We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 37

Cafe 37
37 Broad Street, Ridgewood, NJ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 102 Restaurants in Ridgewood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Previously a Thai restaurant...has been opened about 3 weeks...EXCELLENT FOOD and SERVICE
Hackensack, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Café-37 is a nice new restaurant among many found in Ridgewood, NJ. The décor is tastefully done in a relaxing environment. The service is very knowledgeable regarding their menu, friendly and helpful. The food although a little pricey was well worth it as the portions were surprisingly larger than expected and everything was cooked perfectly and delicious. I would highly recommend this place and definitely would go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    9
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midland Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice meal, quiet atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Nice space for this restaurant. The tables were spaced well and it felt quiet for a group of 6 for talking and catching up. The appetizers - soft shell crab was "good" as per husband and the duck pot pie was fabulous (needs to be an entree) with salad, which was a tad over-dressed. Onto entrees - lamb was excellent, as well seafood special! Sorry, too full for dessert!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Won't be going back to Cafe 37!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband and I visited when they first opened and thought it was pretty good. Since we enjoy a variety we hadn't been back in a while until last month. Mt husband ordered the Ahi Tuna and thought it wasn't as fresh as it could be but it was edible. To my regret I ordered the Seafood Pot and was sick for days later. I was rather hungry when I began eating so I didn't pay much attention but after several bites I realized something in the dish was foul smelling. I won't be going back even though they have some fabulous desserts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Average dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

I went to Cafe 37 wanting to love it. I just don't feel it lived up to its reputation. The appetizers were good, but I wasn't blown away. The seafood bowl dinner was very small and not very impressive. My filet was prepared really well, but the wine reduction sauce tasted like brown gravy.
Desserts were excellent. We shared the bread pudding and the cream brulee This restaurant did not have the "wow" factor.
I think the waitstaff was excellent. Very attentive and very pleasant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So So Neuvelle Cusine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went to celebrate a friend's birthday. The place is small and very noisy. Waiters are semi-skilled. The portions are small - 3 scallops for a main course???? My filet mignon was over cooked even though I asked for medium-rear. When pointing it out to the waiter, he apologized profusely, however never offered to take it back and replace it. So, I asked the manage to charge me only for half of the meal, which they did.
So, if you are in the neighborhood, and want to see nicely prepared food, stop by. Make sure you ask for extra bread, otherwise you will leave hungry.
Something more positive about the place - it is BYOB.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 37 also viewed

 

Been to Cafe 37? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 37, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.