We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle at Skylands Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle at Skylands Manor to your Saves list
The Castle at Skylands Manor
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   5 Morris Road, Ringwood, NJ 07456   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringwood
North Andover, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a wonderfully romantic location! The castle is fascinating and the botanical gardens surrounding it are beautiful. We economized by getting the cheapest room, so we weren't surprised that it was on the small side. However, the room was very attractive and the bed extremely comfortable. It was nice to have a sink in the room since we were using hall bathrooms. We always had the bathrooms (separate men's and ladies' bathrooms, each with one shared sink and two large stalls with a toilet and a tub/shower) to ourselves. If you are up for a splurge, the queen suite is absoluetly gorgeous with a bedroom, sitting room, and huge bathroom. When Colin gave us a tour he mentioned that they often offer Group-ons with substantial discounts on all the rooms, including suites. We'll be on alert for one of those to book a return stay. The gardens would be great to see at different times of the year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    10
    14
    8
See reviews for
7
69
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very old, quaint and well maintained. Huge grounds. Spectacular. Room was ideal and meals excellent. Staff very friendly. Plenty of secure parking. attended the hotel for a destination wedding and this was the perfect venue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice overnight stay. Checkin was simple and easy. We arrived in the evening and had an opportunity to self tour the castle. It was a very nice experience. Castle was clean and the kids enjoyed it. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with a nice assortment of food and drink. The grounds were large and the landscaping was beautiful. I would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I made a reservation here for our 4 year anniversary and I have to say I could not have picked a better more romantic place to go. When we arrived just before check in we were given our keys right away. Check in took all of 10 minutes. Everyone who greeted us had a smile on their face and were happy to see us. We asked if exploring the castle was OK and were advised we were free to explore. My wife could not believe the architecture. We had a nice picnic in the garden and walked around for hours. Our room was the best, it was right above the entrance of the castle and gave us a fantastic view. we had our wine glasses at hand and decided to go exploring. We walked for hours and checked out every room that was not closed. This castle is amazing, i see some post that its a bit run down and that it has stains on the ceilings. It is an old castle not a 5 start hotel people, it is not going to be completely remodeled it would take away from what it is. Yes some doors stick, the water pressure was not the greatest, but come on you are sleeping in a castle. We stayed out on the side of the castle well into the night lying on the cool grass watching the stars which I have to say you have never seen the stars until you lay on your back on the top of this mountain. (It’s a garden, bring bug spray. Tons of it if possible, we were destroyed by the mosquitos, but that is expected)

Anyway.

We walked every floor and got the opportunity to see so many cool rooms from bedrooms to libraries and even a hidden office behind a wall. This is where we first ran into Colin. WOW. This guy had to be the coolest ever, he gave us a small tour of the place telling us about the once existing tunnels under the castle created during the prohibition era and educating us on every room. He was great as he walked with us while doing his duties. We continued exploring finding the reception area in the castle used for weddings. AMAZING is the best word I could find, we then ran into Colin again. He guided us and explained where we could and could not go which was great we did not want anyone getting in trouble. We then found the chapel in the basement. It was dark and about midnight so when Colin popped out of a door he scared the crap out of us adding to the creepy yet awesome fact we were exploring a castle at night. He explained we could not go further as the rest was the basement area. After exploring the whole castle we chatted a bit with Colin and went to bed. Around 3am.


What made this place Great – It’s a castle, what woman would not want to stay there. There is a Huge garden on the grounds, The lawn is perfect for watching the sunset. Picnics are OK, you can explore, and I would say the more surprising part of it all COLIN. We expected to have a good time; we expected everything except running into him. I can speak about him for a while but I will allow you the chance to meet him and make the judgment on your own.

What you should not like about the place – Bugs, people it is a castle in the middle of a botanical garden, you should expect there to be some bugs. We did not see one inside but I did see some review stating bugs. Please people, make sense. Dark at night, bring lanterns and or flashlights and you can explore outside if you wish.

Skyland Manor – Don’t ever change, your grounds are beautiful and magical. Keep your staff they are all great, and give Colin a raise. This man took really good care of us. We have stayed in 5 star hotels before and other B&B’s and have never received the attention from staff we received while visiting you guys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Driving up to the castle we were very excited. The building and property is breath taking. Check in could have been better. We were 35 minutes early and told we could not check in until 4:00 (really?). I find it hard to believe no rooms were ready at 3:25 (Esp on a Sunday). To be honest we were disappointed with our room. The bedroom had a distinct mildew smell. Looking at the ceiling there is a large brown water stain (obvious long term water leak issue). TV was missing the remote and there was no channel guide card (would not take much effort to print out and laminate one). The hotel is selling its self as a "romantic destination" with no TV in the bedroom there should have been a large comfy couch facing the TV in the main quarters in which to snuggle on. In room dining menu needs to have more then just "fast food" items and candy (We new this going in though).

We checked out late. This was due to being up at the crack of dawn due to bright sunlight. THE WINDOWS HAD NO CURTAINS?!?!? We had to pull the blankets over are heads to block it out. Upon turning in the key we were given a "look" that felt like "About time". yes the check out times are listed but every hotel I've ever stayed in gives leeway. I find hard to believe that it takes 6 hours to change sheets/towels, empty garbage's and give a quick vacuum (if needed).


Biggest issue is the parking. The walking distance to the parking lots is long (If you have any issues with walking more then a 100 yards this is not the hotel for you). and that the castle shares the parking with the park so it's an issue. I was stuck in lot B which was quite a hike back to the hotel esp. in the heat.I was not comfortable leaving my car so far from the hotel. Valet or some sort of shuttle service could be a solution.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ringwood hotels

New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very nice place--that it's a tiny bit rundown adds to its charm. Colin is a fabulous and generous host who keeps good care of the old building and goes out of his way for the guests. For the price, it’s a steal and a great getaway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I just spent the most amazing weekend at the castle! The Castle is so cool!! We were rather late Arriving, but Colin still greeted us and took us on a tour of the castle, we were blown away by the place. Yes, if you want to nit pic there are some minor things that need to be fixed, but we thought it added to the charm. Colin was incredibly friendly and helpful, the grounds surrounding the castle are amazing. I would love to stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle at Skylands Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Skylands Manor

Address: 5 Morris Road, Ringwood, NJ 07456
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ringwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle at Skylands Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Castle at Skylands Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Skylands Manor Hotel Ringwood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle at Skylands Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.