We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skylands Castle is a GEM” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle at Skylands Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle at Skylands Manor to your Saves list
The Castle at Skylands Manor
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   5 Morris Road, Ringwood, NJ 07456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringwood
Rockaway, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Skylands Castle is a GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We stayed at the Castle for a get away, but close to home. We felt like we were staying in a romantice Castle from years past. The rooms were very big and with great detail. We stayed in a gastby room( we had our own bathroom). For the price this place is a FIND. We toured the entire castel and its wonderfull grounds. If you want to get lost in nature they have 1000 acres of so. They do not have a restaurant but recomended several a few miles away, that worked out. The breakfast was wonderfull and the sleep better. I would try this place out for your self befor they raise the rates.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    10
    14
    8
See reviews for
7
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

My wife and I were married at Skyland Manor five years ago and decided to celebrate our 5th year anniversary staying overnight at Skyland Manor. It really gave us the chance to explore the grounds and the rooms in more detail. We love the opportunity to stay at the manor. The staff was wonderful. The breakfast was great. It felt like we had the whole mansion to ourselves. The beds were comfortable. The heat worked very well in contrast to other reviewer's experiences at the Skyland Manor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garfield, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Go for a day trip, not an overnight. My husband and I stayed the weekend after we got married. We arrived late that night and after our wedding day we had to park a ways from the castle and walk to the manor in the pitch black with our luggage. Our bathrooms were antique in a creepy way and dirty. They had not heated our rooms prior to us getting there and we frooze that night. Also there was a window open for an AC that we could not close, or take out the unit. The hospitality was also lacking, we had to search around to find anybody to help us or give us directions to the trials etc. We also had to pay for the waters that were left in our room. I hear the breakfast has been changed since we've been there but it was a terribly assorted continental. Not a bed and breakfast at all.
The grounds are simply gorgeous, and we spent the majority of our time outdoors. If you like hiking, nature and the fall foliage the location is perfect. The house itself is majestic, and a trip to the past. The castle and the manor has so much to offer, simple old fasion hospitality would make it an unforgettable experience. It's a shame that this piece of history can not be enjoyed to its fullest potential.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ringwood hotels

Fair Haven, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Although the Castle is located on beautiful grounds, once you step inside beware.
"CREEPY" explains it all. My fiance have never experienced anything like this. We love to travel and experience new things but this was unbearable. We knew we weren't checking into a 5star hotel but we were not expecting this! Everything was filthy! From the windows to the bathroom, everything was just disgusting. After settling into our room, we found a centipede crawling on our bed sheets. The bath rooms were not well cleaned and the heat did not work. The Castle also has a separate parking lot which lacks lights(hope you like walking in the dark). Also, we experienced someone rattling with our door knob several times. Again, CREEPY! I still can't even understand how people book weddings there. This place is by no means romantic! I would NEVER recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010 via mobile

I have never been treated as though I were invisible in my entire life. We were not told there was an event and not only were ignored but our room was overlooking the very noisy event. It was early and yet many people were already drunk and disruptive. Linda was very rude and refused to be of any assistance. She just lost a potential customer because I will never even consider planning anything here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at Skylands Manor. We booked our stay for a Thursday and prior to checking in, enjoyed a lovely day visiting the grounds and gardens of the immense property and botannical gardens. It was a very hot day and early in the season, after the azaleas had bloomed, but before much of the other plantings had come into view, but the gardens were still beautiful. The Castle is rich in history and architecture and all the rooms of the castle were available for a self-guided tour. Don't forget to bring your camera! It truly is a castle with 400 year old stained glass medallions in windows, Gothic and Tudor decor and exquisite wood panels and moldings and fireplaces throughout. Our room was spacious with a large bathroom and comfortable furnishings at a very reasonable price. The plaster ceilings had interesting designs and even the hardware for the radiator and windows were exquisite antiquities. The following morning, we enjoyed freshly cooked scrambled eggs with bacon, together with a buffet of bagels, cereals, fresh fruit, juice, coffee or tea which we ate outside overlooking the fountain and gardens. I would like to return in the Fall or Spring to enjoy more of the hiking trails. We also visited Ringwood Park down the road a bit and took a tour of the unassuming mansion situated there for a guided but spectacular tour of another historical gem. If you want pampering and modernity, this is not the place to go. If you can appreciate architecture, history and enjoy gardens and hiking, this is the place to go. During peak season, it may be difficult to book a room during the wkend because there are many weddings catered here (which I would love to see given the opportunity). The Castle is a bed and breakfast, but it is so large that it doesn't have the usual B&B cozy feel (and there are tvs in the rooms) which some people don't like. We came to see the castle and gardens and park, not be pampered. There is a pool table, but not much of an exercise room or recreation room. I would not recommend staying here with young children, although the grounds and park would be a nice place to bring your kids, just not for an overnight stay. In the event it rains, be sure to have a bottle of wine and a good book to fill in some time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

My husband and I attended a wedding at the Castle and decided to make a weekend of it. My husband told them that it was our anniversary the following week, and when we arrived to our room, there was a chilled bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and rose petals sprinkled on the bed. That was such a beautiful surprise. The wedding was spectacular and our entire stay was everything I could hope for. The scenery is breathtaking and the room was clean, comfortable, quite, and very romantic. The staff was attentive in every way.
We will absolutely return to this exquisite property.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle at Skylands Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Skylands Manor

Address: 5 Morris Road, Ringwood, NJ 07456
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ringwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle at Skylands Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Groupon and Tingo so you can book your The Castle at Skylands Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Skylands Manor Hotel Ringwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle at Skylands Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.