hawk Haven again--wish we lived closer!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glassboro NJ area
1 review
“Flavorful Wines and A Staff that will keep you in smiling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Josh was our host and his knowledge of the wines was astounding. He has a great sense of humor and did quite well playing off of the other host Karl. He took is time to explain each of the 8 wines during our tasting, and if we had any questions he was quick to give us an answer. After the wine tasting, we each enjoyed a full glass of wine of our choice and a cheese tray in the sitting room. By the way, Josh knows his cheeses too. It was an extraordinary fun filled afternoon and we will be returning soon.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice wines and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stopped by this past weekend. Great wines; well made and balanced. Sticking to European varietals is what we liked best and the winemaker brings out the characteristics or each grape. The pour was generous which allows you to get a true taste. The overall cost to value ratio was good and most wines were under $20, but there were a couple that topped $30+. The staff was very friendly and knows wine. Definitely recommend.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
“Very Nice Tasting Room and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stopped for a tasting at this Vineyard. The staff were knowledgeable and welcoming. We had a lovely tasting and purchased a bottle. I would recommend Hawk Haven to anyone visiting Cape May.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery also viewed

Cape May, Jersey Shore
Cape May, Jersey Shore
 
Cape May Court House, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.