We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait time, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cravings Tapas Bistro

Cravings Tapas Bistro
8 Wilsey Square, Ridgewood, NJ 07450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 100 Restaurants in Ridgewood
Cuisines: Tapas
Restaurant details
Paterson, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Long wait time, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Despite having reservations we still had to wait a little while. Sangria was great and a huge size for 2 people. The food overall was very great. I wasn't a big fan of just 2 kinds of the empanadas but the others were great. We ordered 8tapas and they were very tasty ovetall. Great to have a local tapas that offers a great range of food with infusions of different flavors.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“taste of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

nice little space. 1st time there and it was packed on a Thursday night. make sure you have a resy. the menu has tastes from all over the globe. seems a little odd at first and then you realize that most are prepared very well. great for sharing. service can be a little scattered after your order. a lot of plates coming all at same time and then some randomly show up by themselves later on as if they were almost forgotten. However, mussels, gnocchi with lamb ragu, shortrib quesadilla and crab cakes were all very good. don't forget to finish with the zeppole tree. who doesn't love cotton candy?

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
859 reviews 859 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 150 cities Reviews in 150 cities
1,139 helpful votes 1,139 helpful votes
“This new restaurant is a nice addition to the Ridgewood dining scene.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This new restaurant now occupies the space previously taken by Marcello's for many years. The idea of "small plates" has really taken off, and in this case, someone has taken a lot of time and trouble to marry unusual ingredients to make very flavorful dishes. For 3 of us we ordered 8 items and finished 95% of what we ordered. Despite our request that the dishes be staggered in their delivery, the waiter, Carlos, told us that the dishes come out according to the chef's preference. I would respectfully suggest that the delivery of the dishes not be at the same time so that all the food may be consumed while hot. Also, with 8 dishes, the table is just not big enough to hold them all at the same time. Besides, a restaurant should serve according to the diners' preferences, not the chef's. We felt that we were being forced to eat too fast, as the food was piled up in front of us. For a weeknight, the restaurant was totally full and even turned away some without reservations. Despite our complaints I am rating this establishment as very good because the food is really very good, even if most was eaten cold. We especially liked the meatballs. Except for this kitchen's idiosyncrasy about serving everything at once, the service was very good. In good weather there are a few tables outside on the sidewalk.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoyed the experience more than the food. A fun menu but food wasn't amazing. Would recommend the traditional empanadas and the flatbread pizza. Skip the lobster bisque. The red sangria was very good. By far the best thing was the service. Waiter was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Cozy tapas place , can get really cramped.
Food was not bad, but not great either. My favorite was the gnocchi topped with lamb, although the lamb was a little bit too salty. I thought that the crab cakes were small and fishy and I did not enjoy the sweetness of the short rib quesadilla.
My friends said their food was just OK ….

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cravings Tapas Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Cravings Tapas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cravings Tapas Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.